Directors of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Yang Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang, PhD, FREng, FIEEE, FIET, FAIMBE, FIAMBE, FMICCAI, FCGI

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang is Director and co-founder of the Hamlyn Centre, and Deputy Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation (IGHI), Imperial College London.

Professor Yang also holds a number of key academic positions at Imperial College: Director and Founder of the Royal Society/Wolfson Medical Image Computing Laboratory; co-founder of the Wolfson Surgical Technology Laboratory; and Chairman of the Centre for Pervasive Sensing. He is a recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award and the I.I. Rabi Award from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.  His main research interests are in medical imaging, sensing and robotics. He is internationally recognised for his innovations and clinical applications of MR imaging and flow quantification and pioneering effort in perceptual docking for robotic control and Body Sensor Network (BSN). He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and fellow of IEEE, IET, AIMBE, IAMBE, MICCAI, and City&Guilds. A recipient of the Royal Society Research Merit Award, Professor Yang is listed in The Times Eureka ‘Top 100’ in British Science.

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham, FRS, FMedSci, HonFREng

Professor the Lord Darzi holds the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery at Imperial College London where he is Head of the Division of Surgery. He is an Honorary Consultant Surgeon at Imperial College Hospital NHS Trust and the Royal Marsden Hospital and also holds the Chair of Surgery at the Institute of Cancer Research. He was recently appointed as Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College.

He was knighted for his services in medicine and surgery in 2002. In 2007 Professor Darzi was introduced to the United Kingdom’s House of Lords as Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham and appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Health.  He relinquished in July 2009 when he was appointed the United Kingdom’s Global Ambassador for Health and Life Sciences, and Chair of NHS Global.  Lord Darzi was appointed as a member of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council in June 2009.

Staff and academics in the Hamlyn Centre

Academic Faculty Staff

NameE-mail
Professor Daniel Elson (Director of Studies) daniel.elson@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Leff (Senior Clinical Lecturer & Consultant Breast Surgeon) d.leff@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Su-Lin Lee (Lecturer) su-lin.lee@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Benny Lo (Senior Lecturer) benny.lo@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Mikael Sodergren (Clinical Lecturer) m.sodergren@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Fellows

NameE-mail
Dr Stamatia Giannarou (Royal Society University Research Fellowship) stamatia.giannarou@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Jindong Liu (Hamlyn Fellow) j.liu@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Robert Merrifield (Hamlyn Fellow) rdm99@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Jianzhong Shang (Hamlyn Fellow) j.shang@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Honorary and Visiting Academics

NameE-mail
Dr Christos Bergeles c.bergeles@imperial.ac.uk
Dr James Clark (Honorary Lecturer) j.clark@imperial.ac.uk
Professor Christian Cook c.cook@bangor.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Dowsey Andrew.Dowsey@liverpool.ac.uk
Professor Leonard Fass (Industrial Liaison) l.fass@imperial.ac.uk
Jaesung Hong jhong@dgist.ac.kr
Summary of the table's contents

Administration

NameE-mail
Mr Graham Brooks (Senior Engineer) g.brooks@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marina Hall (Research Secretary) marina.hall@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Karen Kerr (Director of Operations for the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery)  k.kerr@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Raphaële Raupp (PA to Director) r.raupp@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Associates

NameE-mail
Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova s.anastasova-ivanova@imperial.ac.uk
Antoine Barbot a.barbot@imperial.ac.uk
Melissa Berthelot m.berthelot14@imperial.ac.uk
Giulio Dagnino  
Fani Deligianni fani.deligianni@imperial.ac.uk
Anzhu Gao  
Bruno Gil Rosa b.gil-rosa@imperial.ac.uk
Bidan Huang b.huang@imperial.ac.uk
Panagiotis Kassanos p.kassanos@imperial.ac.uk
Jang Ah Kim j.a.kim@imperial.ac.uk
Bing Li b.li@imperial.ac.uk
Pakatip Ruenraroengsak p.ruenraroengsak@imperial.ac.uk
Florent Seichepine f.seichepine@imperial.ac.uk
Carlo Seneci c.seneci@imperial.ac.uk
Haijie Tan  
Burak Temelkuran b.temelkuran@imperial.ac.uk
Haojie Zhang  
Summary of the table's contents

