Directors of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Yang Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang, PhD, FREng, FIEEE, FIET, FAIMBE, FIAMBE, FMICCAI, FCGI

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang is Director and co-founder of the Hamlyn Centre, and Deputy Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation (IGHI), Imperial College London.

Professor Yang also holds a number of key academic positions at Imperial College: Director and Founder of the Royal Society/Wolfson Medical Image Computing Laboratory; co-founder of the Wolfson Surgical Technology Laboratory; and Chairman of the Centre for Pervasive Sensing. He is a recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award and the I.I. Rabi Award from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.  His main research interests are in medical imaging, sensing and robotics. He is internationally recognised for his innovations and clinical applications of MR imaging and flow quantification and pioneering effort in perceptual docking for robotic control and Body Sensor Network (BSN). He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and fellow of IEEE, IET, AIMBE, IAMBE, MICCAI, and City&Guilds. A recipient of the Royal Society Research Merit Award, Professor Yang is listed in The Times Eureka ‘Top 100’ in British Science.

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham, FRS, FMedSci, HonFREng

Professor the Lord Darzi holds the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery at Imperial College London where he is Head of the Division of Surgery. He is an Honorary Consultant Surgeon at Imperial College Hospital NHS Trust and the Royal Marsden Hospital and also holds the Chair of Surgery at the Institute of Cancer Research. He was recently appointed as Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College.

He was knighted for his services in medicine and surgery in 2002. In 2007 Professor Darzi was introduced to the United Kingdom’s House of Lords as Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham and appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Health.  He relinquished in July 2009 when he was appointed the United Kingdom’s Global Ambassador for Health and Life Sciences, and Chair of NHS Global.  Lord Darzi was appointed as a member of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council in June 2009.


Deputy Director of the Hamlyn Centre and Director of Operations

  • Dr Robert Merrifield

    Robert Merrifield

    Personal details

    Dr Robert Merrifield Deputy Director of the Hamlyn Centre and Director of Operations

    Location

    414 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Director of Studies

  • Professor Daniel Elson

    Daniel Elson

    Personal details

    Professor Daniel Elson Director of Studies

    Location

    415 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Academic Staff

  • Dr Benny Lo

    Benny Lo

    Personal details

    Dr Benny Lo Senior Lecturer

    Location

    B414B Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London
  • Dr Daniel Richard Leff

    Dr Daniel Richard Leff

    Personal details

    Dr Daniel Richard Leff Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Mikael Sodergren

    Mikael Sodergren

    Personal details

    Dr Mikael Sodergren Honorary Clinical Lecturer

    Location

    1092 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

Senior Research Fellows

  • Dr Stamatia Giannarou

    Stamatia Giannarou

    Personal details

    Dr Stamatia Giannarou Royal Society University Research Fellowship

    Location

    511 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova

    Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova

    Personal details

    Dr Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova Senior Hamlyn Research Fellow

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Burak Temelkuran

    Burak Temelkuran

    Personal details

    Dr Burak Temelkuran Senior Hamlyn Research Fellow

    Location

    B512 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Honorary & Associate Academics

  • Professor Pallav Shah

    Pallav Shah

    Personal details

    Professor Pallav Shah Professor of Respiratory Medicine

    Location

    Fulham Road
    Royal Brompton Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Celia Theodoreli Riga

    Celia Theodoreli Riga

    Personal details

    Dr Celia Theodoreli Riga Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    1003 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Colin Bicknell

    Colin Bicknell

    Personal details

    Dr Colin Bicknell Clinical Senior Lecturer

    Location

    1020 Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Wing (QEQM)
    St Mary's Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Jianzhong Shang

    Jianzhong Shang

    Personal details

    Dr Jianzhong Shang Honorary Research Fellow

    Location

    B510 Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Jindong Liu

    Jindong Liu

    Personal details

    Dr Jindong Liu Honorary Research Fellow

    Location

    306 Huxley Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Professor Leonard Fass

    Leonard Fass

    Personal details

    Professor Leonard Fass Visiting Professor

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Professor Christian Cook

    Professor Christian Cook

    Personal details

    Professor Christian Cook Visiting Professor

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr James Clark

    Dr James Clark

    Personal details

    Dr James Clark Honorary Lecturer

    Location

    Bessemer Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

  • Dr Lester Russell

    Dr Lester Russell

    Personal details

    Dr Lester Russell Visiting Researcher

    Location

    1st Floor Faculty Building
    South Kensington Campus
    Imperial College London

