The John S Archer Fund was established by a group of his former PhD students in honour of Prof. Archer, former Professor of Petroleum Engineering and Dean of the Royal School of Mines.

The John S Archer Award is for research excellence in petroleum geoscience and engineering and will be given to a PhD student in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering who has demonstrated excellence.

  • Rewarding research excellence in petroleum geoscience and engineering
  • Students in 1st, 2nd or 3rd year  (in exceptional circumstances, also 4th year students) will be considered
  • Full or part time PhD students are eligible

The value of the award is suggested at £5,000, though the value of the award may increase or decrease.

Lukas Mosser and Dr Alex Folefac - John S Archer Award 2018The winner of the 2018 award, Lukas Mosser (L) was announced on 10 October 2018, by Dr Alex Folefac (R), one of Prof John Archer's former students. 


Past Award Winners

Congratulations to winners of the John S. Archer Award:

Lukas Mosser - 2018
Matthew Reeve - 2015

Chandra Taposeea - 2013
Rehab El Magraby - 2011
Ana Mijic - 2010
Potcharaporn (Yok) Pongthunya - 2009