The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. In May 2015 the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. Through its award system, Athena SWAN aims to recognise and celebrate good practice on recruiting, retaining, and promoting women in higher education. Athena SWAN also provides a valuable framework for self-assessment and action planning.

The Department is currently working towards attaining its Bronze Award.  The Department's Equality, Diversity and Departmental Culture (EDDC) Committee are leading the data collation and implementing improvements in working practice to attain this award.

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering EDDC Committee Membership

Celebrating Staff Achievements

  • 2018 Telford Gold Medal: This prize was awarded to Dr Michael Wan, Dr Jamie Standing, Prof Dave Potts and Prof John Burland for their paper Wan, M.S.P., Standing J.R., Potts, D.M. and Burland, J.B. (2017). Measured short-term subsurface ground displacements from EPBM tunneling in London Clay. Géotechnique, Vol. 67, No. 9, pp. 748-779.
  •  2018 President's Awards: Congratulations to the following staff for winning 2018 President's Awards; Sarah Willis (for Research Support Excellence), Prof Ahmer Wadee (for Excellence in Research Supervision), Dr Marc Stettler (Outstanding Early Career Researcher) and Dr Matt Greetham (for Supporting the Student Experience).

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering EDDC Committee Membership

Chair Ensure effective running of Committee Professor Catherine O’Sullivan
Head of Department Liaise with Dept. Management Committee Professor Nick Buenfeld
Departmental Operations Manager Provide Dept. level oversight / perspective Lindsey Anne Cumming
Bronze submission SAT chair   Professor Richard Jardine
Dept. HR Liaison Provide HR data and update on procedures Lucy Chivers
EDDC Administrator Provide administrative support and represent administrative staff perspective Steve Hullock
Delegate from Dept. Research office Consider data on research grants and income Sarah Willis
Delegate from PhD Management Group Liaise with PhD Management Group and manage relevant data Sarah Willis
Delegate from MSc Management Group Liaise with MSc Management Group and manage relevant data Fionnuala Ní Dhonnabhain
Delegate from UG Office/UG Teaching Committee Liaise with UG teaching and support team and manage relevant data Louise Green
Technical staff representative Represent technical staff perspective Gordon Herbert
Facilities and technical staff manager Input on physical environment / facilities issues Brian Whiting
Departmental PhD representative Represent PhD student perspective Fiona Walport / Emily Dieu
Departmental postdoc representative Represent postdoc perspective Dr Jimmy O’Keeffe
Departmental postdoc champion Inform on postdoc support and provide relevant data Dr Hong Wong
Departmental workload/ promotion lead Inform on developments and provide relevant data Professor Nigel Graham
Departmental communications lead Inform on developments Dr Wouter Buytaert
Departmental outreach coordinator Inform on activities and provide relevant data Dr Ana Mijic
Departmental careers coordinator Inform on activities and provide relevant data Dr Peter Stafford
Action plan oversight Cross checking of implementation against original intent in Bronze Submission Dr Stavroula Kontoe
Dept. “Have Your Say” campaign contact   Professor Sue Grimes
External observer Provide external perspective and inform on best practice elsewhere. Dr Cleo Kontoravdi
Athena SWAN SAT Committee Civil's

May 2018

Flexible working and family leave

The Department adheres to College guidelines on flexible working and family leave. Links to College HR guideance are provided below:

Additional informatoin that may be relevant can be accessed via the HR main website.