Academic Staff

Find out more about our academic staff and their research interests.

Student Affairs

Student Affairs

Student Office


Head of Student Programmes Ms Louise O'Sullivan
Student Programmes Manager Ms Melanie Albright
Teaching Operations Manager Ms Nicole Harbert
Senior Student Administrator (UG and MSc admissions) Ms Mary Ewumi
Senior Student Administrator (UG and MSc programmes) Mrs Samantha Herbert
Senior Student Administrator (UG and MSc programmes) Mr Will Wrigley
Student Administrator (UG and MSc programmes) Ms Daze Osuide
Student Administrator (MRes and PhD programmes) Ms Jayne Stringer
Summary of the table's contents

Undergraduate Studies

Director of Courses Professor Martyn Boutelle 
Director of MEng Molecular Bioengineering Dr Sylvain Ladame
Director of Intercalated BSc Medical Sciences with Biomedical Engineering Dr Danny O'Hare
Senior Tutor (UG) Professor Manos Drakakis
Senior Tutor (PG) Dr Tom Ellis
Deputy Senior Tutor Dr Claire Higgins
Academic Tutor Mr Martin Holloway
Senior Teaching Fellow Dr Warren Macdonald 
Senior Teaching Fellow Dr Ian Radcliffe
Strategic Teaching Fellow Dr Maria Parkes

Postgraduate Studies

Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) Dr Angela Kedgley
Deputy Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) Dr Adam Celiz
Director of MSc Biomedical Engineering  Dr Chiu Fan Lee
Director of MSc Human and Biological Robotics  Professor Etienne Burdet
Director of MRes Bioengineering Dr Armando Del Rio Hernandez
Director of MRes Medical Device Design and Entrepreneurship Professor James Moore Jr
Director of MRes Neurotechnology Dr Andriy Kozlov
PhD Cohort Mentors


Dr Adam Celiz
Dr Neal Bangerter
Dr Tom Ouldridge 

Professor Mengxing Tang
Professor Dario Farina
Dr Reiko Tanaka

Dr Ben Almquist
Dr Darryl Overby
Professor Weinberg

Departmental Administration

Department Operations Manager Mr Tim Venables
Research and Finance Manager Mr Christopher Sanders
Department Safety Officer Mr Ken Keating 
Industrial Liaison Officer  Mr Robert Ferguson
Admissions and Outreach Manager -
Communications and Events Officer Ms Kemi Aofolaju

For a full list of all professional services staff, please visit our professional services staff page