We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biological Sciences courses.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Website

 Stephen Brickley

Senior Tutor

Professor Stephen Brickley

Website

Dr Hugh Brady

Admissions Tutor

Professor Hugh Brady
Website

Martin Bidartondo

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Martin Bidartondo

Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow and Research Abroad Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Magda Charalambous

Senior Teaching Fellow and Second Year Covenor

Dr Magda Charalambous
Website

 Steve Cook

Senior Teaching Fellow and First Year Covenor

Dr Steve Cook
Website

 Dr Laurence Bugeon

Year in Industry/Research Coordinator

Dr Laurence Bugeon
Email

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Akrhat Abzhanov   a.abzhanov 2.15 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Cristina Banks-Leite   c.banks 2.2 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Michalis Barkoulas   m.barkoulas 607 SAFB
Professor Martin Bidartondo  Chair of the Board of Examiners m.bidartondo Kew Gardens
Dr Tolga Bozkurt   o.bozkurt 603 SAFB
Professor Hugh Brady Admissions Tutor h.brady 504 SAFB
Dr Martin D Brazeau   m.brazeau W2.2 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Professor Stephen Brickley Senior Tutor s.brickley 402A, Sir Ernst Chain Building
Professor Martin Buck   m.buck 448 SAFB
Dr Laurence Bugeon Year in Industry Co-ordinator l.bugeon 6th Floor SAFB
Professor Austin Burt   a.burt Kennedy, Silwood Pk
Dr Lauren J Cator   l.cator N.17 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Magda Charalambous Second Year Convenor m.charalambous 1.04 Hamilton, Silwood Park
Professor George Christophides   g.christophides 6167 SAFB
Dr Steve Cook First Year Convenor steven.cook 505 SAFB
Professor Andrea Crisanti   a.drcrisanti 549 SAFB
Professor Mustafa Djamgoz   m.djamgoz 548 SAFB
Professor Rob Ewers   r.ewers E2.8 Lees, Silwood Park
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks 401A SEC
Dr Richard J Gill   r.gill N2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Nadia Guerra   n.guerra SAFB
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Professor Mark Isalan   m.isalan 509 SAFB
Professor Armand Leroi   a.leroi South Block, Silwood Park
Professor Jon Lloyd   jonathan.lloyd Centre for Population Biology, Silwood Park
Professor Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAFB
Dr Samraat Pawar   s.pawar 2.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr James Rosindell   j.rosindell N2.6 Munro, Silwood Park
Professor Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAFB
Professor Vincent Savolainen   v.savolainen 1.6 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Julia Schroeder   julia.schroeder 2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Giovanni Sena   g.sena 450 SAFB
Dr Jie Song   j.song Level 6 SAFB
Professory Pietro Spanu   p.spanu 610 SAFB
Dr Joseph Tobias   j.tobias Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Mike Tristem   m.tristem 1.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Professor Colin Turnbull   c.turnbull 449 SAFB
Professor Alfried Vogler   a.vogler Natural History Museum
Dr Huw Williams Director of Undergraduate Studies h.d.williams 507 SAFB
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
Professor Guy Woodward   guy.woodward Munro, Silwood Park

SAFB: Sir Alexander Fleming Building

SEC: Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam Dates

First Year       
Biological Chemistry and Microbiology Monday 13-Jan-20 10.00-13.00
Evolution and Diversity Wednesday 15-Jan-20 10.00-13.00
Ecology and Evolution week beginning Mon 4 May 2020 (date, time and location tbc)
Cell Biology and Genetics week beginning Mon 4 May 2020 (date, time and location tbc)
       
Second Year      
Applied Molecular Biology Tuesday 07-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Genetics Thursday 09-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Bacterial Physiology Monday 08-Jun-20 tbc
Cell and Developmental Biology Monday 08-Jun-20 tbc
Resource Management Monday 08-Jun-20 tbc
Behavioural Ecology Thursday 11-Jun-20 tbc
Virology Thursday 11-Jun-20 tbc
Ecology Monday 15-Jun-20 tbc
Immunology Monday 15-Jun-20 tbc
Vertebrate Form and Evolution Monday 15-Jun-20 tbc
       
Final Year       
Damage and Repair in Biological Systems Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Structural Biology and Drug Design Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Metabolic and Network Engineering Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Neuroscience Research Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Medical Microbiology Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Plant Biotechnology and Development Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Principles of Development Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Disease Ecology and Epidemiology Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
African Biology Field Course Monday 06-Jan-20 14.00-16.00
       
Cancer Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Mechanisms of Gene Expression Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Advanced Bacterial and Eukaryotic Cell Biology Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Integrative Systems Biology Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
The Microbiome Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Evolutionary Applications Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
Biodiversity and Conservation Biology Wednesday 08-Jan-20 14.00-17.00
       
Medical Glycobiology Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Boinformatics Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Synthetic Biology Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Advanced Immunology Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Biodiversity Genomics Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
Global Change Biology Friday 21-Feb-20 10.00-13.00
       
Resit Examinations: Tues 01 Sept - Fri 04 Sept Aug 2020 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July 2020)