Event Information

Tuesday 17th December 2019
10.00 - 17.30

Imperial College London
Department of Materials
Royal School of Mines
South Kensington Campus

  • Presentations - Royal School of Mines, Room G.20
  • Sponsors' exhibition, poster sessions, image competition and refreshments – Royal School of Mines, Room G.01

Register here

The Postdoctoral and Fellow Symposium is an annual event showcasing the latest research from our current postdocs and research fellows, with presentations from some of our sponsors. Free lunch will be available to those who register during the poster sessions and a prize giving ceremony for the best presentations, posters and scientific image will end the day with drinks and nibbles. The Symposium will be immediately followed by the Materials Postdoc and Fellows Christmas Party.

Everyone is welcome, so please come along and support our presenters, your colleagues and friends. This is a fantastic opportunity for you to share ideas, see what research is happening in the Department of Materials at Imperial College London, begin collaborations and network with sponsors!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Symposium in December.
Materials Postdoc Representatives.

Programme - Tuesday 17 December 2019

Abstract Booklet

10:00 – 10:30 -  Welcome coffee and opening remarks by Professor Peter Haynes (HoD) – RSM G.01

Session 1 - RSM G.20        Chair: Axel Moore
10:30 – 10:45 Hyejeong Seong – “Design of high-aspect-ratio nanoneedle arrays with tunable sharpness for interfacing and influencing biological system”
10:45 – 11:00 Thomas Haynes – “Modelling of Crack Nucleation and Propagation in SiC/SiC Accident-Tolerant Fuel during Routine Operation Transients using Peridynamics”
11:00 – 11:15 Gloria Young – “Hybrid biomaterials with tuneable mechanical property gradients”
11:15 – 11:30  Sponsor talk (CCP9) – Introducing CCP9: Computational Electronic Structure of Condensed Matter


11:30 – 12:00 Coffee Break and Poster Session - RSM G.01

Session 2 - RSM G.20          Chair: Eleonora Cali
12:00 – 12:15 Ioannis Bantounas – “Dwell Fatigue Crack Growth of a Developmental CoNi-Base Superalloy”
12:15 – 12:30 Martina Stella – “Towards a systematic multi-scale method for excitations in molecular materials in the BigDFT code”
12:30 – 12:45 Athanasios Skandalis – “QPDMAEMA-b-PLMA-b-POEGMA cationic triblock terpolymers as potential gene delivery vectors”
12:45 – 13:00 Rachel Herries – “Introducing the PFDC role in the College”


13:00 – 14:00 Lunch and Poster Session – RSM G.01

Session 3 - RSM G.20          Chair: Oriol Gavalda Diaz
14:00 – 14:15 Thibaut Dessolier – “Effect of creep deformation on complex through-wall microstructure and mechanical properties within centrifugally cast pipe HP40Nb alloy”
14:15 – 14:30 Yang Liu – “Strain rate sensitivity of Zircaloy-4”
14:30 – 14:45 Max Attwood – “The Design of Organic Solid-State Microwave-Amplifiers”
14:45 – 15:00 Sponsor Talk (BP) – “BP-ICAM Materials Research Partnership”


15:00 – 15:30 Coffee Break and Poster Session – RSM G.01

Session 4 - RSM G.20          Chair: Joseph Prentice
15:30 – 15:45 Xin Xu – “Design of high performance Ti alloy for jet engine”
15:45 – 16:00 James Armstrong – “Acoustic Assembly of Materials and Tissues”
16:00 – 16:15 Yilun Xu – “Negative creep behaviour and thermomechanical alleviation in titanium alloys under cyclic loading”
16:15 – 16:30 Sponsor Talk (CCP5) – “Introducing CCP5: Collaborative Computational Project for simulations of condensed phases"”


16:30 – 16:45 Closing remarks by Prof. Peter Haynes (HoD)  – RSM G.01

16:45 – 17:00 Prize Ceremony – RSM G.01

17:00 onwards Christmas Party – RSM G.01


Our symposium aims to highlight the career opportunities available both inside and outside of academia, especially for researchers who have gained a PhD, and we are delighted to be sponsored by a range of organisations, including EDF, BP, CCP9, IMSE, CCP5, Materials Horizons, and Struers. These organisations have all generously contributed towards the symposium, and several will have representatives at the event.

If you would like to know more about sponsoring next year’s event, please email the organisers (contact details below).


The Annual Postdoctoral and Fellow Symposium is organised by the Materials Postdoc Representatives. You can e-mail the Materials Postdoc Team: mat-postdoc-rep@ic.ac.uk

Dr Ainara Aguadero - Postdoc and Fellow Champion
Dr Claudia Gasparrini - Engineering Alloys
Dr Joseph Prentice - Theory and Simulation of Materials
Dr Axel Moore - Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Dr Zonghao Shen - Functional Materials
Dr Eleonora Cali - Nanotechnology and Nanoscale Characterisation
Dr Oriol Gavalda Diaz - Ceramics and Glasses
Dr Sivaprakash Sengodan - Research Fellow Representative