The External Advisory Panel’s remit is to act in an advisory role to the Department of Materials, in particular:
1)    To provide advice on the structure and content of the undergraduate and postgraduate courses provided by the Department
2)    To provide advice on the strategic research focus of the Department.

The panel meets in London once a year and its members are:

 Professor Anne Borg
 Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Technology
 Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway)
 Dr Peter Brown
 Senior Principal Scientist
 Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl) (UK)
 Mr Steve Dearden
 Director, Engineering and Technology – Submarines
 Rolls-Royce plc (UK)   
 Dr Urs Dürig
 Research Scientist
 IBM Research (Switzerland)
 Dr David Farrar
 Head of New Technologies
 Xiros Ltd
 Dr Tasadduq Khan
 Scientific Director of Materials and Structures Branch
 ONERA (France)
 Professor Nicola Marzari
 Director of Theory and Simulation of Materials (THEOS) Laboratory
 EPFL (Switzerland)
 Dr Alan McLelland
 Vice President – Technology
 Morgan Advanced Materials
 Dr Steve Paterson (Chair)
 Head of Materials and Corrosion Engineering
 Shell UK (UK)
 Dr Neil Smart
 R&D Alliance Manager
 Sellafield Ltd (UK)