Imperial College London Centenary
About Imperial
About ImperialContacts/getting hereAlumniResearchCoursesAbout this site
Select your text size  for this site here: Small Text Normal Text Large Text Extra Large Text

Note: Some of the graphical elements of this site are only visible to browsers that support accepted web standards. The content of this site is, however, accessible to any browser or Internet device.


1998 Fellows of Imperial College

Friday 22 May 1998

The following have been elected to the Fellowship of Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine. They will be formally admitted to the Fellowship by the Chairman of the Governing Body, Lord Vincent of Coleshill at the following ceremonies.

The Postgraduate Awards Ceremony on Wednesday 27 May 1998 in the Royal Albert Hall:

  • Mr Stuart Anthony Lipton, Hon FRIBA, Chief Executive of Stanhope PLC since 1995 and Governor of Imperial College since 1987;
  • Dr David Edwin Potter, CBE, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive of Psion PLC since 1980, former lecturer in the Department of Physics, Imperial College (1970-80);
  • Sir Evelyn de Rothschild, Chairman of N.M.Rothschild & Sons Ltd since 1976, Governor of Imperial College since 1988 and former Chairman of the Delegacy of St Mary's Hospital Medical School (1977-88).

The Commemoration Day Ceremony on Wednesday 28 October 1998 in the Royal Albert Hall:

  • Professor John Stuart Archer, DIC, FEng, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Heriot-Watt University since 1997, former Pro-Rector and Deputy Rector of Imperial College (1991-96), and Dean of Royal School of Mines (1989-91);
  • Professor Nay Htun, DIC, UN Assistant Secretary-General/UNDP Assistant Administrator and Regional Director for Asia and Pacific United Nations Development Programme, Visiting Professor in the Department of Earth Resources Engineering and internationally recognised contributor to strategic environment and development work;
  • Professor John Trevor Stuart, FRS, Emeritus Professor and Senior Research Fellow, former Head of the Department of Mathematics (1974-79 and 1983-86) and Dean of the Royal College of Science (1990-1993).