At the time of the 2016 Fellowship announcement, 73 members of Imperial staff or individuals who have an ongoing association with Imperial are Fellows of the Royal Society.

Fellows of the Royal Society

Department of Aeronautics

Emeritus Professor of Experimental Aerodynamics, Peter Bradshaw FRS

Institute of Biomedical Engineering

Professor Chris Toumazou

Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemical Technology

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey F. Hewitt
Professor Dame Julia S. Higgins

Department of Chemistry

Professor Anthony G.M. Barrett
Professor Vernon C. Gibson
Emeritus Professor Andrew Holmes
Emeritus Professor David Phillips CBE
Professor Michael Robb

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Emeritus Professor John Burland
Professor Patrick J. Dowling

Institute of Clinical Sciences

Professor Amanda Fisher

Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Emeritus Professor David Q. Mayne

Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology

Emeritus Professor Sir Ravinder Maini

Centre for Environmental Policy

Professor Sir Gordon Conway

Grantham Institute for Climate Change

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins

Department of Life Sciences

Professor Jim Barber
Professor John Beddington
Professor Martin Buck
Emeritus Professor Michael J. Crawley
Professor Anne Dell
Professor P. Leslie Dutton
Professor Nicholas Franks
Professor H. Charles J. Godfray
Emeritus Professor Brian S. Hartley
Professor Michael P. Hassell
Professor Russell Lande
Emeritus Professor Howard R. Morris
Professor Bill Rutherford
Emeritus Professor Ronald K.S. Wood

Department of Mathematics

Emeritus Professor Colin Atkinson
Professor Simon K. Donaldson
Emeritus Professor Walter Hayman
Professor J. Trevor Stuart
Professor Richard Thomas


Department of Mechanical Engineering

Professor Robert Ainsworth 
Professor Peter Cawley 
Professor David Ewins
Professor Anthony Kinloch
Emeritus Professor J.G. Williams

Department of Medicine

Professor Stephen Bloom
Professor David W Holden
Professor Elizabeth Simpson

National Heart and Lung Institute

Professor Peter Barnes
Professor James Scott
Emeritus Professor Timothy Williams
Professor Sir Magdi Yacoub

Department of Physics

Professor Jeremy Burroughes
Professor Donal D.C. Bradley
Professor John William Connor
Emeritus Professor Peter J. Dornan
Professor Michele Dougherty
Emeritus Professor Michael Duff
Professor Joanna Haigh
Professor Edward Hinds
Professor Christopher Hull
Emeritus Professor Bruce Joyce
Professor Jenny Nelson
Emeritus Professor Sir Peter Knight
Professor Sir John Pendry
Professor Adrian Sutton
Professor Tejinder (Jim) Virdee

Office of the Provost

Provost Professor James William Stirling, CBE FRS

School of Public Health

Professor Sir Roy M. Anderson
Professor Christl Donnelly
Professor Brian G. Spratt

Department of Surgery and Cancer

Professor Sir Lord Ara Darzi

Past Rectors

Emeritus Professor Sir Eric Ash
Sir Keith O'Nions
Sir Richard Sykes