Evening Classes & Adult Education

Courses available

Language courses

Daytime Classes

Daytime Conversation Classes

Conversation classes are aimed at people who already have some ability in a language but who want to improve speaking and listening skills. They are very informal and you will be engaging in everyday conversations in the language, at an appropriate level, with other students on the course guided by the tutor.

Evening Classes (all levels)

Our evening class language programme covers a range of languages at different levels. All courses offer the language at beginner's level and many have higher levels for people who want to develop their language skills further. Do please contact us if you do not know what level to apply for in a language course.

Arts and Humanities courses

Daytime and Evening Classes

Arts (Practical)

Arts, Humanities and Cultural Studies

Music

Science, Philosophy and Social Science

All daytime courses

Daytime classes

Arts and Humanities classes (1 or 2 hours a week - see specific class for details)

Daytime language classes (1 hour a week)

Daytime conversation classes (1 hour a week)

Conversation classes are aimed at people who already  have some ability in a language but who want to improve speaking and listening skills. They are very informal and you will be engaging in everyday conversations in the language, at an appropriate level, with other students on the course guided by the tutor.

West Norwood courses

These classes take place partially in West Norwood in association with the South London Botanical Institute, subject to current covid-19 regulations

Daytime and Evening Classes

Enrolment for online classes from outside the United Kingdom

We welcome applicants for our courses from all communities and from all over the world. Although most of our online adult education classes attract people who are based in the United Kingdom, we do also welcome students from countries as far afield as Washington DC, Mumbai and Wellington, New Zealand, to name just a few.

The only criteria for adults wanting to join one of our online adult education courses is that your skills in English are sufficient to enable you to follow the course and that you meet the enrolment criteria set out on the individual course pages on this website.

All of our online courses are taught live. That means if you are not based in the UK you should check the time difference between British time and the time in the geographcal location in which you are based.

Most of our adult education online courses start at 6pm (18:00 hours) United Kingdom time which is:

  • 10am (10:00 hours) in much of the western United States and Canada
  • 2pm (14:00 hours) in much of the eastern United States and Canada
  • 8pm (20:00 hours) in much of eastern Africa.

 These time zone comparisons do not take account of daylight saving (summer/winter time) so please also allow for that at certain times of the year.

COURSES STARTING EARLIER IN THE DAY

Some of our courses start earlier in the day in the United Kingdom and these might be of particular interest to applicants based in east Asia and Australasia. These include:

  • Creative Writing (13:00 UK time / 18:30 India time / 21:00 China time / 21:00 Western Australia time / 23:00 Eastern Australia time)
  • Discovering Classical Music (09:00 UK time / 14:30 India time / 17:00 China time / 17:00 West. Australia time / 19:00 East. Australia time / 22:00 NZ time)
  • Discovering Opera (09:00 UK time / 14:30 India time / 17:00 China time / 17:00 West. Australia time / 19:00 East. Australia Ttime / 22:00 NZ time)
  • Art Class: Drawing Together (11:00 UK time / 16:30 India time / 19:00 China time / 19:00 Western Australia time / 21:00 Eastern Australia time)
  • Introduction to Philosophy (13:00 UK time / 18:30 India time / 21:00 China time / 21:00 Western Australia time / 23:00 Eastern Australia time)
  • Italian Beginners (12:00 UK time / 17:30 India time / 20:00 China time / 20:00 Western Australia time / 22:00 Eastern Australia time)
  • Understanding Art: 10 Great Artists (11:00 UK time / 16:30 India time / 19:00 China time / 19:00 Western Australia time / 21:00 Eastern Australia time).

If you are enrolling on an online course from outside of the United Kingdom please double check the correct start times of the above and any other course you sign up for to ensure you are able to attend.

 Again, these time zone comparisons do not take account of daylight saving (summer/winter time) so please also allow for that at certain times of the year.