For modules where there is a design engineering output in the form of significant coursework, a module leader or delegated representative selects one item of output for the Design Engineering Selected Innovation REward (DESIRE). This is a prestigious award within the School, and something that all students will, we hope, aspire to win on a few occasions throughout their degree. DESIRE selected works need not necessarily be associated with the top mark or grade scoring project, and can be awarded to a group or individual.

We expect DESIRE to become a badge of honour for Design Engineers.

Congratulations to all the winners!



DE2 - Engineering Design Project
Term 2 Assessment:
Concept stage: Low cost device for measuring tidal and residual volume (lung capacity)

In the Academic Year 2016-17, the DESIRE award has been assigned for concepts of a low cost device to measure lung volume (tidal and residual) within the Engineering Design Projects 2 module led by Prof. Saeema Ahmed-Kristensen.

A panel of assessors from Royal Brompton Lung respiratory Unit, Institute of Public Health and module staff who collaboratively designed the challenge presented the award to the group, composed of Alex Gourlay, Scott Bunting, Sara Khan, and Karolina Jankiewicz.  They were particularly impressed with the groups ambition and creativity to propose alternative concept to using nitrogen washout to measure residual volume. The challenge continues into the next term and we look forward to see the designs realised and tested.


DE1 - Design 1
Term 3 Assessment:
People's Pod: Design the interior of a duel-occupant public transport autonomous vehicle.

In the Academic Year 2015-16, the DESIRE selected works award has been assigned for the People’s Pod assignment (design the interior of dual-occupant public transport autonomous vehicle), within the Design 1 module led by Prof. Neil Mansfield.

A group of external assessors from University of Leeds, Nissan, and the Transport Systems Catapult presented the award to the AvoPodo group, composed of Zixia Zhang, Francois-Baptiste Costa-Peretti, Clarisse Bret, Josephine Latreille, and Kristof van der Fluit.  They were particularly impressed with the combination of vision and originality with a concept that is feasible.