Undergraduate School Board

Terms of reference

Reporting to the Faculty Education Committee (Medicine), the Undergraduate Medicine Board is responsible for defining the strategic direction of the following courses:
• MBBS/BSc in Medicine (A100)
• MBBS in Medicine (Graduate only) (A109)
• MBBS in Medicine (Direct Entry) (A300)
• BSc Medical Biosciences (B101)
• BSc Medical Biosciences with Management (B111)
• BSc in Biomedical Science (B109)
• BSc in Biomedical Science with Management (B9N2)
• The intercalated BSc programmes in Medical Sciences with option pathway.
The Board’s role, overseen by the Chair, is to:
• Consider the strategic direction and delivery of programmes and assessments (current and future)
• Consider and give strategic approval for the establishment of new programmes and major modifications to existing programmes before they progress to the Programmes Committee;
• Consider and approve minor modifications to the curriculum content, structure, organisation, assessment and learning resources for relevant programmes;
• Propose modifications to entry requirements to the Faculty Education Committee;
• Monitor the overall quality of provision (including electronic systems and e-learning), receiving reports from SOLE, the SSLGs and national surveys (NSS, PTES, PRES), and identifying appropriate action in response;
• Discuss and disseminate information and good practice;
• Retrospectively evaluate interventions in programmes;
• Monitor the fair and consistent implementation of the policies, procedures and processes, with particular reference to health and safety, equal opportunities and widening participation;
• Monitor the quality of student support (including welfare & pastoral care);
• Monitor an receive reports related to the administrative and support services;
• Receive reports from Medical Education Research Unit and to recommend appropriate action as necessary;
• Receive reports of student accidents and incidents and to recommend appropriate action as necessary;
• Approve the terms of reference of sub-committees (such as departmental committees), where appropriate, and to receive regular reports from them.
The Board is not a governance committee and decisions about the curriculum and assessment will need formal approval from the appropriate governance structures.

Constitution and membership

Membership (Academic year 2018/19)
Mr Martin Lupton Vice Dean (Education) and Head of Undergraduate Medicine (Chair)
Dr Jo Harris Deputy Head of Undergraduate Medicine
Professor Karim Meeran Director of Teaching
Professor Margaret Callan Director of Admissions, Equality and Diversity
Professor Alison McGregor Director of Undergraduate Science
Dr Julia Hillier Director of Student Tutoring and Support
Dr Sonia Kumar Director of Undergraduate Primary Care Education
Professor Sue Smith Director of MERU
Dr Amir Sam Head of Curriculum and Assessment Development
Professor Ken MacLeod Head of Year 4 Assessment
Dr Mike Barrett Head of Learning Resources
Professor Mary Morrell Head of Years 1 and 2
Dr Omid Halse Head of Year 3
Dr James Jensen-Martin Head of Year 5
Dr Niamh Martin Head of Year 6
Dr Wing May Kong Head of Ethics and Law
Dr Ana Costa-Pereira Head of BSc Medical Biosciences
Dr Chris John Head of Programme – Biomedical Science
TBC  A DCS representative
Ms Jo Horsburgh  A EDU representative
Ms Men-Yeut Wong A Registry representative
Miss Susan English Director of Education Management
Ms Trisha Brown Head of School of Medicine Secretariat
Mr Gerry Greyling Head of Business and Educational Development
Mr Chris Harris Head of Programme Management
Mrs Rebekah Fletcher Lead for Learning and Teaching Strategy
Ms Lisa Carrier Head of Technology Enhanced Education
Mr Dan Faehndrich ICSMSU President

Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates (Academic year 2018/19)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2018/19)
10 September 2018 27 August 2018
18 October 2018 04 October 2018
29 November 2018 15 November 2018
14 February 2019 31 January 2019
14 March 2019 28 February 2019
25 April 2019 11 April 2019
06 June 2019 23 May 2019
18 July 2019 04 July 2019
Summary of the table's contents

 Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. 


Academic year 2017/18
  • 14 September 2017
  • 26 October 2017
  • 23 November 2017
  • 18 January 2018
  • 01 March 2018
  • 05 April 2018
  • 24 May 2018
  • 05 July 2018