We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biological Sciences courses.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Website

Dr Hugh Brady

Admissions Tutor

Professor Hugh Brady
Website

 Professor Colin Turnbull

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Colin Turnbull
Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow and Research Abroad Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Magda Charalambous

Senior Teaching Fellow and Women's Tutor

Dr Magda Charalambous
Website

 Steve Cook

senior Teaching Fellow and First Year Covenor

Dr Steve Cook
Website

 Dr Laurence Bugeon

YEAR in Industry/rESEARCH Coordinator

Dr Laurence Bugeon
Email

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Akrhat Abzhanov   a.abzhanov 2.15 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Cristina Banks-Leite   c.banks 2.2 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Michalis Barkoulas   m.barkoulas 607 SAFB
Professor Tim Barraclough   t.barraclough N2.4 Munro, Silwood Park
Professor Nigel Bell   n.bell 320 Mech Eng
Dr Martin Bidartondo   m.bidartondo Kew Gardens
Dr Tolga Bozkurt   o.bozkurt 603 SAFB
Dr Hugh Brady Admissions Tutor h.brady 504 SAFB
Dr Martin D Brazeau   m.brazeau W2.2 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Professor Martin Buck   m.buck 448 SAFB
Dr Laurence Bugeon Year in Industry Co-ordinator l.bugeon 6th Floor SAFB
Professor Austin Burt   a.burt Kennedy, Silwood Pk
Dr Lauren J Cator   l.cator N.17 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Magda Charalambous Second Year Convenor m.charalambous 1.04 Hamilton, Silwood Park
Dr George Christophides   g.christophides 6167 SAFB
Dr Steve Cook First Year Convenor steven.cook 505 SAFB
Professor Andrea Crisanti   a.drcrisanti 549 SAFB
Professor Mustafa Djamgoz   m.djamgoz 548 SAFB
Dr Bob Ewers   r.ewers E2.8 Lees, Silwood Park
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks 401A SEC
Dr Richard J Gill   r.gill N2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Nadia Guerra   n.guerra SAFB
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Dr Jason Hodgson   j.hodgson N1.2 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Mark Isalan   m.isalan 509 SAFB
Dr Andrew Knight   andrew.knight1 N1.6 Munro, Silwood Park
Professor Armand Leroi   a.leroi South Block, Silwood Park
Professor Jon Lloyd   jonathan.lloyd Centre for Population Biology, Silwood Park
Dr Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAFB
Dr Morena Mills   m.mills  
Dr E J Milner-Gulland   e.j.milner-gulland 1.8 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Samraat Pawar   s.pawar 2.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr James Rosindell   j.rosindell N2.6 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAFB
Professor Vincent Savolainen   v.savolainen 1.6 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Julia Schroeder   julia.schroeder 2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Giovanni Sena   g.sena 450 SAFB
Dr Jie Song   j.song Level 6 SAFB
Dr Pietro Spanu Senior Tutor p.spanu 610 SAFB
Dr Joseph Tobias   j.tobias Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Mike Tristem   m.tristem 1.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Colin Turnbull Chair of the Board of Examiners c.turnbull 449 SAFB
Professor Alfried Vogler   a.vogler Natural History Museum
Dr Huw Williams Director of Undergraduate Studies h.d.williams 507 SAFB
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
Professor Guy Woodward   guy.woodward Munro, Silwood Park
Professor Denis Wright   d.wright Sherfield Building

SAFB: Sir Alexander Fleming Building

SEC: Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam Dates

Biological Sciences degrees exam timetable 2017-18

First Year 

     
Biological Chemistry and Microbiology 23-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biology of Organisms 25-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Ecology and Evolution 12-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Cell Biology and Genetics 19-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       

Second Year

     
Applied Molecular Biology 09-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Genetics 11-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Bacterial Physiology 11-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Cell and Developmental Biology 11-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Resource Management 11-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Behavioural Ecology 15-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Virology 15-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Ecology 20-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Immunology 20-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Vertebrate Form and Evolution 20-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       

Final Year 

     
Damage and Repair in Biological Systems 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Structural Biology and Drug Design 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Metabolic and Network Engineering 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Medical Microbiology 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Neuroscience Research 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Plant Biotechnology and Development 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Principles of Development 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
African Biology Field Course 08-Jan-18 10.00-12.00 460/560 SAF
Population and Community Ecology 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       
Cancer 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Mechanisms of Gene Expression 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Bacterial and Eukaryotic Cell Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Integrative Systems Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Microbial Ecology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Biodiversity and Conservation Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Evolutionary Genetics 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       
Medical Glycobiology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biotechnology Applications of Proteins 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Boinformatics 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Synthetic Biology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biodiversity Genomics 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Advanced Immunology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Global Change Biology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
       

Resit Examinations

Tues 28 Aug - Fri 31 Aug 2018 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July)