PhD Students

NameE-mail
Fernando Avila Rencoret f.avila-rencoret13@imperial.ac.uk
Melissa Berthelot m.berthelot14@imperial.ac.uk
Pierre Berthet-Rayne p.berthet-rayne14@imperial.ac.uk
Mihaela Constantinescu mihaela.constantinescu12@imperial.ac.uk
Francesco Cursi  
Daniel Freer d.freer15@imperial.ac.uk
Maria Grammatikopoulou m.grammatikopoulou14@imperial.ac.uk
Gauthier Gras gauthier.gras12@imperial.ac.uk
Yang Hu y.hu12@imperial.ac.uk
Christina Koutsoumpa c.koutsoumpa13@imperial.ac.uk
Konrad Leibrandt k.leibrandt12@imperial.ac.uk
Jianyu Lin j.lin12@imperial.ac.uk
Ning Liu ning.liu13@imperial.ac.uk
Maura Power m.power13@imperial.ac.uk
Andreas Schmitz a.schmitz16@imperial.ac.uk
Carlo Seneci c.seneci@imperial.ac.uk
Mali Shen mali.shen09@imperial.ac.uk
Eimear O'Sullivan e.o-sullivan16@imperial.ac.uk
Xueqing Sun xueqing.sun13@imperial.ac.uk
Taranjit Tatla t.tatla10@imperial.ac.uk
Krit Teachasrisaksakul krittameth.teachasrisaksakul12@imperial.ac.uk
Rejin John Varghese r.varghese15@imperial.ac.uk
Alexandre Vicente alexandre.vicente10@imperial.ac.uk
Khushi Vyas k.vyas13@imperial.ac.uk
Piyamate Wisanuvej piyamate.w12@imperial.ac.uk
Lin Zhang lin.zhang11@imperial.ac.uk
Xiaoyun Zhou xiaoyun.zhou14@imperial.ac.uk
Yu Zhou yu.zhou112@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

MRes Students

Artur Banach
Juana Gonzalez Bueno
Hanifa Koguna
Kiyoteru Miyashita
Nairouz Mohamed
Eimear O' Sullivan
Giovanni Pittiglio
Malek Racy
Nikolaev Radev
Pavlos Triantafyllou
Ming-Yao Wang
Li Wei

