Directors of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Yang Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang, PhD, FREng, FIEEE, FIET, FAIMBE, FIAMBE, FMICCAI, FCGI

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang is Director and co-founder of the Hamlyn Centre, and Deputy Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation (IGHI), Imperial College London.

Professor Yang also holds a number of key academic positions at Imperial College: Director and Founder of the Royal Society/Wolfson Medical Image Computing Laboratory; co-founder of the Wolfson Surgical Technology Laboratory; and Chairman of the Centre for Pervasive Sensing. He is a recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award and the I.I. Rabi Award from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.  His main research interests are in medical imaging, sensing and robotics. He is internationally recognised for his innovations and clinical applications of MR imaging and flow quantification and pioneering effort in perceptual docking for robotic control and Body Sensor Network (BSN). He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and fellow of IEEE, IET, AIMBE, IAMBE, MICCAI, and City&Guilds. A recipient of the Royal Society Research Merit Award, Professor Yang is listed in The Times Eureka ‘Top 100’ in British Science.

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham, FRS, FMedSci, HonFREng

Professor the Lord Darzi holds the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery at Imperial College London where he is Head of the Division of Surgery. He is an Honorary Consultant Surgeon at Imperial College Hospital NHS Trust and the Royal Marsden Hospital and also holds the Chair of Surgery at the Institute of Cancer Research. He was recently appointed as Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College.

He was knighted for his services in medicine and surgery in 2002. In 2007 Professor Darzi was introduced to the United Kingdom’s House of Lords as Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham and appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Health.  He relinquished in July 2009 when he was appointed the United Kingdom’s Global Ambassador for Health and Life Sciences, and Chair of NHS Global.  Lord Darzi was appointed as a member of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council in June 2009.


Deputy Director of the Hamlyn Centre and Director of Operations

  • Dr Robert Merrifield

    Robert Merrifield

    Personal details

    Dr Robert Merrifield Deputy Director of the Hamlyn Centre and Director of Operations

    Location

    414 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Director of Studies

  • Professor Daniel Elson

    Daniel Elson

    Personal details

    Professor Daniel Elson Director of Studies

    Location

    415 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Academic Staff

  • Dr Benny Lo

    Benny Lo

    Personal details

    Dr Benny Lo Senior Lecturer

    Location

    B414B Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London
  • Dr Daniel Richard Leff

    Dr Daniel Richard Leff

    Personal details

    Dr Daniel Richard Leff Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Mikael Sodergren

    Mikael Sodergren

    Personal details

    Dr Mikael Sodergren Honorary Clinical Lecturer

    Location

    1092 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

Senior Research Fellows

  • Dr Stamatia Giannarou

    Stamatia Giannarou

    Personal details

    Dr Stamatia Giannarou Royal Society University Research Fellowship

    Location

    511 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova

    Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova

    Personal details

    Dr Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova Senior Hamlyn Research Fellow

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Burak Temelkuran

    Burak Temelkuran

    Personal details

    Dr Burak Temelkuran Senior Hamlyn Research Fellow

    Location

    B512 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Honorary & Associate Academics

  • Professor Pallav Shah

    Pallav Shah

    Personal details

    Professor Pallav Shah Professor of Respiratory Medicine

    Location

    Fulham Road
    Royal Brompton Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Celia Theodoreli Riga

    Celia Theodoreli Riga

    Personal details

    Dr Celia Theodoreli Riga Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    1003 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Colin Bicknell

    Colin Bicknell

    Personal details

    Dr Colin Bicknell Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    1020 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Jianzhong Shang

    Jianzhong Shang

    Personal details

    Dr Jianzhong Shang Honorary Research Fellow

    Location

    B510 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Jindong Liu

    Jindong Liu

    Personal details

    Dr Jindong Liu Honorary Research Fellow

    Location

    306 Huxley Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Professor Leonard Fass

    Leonard Fass

    Personal details

    Professor Leonard Fass Visiting Professor

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Professor Christian Cook

    Professor Christian Cook

    Personal details

    Professor Christian Cook Visiting Professor

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr James Clark

    Placeholder image

    Personal details

    Dr James Clark Honorary Lecturer

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Lester Russell

    Dr Lester Russell

    Personal details

    Dr Lester Russell Visiting Researcher

    Location

    1st Floor Faculty Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Staff and academics in the Hamlyn Centre

