Imperial College London Centenary
About Imperial
About ImperialContacts/getting hereAlumniResearchCoursesAbout this site
Select your text size  for this site here: Small Text Normal Text Large Text Extra Large Text

Note: Some of the graphical elements of this site are only visible to browsers that support accepted web standards. The content of this site is, however, accessible to any browser or Internet device.


Imperial scientist wins Feldberg Foundation Prize

For immediate release
Thursday 13 January 2005

Professor Geoffrey L. Smith FRS, from Imperial College London has been awarded the 2005 Feldberg Foundation Prize in recognition of his research with poxviruses.

The Feldberg Foundation Prize is awarded each year to one British and one German scientist, and is intended to promote Anglo-German friendship in medical and biological science.

Professor Smith is a virologist with a particular interest in poxviruses such as vaccinia virus, the vaccine for smallpox.

Professor Stephen Smith, Principal of the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London comments: "Professor Smith is one of the most distinguished researchers in his field and his contributions to understanding virology have been exceptional. This award serves to further underline the importance of international cooperation between researchers and how doctors and scientists can make a real difference to patients."

Professor Smith will receive a prize of EUR20,000, give a prize lecture in Wurzburg and three additional lectures in Germany.

The Feldberg Foundation was established in 1961 by the late Professor Wilhelm Feldberg, CBE, FRS.


For further information please contact (media only):

Tony Stephenson
Imperial College London Press Office
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7594 6712
Mobile: +44 (0)7753 739766

Notes to editors:

1. The purpose of the Feldberg Foundation is the promotion of scientific contact between German and English scientists within the sphere of experimental medical research, in particular in physiology, pharmacology and related topics, primarily by the establishment of scientific exchange lectures. Each year a German and a British scientist are chosen to receive a prize, the amount of which is an indication of the Founder's wish that the recipients should be outstanding in their particular field. In recognition of the bestowal of the prize each recipient gives a lecture in each other's country (and, since 1999, up to three lectures in addition to the prize lecture). The first Feldberg Foundation prizes were awarded in 1961 and have been awarded annually since then.

2. Consistently rated in the top three UK university institutions, Imperial College London is a world leading science-based university whose reputation for excellence in teaching and research attracts students (11,000) and staff (6,000) of the highest international quality.
Innovative research at the College explores the interface between science, medicine, engineering and management and delivers practical solutions that enhance the quality of life and the environment - underpinned by a dynamic enterprise culture.