Alumni

Dr Nick Ablitt
Mr Ibrahim Al Fathi
Ms Aziah Ali
Mr Faisal Aljaber
Dr Javier Andreu-Perez
Dr Selen Atasoy
Dr Louis Atallah
Dr Ebubekir Avci
Dr Omer Aziz
Dr James Ballantyne
Mr Artur Banach
Dr Shudi Bao
Dr Clement Barriere
Mr Yakov Boglev
Dr Loubna Bouarfa
Dr Pilar Beatriz Garcia Allende
Mr Juana Gonzalez Bueno
Mr Fan Cao
Mr Marco Caproni
Dr Francois Chabat
Dr Thanapong Chaichana
Miss Catherine Po Ling Chan
Dr Tou Pin Chang
Dr Muzzafer Chaudery
Dr Ching-Mei Chen
Dr Shanshan Chen
Mr Yang Chen
Mr Zhaohui Keene Chen
Dr Yi Cheng
Dr Adrian Chung
Dr Neil Clancy
Dr Longfei Cong
Dr Javier Correa Villanueva
Dr Vincenzo Curto
Dr Blair Crewther
Dr Thomas Cundy
Dr Fani Deligianni
Dr Laura Dempere-Marco
Dr Aimee Di Marco
Dr Alessio Dore
Dr Andrew Dowsey
Mr George Dwyer
Dr Mohamed Elhelw
Dr Joshua Ellul
Mr Marcus Ellington
Dr Ahmed Elsaify
Dr Maria Elena Gallina
Mr Pedro Ferreira Marques
Mr Nikos Flitris
Dr Kenko Fujii
Dr Andrea Gaglione
Dr Jianxing Gao
Mr Luis Garcia-Peraza
Dr Petros Giataganas
Miss Ruzanna Gulakyan
Dr David Harris-Birtill
Dr Paramate Horkaew
Dr Xiaopeng Hu
Mr Denis Huen
Dr Michael Hughes
Mr Yao-Ling Hung
Dr Andrew Huntbatch
Dr Henry Ip
Mr Adam James
Dr David James
Dr Mirek Janatka
Dr Delaram Jarchi
Dr Edward Johns
Dr Vahe Karimyan
Ms Mehrin Kiani
Dr Rachel King
Ms Georgina Kirby
Miss Hanifa Koguna
Dr Kevin Koh
Dr Richard Kwasnicki
Dr Kawai Kwok
Dr Win Tun Latt
Dr Karim Lekadir
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Mirna Lerotic
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Caroline Li
Dr Rui Li
Dr Sinan Li
Mr Fangyu Lin
Mr Arthur Loisillier
Mr Angelos Karlas
Mr Per Karlsson
Dr Kiyoung Kim
Dr Hawkeye King
Dr Hani Marcus
Dr Sharmeen Masood
Dr Stephen Matthews
Mr Philip McCormac
Dr Stephen McKeague
Mr Kiyoteru Miyashita
Mr Nairouz Mohamed
Dr Pete Mountney
Dr Andre Mouton
Dr Douglas McIlwraith
Dr George Mylonas
Dr Elham Nabavi
Dr Julien Nahed
Mr Timur Navruzov
Dr Richard Newton
Dr Marios Nicolaou
Dr David Noonan
Dr Pauline Ng
Mr Kosidinma Onyenso
Dr Felipe Orihuela-Espina
Mr Krittin Pachtrachai
Dr Athanasia Panousopoulou
Dr Julien Pansiot
Dr Tom Parker
Dr Nisha Patel
Dr James Patterson
Dr Christopher Payne
Ms Anne Pigula
Mr Giovanni Pittiglio
Dr Philip Pratt
Mr Ivan Ernesto Pulgar Alarcon
Dr Ji Qi
Mr Malek Racy
Mr Nikolaev Radev
Dr Hedyeh Rafii-Tari
Dr Daniele Ravì
Mr Caumaghen Sannassy
Dr Vincent Sauvage
Mr Timothy Seah
Dr Volker Schmidt
Miss Suzanne Shanel
Dr Kunal Shetty
Dr Chaoyang Shi
Dr Mohan Singh
Miss Nathalie Slim
Dr Lipei Song
Dr Irina Spulber
Dr Kumuthan Sriskandarajah
Dr Dan Stoyanov
Ms Natasha Studinska
Dr Lei Su
Mr Malindie Hansika Sugathapala
Dr Mike Sun
Dr Clive Taylor
Miss Xingze Tian
Dr Surapa Thiemjarus
Dr Alex Thompson
Miss Michele Tonutti
Dr Johannes Totz
Mr Pavlos Triantafyllou
Dr Mary Tziraki
Mr Arvind Kumar Vadivelu
Ms Nafiseh Vahabi
Dr Salman Valibeik
Dr Alessandro Vandini
Dr Marco Visentini Scarzanella
Dr Valentina Vitiello
Dr Jeffery Wang
Dr Lei Wang
Dr Lichao Wang
Mr Ming-Yao Wang
Mr Qiao Wang
Mr Alex Warren
Mr Li Wei
Ms Hannah Wells
Mr Oliver Wells
Mr Lahiru Nuwan Senarathna Wijayasingha
Dr Charence Wong
Miss Tracy Chui Hang Wong
Dr Toby Wood
Ms Qian Wu
Dr Wei Yao
Dr Menglong Ye
Ms Ruoxi Yu
Dr Jin-Fei Zhang
Mr Yiyuan Zhang
Dr Zhiqiang Zhang
Dr Liang Zhao
Mr Ming Zhao
Dr Siyang Zuo