Terms of Reference

1.  To ensure that the Department of Life Sciences promotes equality and diversity in all its spheres of operation, and takes speedy action to address inequalities in such a way as to benefit all staff and students.

2.  To raise awareness that good working practices benefit all staff and students, but bad working practices are likely to disproportionately affect women and minorities.

3.  To monitor and evaluate policies and procedures for improving working practices and for changing culture within DoLS.

4.    To drive forward the Athena SWAN agenda in DoLS, in accordance with the  Athena SWAN Charter and Principles.

5.   To develop, implement and monitor DoLS Athena SWAN action plans and submissions. 

Current Committee Members

Previous Committee Members

  • Committee Members 2013-2015:

aoc committee










Left to Right: Mr James Andrewes (Teaching Office Manager), Ms Rachel Vaux (PhD Student Rep), Dr Giorgio Gilestro (Lecturer), Dr Kleoniki Gounaris (Senior Lecturer & Director of Postgraduate Studies), Dr Karen Polizzi (Senior Lecturer), Dr Alexandra Anderson (Postdoc Rep), Dr John Pinney (Research Fellow), Ms Lenne Lillepuu (Executive Assistant), Dr Hugh Brady (Reader), Prof Murray Selkirk (Head of Department), Prof Anne Dell (Chair of AOC), Prof Vincent Savolainen (Deputy HoD, via Skype - Silwood Park) and Prof E J Milner-Gulland (Professor - Silwood Park) plus Dr Radhika Desikan (Lecturer) and Dr Rachel McMullan (Research Fellow) who were both on Maternity Leave at the time of taking this photo.