General information

  • Gap-Year - Publisher of gap year guides and comprehensive online information about taking a gap year, including tips about how to stay safe and healthy, insurance, visas, hostels, travel companies, car hire and more.
  • Gapwork - Provides a search facility about projects in various countries, provides information about visas, insurance, safety issues, holiday jobs, accommodation and more. Includes student reviews.
  • Gapyear - Search facility about projects, including wide range of business and finance placements, message board, blogs & journals, international gap year and placement schemes and more.
  • Prospects - Information from the AGCAS 'Special Interest Series' on gap years.
  • Target Jobs - Gap year advice. 
  • Worldwide Volunteering - Database with over 1,000 organisations, suitable for age 16-35 (some older).

Organisers

A-Z OF ORGANISERS (not conclusive)

A - H

Abroad China abroadchina.net  
Abroad China offers several programs, including internship programs, volunteer programs and study tours

ATD Fourth World www.atd-uk.org
ATD is an anti-poverty organisation that engages with individuals and institutions to find solutions to eradicate extreme poverty. It offers volunteering opportunities both in the UK and overseas

AISEC www.aiesec.org
AIESEC is a 60 year-old global organisation that develops students and recent graduates into leaders by running and participating in an international exchange program

Barracudas www.barracudas.co.uk 
Children's holiday camps in the UK

British Council www.britishcouncil.org/learning-iaeste.htm
The British Council provides international placements for undergraduate scientists, engineers & architects through the IAESTE program (see also www.iaeste.org.uk

BUNAC www.bunac.org
Opportunities range from the popular camp counselling programme, Summer Camp USA, and flexible work and travel programmes in Canada, the USA, Australia, and New Zealand to volunteering/teaching placements in Africa, South and Central America, South East Asia and China

Camp Counsellors USA www.ccusa.com 
CCUSA offers work in children's summer camps around the world

CapeIntern www.capeintern.com
Cape Intern is a website with information and guidelines which can help you organise your own internship, volunteer work, student exchange or language course in Cape Town, South Africa
 
Careforce www.careforce.com
Organisation that provides gap year volunteering projects in the UK for Christians

Coral Cay Conservation www.coralcay.org
Company providing a range of conservation themed expeditions

Cross Cultural Solutions www.crossculturalsolutions.org 
CCS offer internships and volunteer placements in community initiatives across Africa, Asia and Latin America

Earthwatch www.earthwatch.org
An international environmental charity offering expeditions with an emphasis on helping the environment

Global Vision www.gvi.co.uk
Providing links to charity-led conservation and community projects

Greenforce www.greenforce.org 
Conservation projects abroad

I - P

i-to-i www.i-to-i.com  
TEFL teaching and volunteer travel

IST Plus www.istplus.com 
Programmes in English speaking countries or teaching in China & Thailand

KIYA Survivors www.kiyasurvivors.org  
Building educational centres for underprivileged children in Peru

Lattitude www.lattitude.org.uk
A charity specialising in volunteering for 17-25 year olds, who aim to provide unique experiences of voluntary work placements for young people from around the world

Lemongrass Volunteering www.lemongrassvolunteering.com 
A strictly not for profit volunteering organisation that specialises in placing volunteers on worthwhile and rewarding English teaching projects in Thailand

Mad Adventurer www.madadventurer.com 
Community projects and adventure holidays around the world

Madagascar www.madagascar.co.uk 
A charity dedicated to environmental conservation and tackling poverty

Next Step www.nextstepconnections.com 
Placements across a variety of professional areas in Shanghai, China

Projects Abroad www.projects-abroad.co.uk 
Volunteering projects in developing countries across sectors such as medicine, care, teaching, conservation and jounalism

Q - Z

Raleigh International www.raleighinternational.org
Expeditions in Borneo, Costa Rica, Nicaragua or India

Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk
Large gap year travel company offering wide range of programmes

Shumba Experience www.shumbaexperience.co.uk 
Conservation and community projects in Africa

Travellers Worldwide www.travellersworldwide.com 
Wide range of world-wide projects

Trekforce www.trekforce.org.uk 
Conservation, teaching placements, expeditions

UNA Exchange www.unaexchange.org 
Provide volunteering opportunities in community schemes across Wales as well as overseas

Venture Co. www.ventureco-worldwide.com 
Adventure holidays for different age groups

VSO www.vso.org.uk 
Volunteering projects in international development