Administration

Name TitleE-mail
Mr Graham Brooks  Senior Engineer g.brooks@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marina Hall  Research Secretary marina.hall@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marianne Knight EPSRC UK-RAS Network Manager marianne.knight@imperial.ac.uk
Mr Jason Keane  Finance Officer j.keane@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Raphaële Raupp  PA to Director r.raupp@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Erh-Ya (Asa) Tsui  Research Group Officer e.tsui@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Associates

PhD Students


NameE-mail
Alexandre Vicente alexandre.vicente10@imperial.ac.uk
Andreas Schmitz a.schmitz16@imperial.ac.uk
Bobby Wenqiang Chi wenqiang.chi10@imperial.ac.uk
Christina Koutsoumpa c.koutsoumpa13@imperial.ac.uk
Charlie Tsai y.tsai17@imperial.ac.uk
Dan-Dan Zhang d.zhang17@imperial.ac.uk
Daniel Bautista d.bautista-salinas18@imperial.ac.uk
Daniel Freer d.freer15@imperial.ac.uk
Eric Tenda e.tenda16@imperial.ac.uk
Fernando Avila Rencoret f.avila-rencoret13@imperial.ac.uk
Francesco Cursi f.cursi17@imperial.ac.uk
Gauthier Gras gauthier.gras12@imperial.ac.uk
Hanifa Koguna h.koguna16@imperial.ac.uk
Hadie Adams hadie.adams@imperial.ac.uk
James Manzoor Calo james.manzoor14@imperial.ac.uk
Krit Teachasrisaksakul krittameth.teachasrisaksakul12@imperial.ac.uk
Li Wei wei.li16@imperial.ac.uk
Mali Shen mali.shen09@imperial.ac.uk
Marco Pupillo m.pupillo18@imperial.ac.uk
Maria Grammatikopoulou m.grammatikopoulou14@imperial.ac.uk
Maria Leiloglou maria.leiloglou16@imperial.ac.uk
Melissa Berthelot m.berthelot14@imperial.ac.uk
Ming Zhao m.zhao15@imperial.ac.uk
Mohamed E. M. K. Abdelaziz m.abdelaziz16@imperial.ac.uk
Natthapon Pannurat n.pannurat17@imperial.ac.uk
Ning Liu ning.liu13@imperial.ac.uk
Pierre Berthet-Rayne p.berthet-rayne14@imperial.ac.uk
Po Wen Lo po.lo15@imperial.ac.uk
Rejin John Varghese r.varghese15@imperial.ac.uk
Sam Tukra samyakh.tukra17@imperial.ac.uk
Shamas Khan shamas.khan15@imperial.ac.uk
Shen Treratanakulchai s.treratanakulchai17@imperial.ac.uk
Taranjit Tatla t.tatla10@imperial.ac.uk
Xiaoyun Zhou xiaoyun.zhou14@imperial.ac.uk
Xueqing Sun xueqing.sun13@imperial.ac.uk
Yang Hu y.hu12@imperial.ac.uk
Yingnan Sun y.sun16@imperial.ac.uk 
Yun Gu y.gu16@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Alumni