Staff and academics in the Hamlyn Centre

Administration

Name TitleE-mail
Mr Graham Brooks  Senior Engineer g.brooks@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marina Hall  Research Secretary marina.hall@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marianne Knight EPSRC UK-RAS Network Manager marianne.knight@imperial.ac.uk
Mr Jason Keane  Finance Officer j.keane@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Raphaële Raupp  PA to Director r.raupp@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Erh-Ya (Asa) Tsui  Research Group Officer e.tsui@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Associates

NameE-mail
Antoine Barbot a.barbot@imperial.ac.uk
Anzhu Gao a.gao@imperial.ac.uk
Bidan Huang b.huang@imperial.ac.uk
Bing Li b.li@imperial.ac.uk
Bo Xiao b.xiao@imperial.ac.uk
Bruno Gil Rosa b.gil-rosa@imperial.ac.uk
Dennis Kundrat d.kundrat@imperial.ac.uk
Dominic Wales d.wales@imperial.ac.uk 
Elizabeth Noble e.noble@imperial.ac.uk
Fani Deligianni fani.deligianni@imperial.ac.uk
Florent Seichepine f.seichepine@imperial.ac.uk
Giulio Dagnino g.dagnino@imperial.ac.uk
Haijie Tan haijie.tan@imperial.ac.uk
Haojie Zhang haojie.zhang12@imperial.ac.uk  
Hyun-Taek Lee hyun-taek.lee@imperial.ac.uk
Jang Ah Kim j.a.kim@imperial.ac.uk 
Lin Zhang lin.zhang@imperial.ac.uk
Meysam Keshavarz m.keshavarz@imperial.ac.uk
Pakatip Ruenraroengsak p.ruenraroengsak@imperial.ac.uk 
Panagiotis Kassanos p.kassanos@imperial.ac.uk
Vadzim Chalau v.chalau@imperial.ac.uk
Yao Guo yao.guo@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

PhD Students

MRes Students

NameName
 Amanda Bernstein  Miao Sun
 Caitlin Romanczyk  Miguel Benavente
 Chara Giannoudi  Moucheng Xu
 Chen Wang  Qingbiao Li
 Dandan Zhang  Rantilini Samaratunga
 Hui Mei Luen  Ru Hao
 Hyunggi Chang  Siddharth Agarwal
 Jahanshah Fathi  Xu Chen
 Jiangfan Yu  Ya-Yen Tsai
 Jianqing Zheng  Yu Guo
 Kumar Singh Rahul  Yu-Lan Chang
 Laura Ros Freixedes  Ziyang Wang
 Liall Arafa  
Summary of the table's contents
 

 