Nick Ablitt
Ivan Ernesto Pulgar Alarcon
Ibrahim Al Fathi
Siddharth Agarwal
Aziah Ali
Faisal Aljaber
Javier Andreu-Perez
Liall Arafa
Selen Atasoy
Louis Atallah
Ebubekir Avci
Omer Aziz
James Ballantyne
Artur Banach
Shudi Bao
Clement Barriere
Amanda Bernstein
Miguel Benavente
Yakov Boglev
Loubna Bouarfa
Pilar Beatriz Garcia Allende
Juana Gonzalez Bueno
Yu Guo
Fan Cao
Marco Caproni
Francois Chabat
Thanapong Chaichana
Catherine Po Ling Chan
Tou Pin Chang
Hyunggi Chang
Yu-Lan Chang
Muzzafer Chaudery
Xu Chen
Ching-Mei Chen
Shanshan Chen
Yang Chen
Zhaohui Keene Chen
Yi Cheng
Adrian Chung
Neil Clancy
Longfei Cong
Mihaela Constantinescu
Vincenzo Curto
Blair Crewther
Thomas Cundy
Fani Deligianni
Laura Dempere-Marco
Aimee Di Marco
Alessio Dore
Andrew Dowsey
George Dwyer
Mohamed Elhelw
Joshua Ellul
Marcus Ellington
Ahmed Elsaify
Jahanshah Fathi
Pedro Ferreira Marques
Nikos Flitris
Laura Ros Freixedes
Kenko Fujii
Andrea Gaglione
Maria Elena Gallina
Jianxing Gao
Luis Garcia-Peraza
Petros Giataganas
Chara Giannoudi
Ruzanna Gulakyan
Yu Guo
David Harris-Birtill
Ru Hao
Paramate Horkaew
Xiaopeng Hu
Bidan Huang
Denis Huen
Michael Hughes
Yao-Ling Hung
Andrew Huntbatch
Henry Ip
Adam James
David James
Mirek Janatka
Delaram Jarchi
Edward Johns
Vahe Karimyan
Mehrin Kiani
Rachel King
Georgina Kirby
Hanifa Koguna
Kevin Koh
Richard Kwasnicki
Kawai Kwok
Win Tun Latt
Su-Lin Lee
Konrad Leibrandt
Karim Lekadir
Julian Leong
Mirna Lerotic
Julian Leong
Caroline Li
Rui Li
Sinan Li
Qingbiao Li
Fangyu Lin
Jianyu Lin
Jindong Liu
Arthur Loisillier
Hui Mei Luen
Angelos Karlas
Per Karlsson
Kiyoung Kim
Hawkeye King
Hani Marcus
Sharmeen Masood
Stephen Matthews
Philip McCormac
Stephen McKeague
Kiyoteru Miyashita
Nairouz Mohamed
Pete Mountney
Andre Mouton
Douglas McIlwraith
George Mylonas
Elham Nabavi
Julien Nahed
Timur Navruzov
Richard Newton
Marios Nicolaou
Pauline Ng
David Noonan
Lahiru Nuwan
Kosidinma Onyenso
Felipe Orihuela-Espina
Eimear O'Sullivan
Krittin Pachtrachai
Athanasia Panousopoulou
Julien Pansiot
Tom Parker
Nisha Patel
James Patterson
Christopher Payne
Anne Pigula
Giovanni Pittiglio
Philip Pratt
Ji Qi
Malek Racy
Nikolaev Radev
Hedyeh Rafii-Tari
Daniele Ravigrave
Kumar Singh Rahul
Caitlin Romanczyk
Caumaghen Sannassy
Vincent Sauvage
Rantilini Samaratunga
Marco Visentini Scarzanella
Volker Schmidt
Timothy Seah
Suzanne Shanel
Jianzhong Shang
Kunal Shetty
Chaoyang Shi
Mohan Singh
Nathalie Slim
Lipei Song
Irina Spulber
Kumuthan Sriskandarajah
Dan Stoyanov
Natasha Studinska
Lei Su
Malindie Hansika Sugathapala
Miao Sun
Mike Sun
Clive Taylor
Xingze Tian
Surapa Thiemjarus
Alex Thompson
Michele Tonutti
Johannes Totz
Pavlos Triantafyllou
Ya-Yen Tsai
Mary Tziraki
Arvind Kumar Vadivelu
Nafiseh Vahabi
Salman Valibeik
Alessandro Vandini
Javier Correa Villanueva
Valentina Vitiello
Jeffery Wang
Chen Wang
Moucheng Xu
Lei Wang
Lichao Wang
Ming-Yao Wang
Qiao Wang
Ziyang Wang
Alex Warren
Li Wei
Hannah Wells
Oliver Wells
Piyamate Wisanuvej
Charence Wong
Tracy Chui Hang Wong
Toby Wood
Qian Wu
Wei Yao
Menglong Ye
Jiangfan Yu
Ruoxi Yu
Jin-Fei Zhang
Yiyuan Zhang
Jianqing Zheng
Zhiqiang Zhang
Liang Zhao
Ming Zhao
Yu Zhou
Siyang Zuo