Alumni

Dr Karen Kerr
Dr Yu Zhou
Dr Nick Ablitt
Mr Ivan Ernesto Pulgar Alarcon
Mr Ibrahim Al Fathi
Ms Aziah Ali
Mr Faisal Aljaber
Dr Javier Andreu-Perez
Dr Selen Atasoy
Dr Louis Atallah
Dr Ebubekir Avci
Dr Omer Aziz
Dr James Ballantyne
Mr Artur Banach
Dr Shudi Bao
Dr Clement Barriere
Mr Yakov Boglev
Dr Loubna Bouarfa
Dr Pilar Beatriz Garcia Allende
Mr Juana Gonzalez Bueno
Mr Yu Guo
Mr Fan Cao
Mr Marco Caproni
Dr Francois Chabat
Dr Thanapong Chaichana
Miss Catherine Po Ling Chan
Dr Tou Pin Chang
Dr Muzzafer Chaudery
Dr Ching-Mei Chen
Dr Shanshan Chen
Mr Yang Chen
Mr Zhaohui Keene Chen
Dr Yi Cheng
Dr Adrian Chung
Dr Neil Clancy
Dr Longfei Cong
Mihaela Constantinescu
Dr Vincenzo Curto
Dr Blair Crewther
Dr Thomas Cundy
Dr Fani Deligianni
Dr Laura Dempere-Marco
Dr Aimee Di Marco
Dr Alessio Dore
Dr Andrew Dowsey
Mr George Dwyer
Dr Mohamed Elhelw
Dr Joshua Ellul
Mr Marcus Ellington
Dr Ahmed Elsaify
Mr Pedro Ferreira Marques
Mr Nikos Flitris
Dr Kenko Fujii
Dr Andrea Gaglione
Dr Maria Elena Gallina
Dr Jianxing Gao
Mr Luis Garcia-Peraza
Dr Petros Giataganas
Miss Ruzanna Gulakyan
Dr David Harris-Birtill
Dr Paramate Horkaew
Dr Xiaopeng Hu
Mr Denis Huen
Dr Michael Hughes
Mr Yao-Ling Hung
Dr Andrew Huntbatch
Dr Henry Ip
Mr Adam James
Dr David James
Dr Mirek Janatka
Dr Delaram Jarchi
Dr Edward Johns
Dr Vahe Karimyan
Ms Mehrin Kiani
Dr Rachel King
Ms Georgina Kirby
Miss Hanifa Koguna
Dr Kevin Koh
Dr Richard Kwasnicki
Dr Kawai Kwok
Dr Win Tun Latt
Dr Su-Lin Lee
Dr Konrad Leibrandt
Dr Karim Lekadir
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Mirna Lerotic
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Caroline Li
Dr Rui Li
Dr Sinan Li
Mr Fangyu Lin
Jianyu Lin
Dr Jindong Liu
Mr Arthur Loisillier
Mr Angelos Karlas
Mr Per Karlsson
Dr Kiyoung Kim
Dr Hawkeye King
Dr Hani Marcus
Dr Sharmeen Masood
Dr Stephen Matthews
Mr Philip McCormac
Dr Stephen McKeague
Mr Kiyoteru Miyashita
Mr Nairouz Mohamed
Dr Pete Mountney
Dr Andre Mouton
Dr Douglas McIlwraith
Dr George Mylonas
Dr Elham Nabavi
Dr Julien Nahed
Mr Timur Navruzov
Dr Richard Newton
Dr Marios Nicolaou
Dr Pauline Ng
Dr David Noonan
Mr Lahiru Nuwan
Mr Kosidinma Onyenso
Dr Felipe Orihuela-Espina
Eimear O'Sullivan
Mr Krittin Pachtrachai
Dr Athanasia Panousopoulou
Dr Julien Pansiot
Dr Tom Parker
Dr Nisha Patel
Dr James Patterson
Dr Christopher Payne
Ms Anne Pigula
Mr Giovanni Pittiglio
Dr Philip Pratt
Dr Ji Qi
Mr Malek Racy
Mr Nikolaev Radev
Dr Hedyeh Rafii-Tari
Dr Daniele Ravigrave
Mr Caumaghen Sannassy
Dr Vincent Sauvage
Dr Marco Visentini Scarzanella
Dr Volker Schmidt
Mr Timothy Seah
Miss Suzanne Shanel
Dr Jianzhong Shang
Dr Kunal Shetty
Dr Chaoyang Shi
Dr Mohan Singh
Miss Nathalie Slim
Dr Lipei Song
Dr Irina Spulber
Dr Kumuthan Sriskandarajah
Dr Dan Stoyanov
Ms Natasha Studinska
Dr Lei Su
Mr Malindie Hansika Sugathapala
Dr Mike Sun
Dr Clive Taylor
Miss Xingze Tian
Dr Surapa Thiemjarus
Dr Alex Thompson
Miss Michele Tonutti
Dr Johannes Totz
Mr Pavlos Triantafyllou
Dr Mary Tziraki
Mr Arvind Kumar Vadivelu
Ms Nafiseh Vahabi
Dr Salman Valibeik
Dr Alessandro Vandini
Dr Javier Correa Villanueva
Dr Valentina Vitiello
Dr Jeffery Wang
Dr Lei Wang
Dr Lichao Wang
Mr Ming-Yao Wang
Mr Qiao Wang
Mr Alex Warren
Mr Li Wei
Ms Hannah Wells
Mr Oliver Wells
Piyamate Wisanuvej
Dr Charence Wong
Miss Tracy Chui Hang Wong
Dr Toby Wood
Ms Qian Wu
Dr Wei Yao
Dr Menglong Ye
Ms Ruoxi Yu
Dr Jin-Fei Zhang
Mr Yiyuan Zhang
Dr Zhiqiang Zhang
Dr Liang Zhao
Mr Ming Zhao
Dr Siyang Zuo