Departmental Meetings

MeetingDepartmental Meetings (HoD Chair) provide a forum for all staff to discuss the status of the Department's activities and they are generally held once per term. All members of the department are invited to attend.

Departmental Committees

The Department's development is managed through a structure of committees. The Head of Department chairs the Management Committee:

Management Committee 

Head of Department (Chair): Professor David van Dyk
Departmental Operations Manager: Dr Richard Jones
Executive Assistant & Office Manager: Mr David Whittaker
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Professor David Evans
Director of Postgraduate Studies: Professor Henrik Jensen   
Director of Research: Professor Pierre Degond
Heads of Section: Professor Martin Liebeck (Pure), Professor Greg Pavliotis (AMMP), Professor Niall Adams (Statistics),
                               Professor Damiano Brigo (Mathematical Finance)
Deputy Heads of Department: Professors Harry Zheng and Andrew Parry
Senior Tutor: Dr Christopher Ford
Director of Ancillary Teaching: Dr Daniel Mortlock
Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Champion: Professor Tom Coates
Director of Quantitative Sciences Research Institute: Professor Almut Veraart

The Management Committee has three direct feeder committees:

Feeder committees

Infrastructure Committee

Infrastructure Committee:
Chair of Infrastructure: Professor Niall Adams
Departmental Operations Manager: Dr Richard Jones
Technical Services Manager: Mr Andrew Pope
Maths Librarian: Ms Ann Brew 

Feeder Committees to the Infrastructure Committee:

  • Common Room Committee
    Executive Assistant & Office Manager (Chair): Mr David Whittaker (Mathematics)
    Maths and Computing academic and administrative representatives: Professor William Knottenbelt/Mrs Ann Halford (Computing)
    Professor Alessio Corti (Mathematics) 
    Catering Manager:  Mr Cyril Joseph (Catering)
    PhD Student Representative: Chiara Taranto  
  •  Computing Committee

    Chair of Computing Committee: Professor Niall Adams
    Research Computing Officer: Mr Andy Thomas
    ICT Site Manager: Mr Duncan Mclachlan
    Section Representatives:
    Pure – Professor Tom Coates
    Applied – Dr Gunnar Preusssner
    Stats – Professor Niall Adams
    MF – Miss Marta Guzzon 

  • Health and Safety Committee

    Head of Department (Chair): Professor David van Dyk         
    Infrastructure Chair: Professor Niall Adams
    Departmental Operations Manager: Dr Richard Jones
    Technical Services Manager: Mr Andrew Pope
    Central Office Administrator: Mr Martin Cooper
    Faculty Safety Manager: Mr Stefan Hoyle, Dr Mehriban Ulusoy
    Fire Office: Mr John Ryan, Mr Jon Avery
    Safety Department Rep: Mr John Luke 
    Undergraduate Student rep: Ms Emma McCracken
    Postgraduate Student rep: Mr Luca Mingarelli
    Building Manager: Mr Rodney Coppard
    Union Representative: Ms Tanya Hunt

Research Committee

Research Committee:
Director of Research (Chair): Professor Pierre Degond
Research Operations Manager: Mrs Rusudan Svanidze
Prof. Pierre Degond: Director of Research/Chair
Dr. Gustav Holzegel (Pure representative)
Dr. Thomas Cass (Math Finance representative)
Prof. Axel Gandy (Statistics representative)
Dr. Eric Keaveny (AMMP representative)
Dr. Caroline Colijn (AMMP representative)

Teaching Committee

Teaching Committee:

Director of Undergraduate Studies (Chair): Professor David Evans
Director of Admissions: Dr Colin Cotter
Director of Ancillary Teaching:  Dr Daniel Mortlock
Projects Coordinator: Dr John Britnell
Postgraduate Tutor: Professor Henrik Jenson
Senior Tutor: Dr Chris Ford
Year in Europe/ERASMUS Coordinator: Dr Robert Nurnberg
Section Representatives
Undergraduate Liaison Officer: Mrs Inkeri Hibbins
Student Representatives:
Undergraduate Students Departmental Representative: Emma McCracken
Postgraduate Students Departmental Representative: Spencer Wilson
Research Students Representatives:  Chiara Taranto (Pure),  Arman Khaledian (Mathematical Finance)

Feeder Committees to the Teaching Committee:

  • Examinations Committee
    Section Representatives

  • Postgraduate Committee

    PG Director (Chair) - Professor Hanrik Jensen
    PGR Administrator - Mr Anderson Santos
    PG Student Welfare Tutor - Dr Tony Bellotti

    Mathematical Finance Tutor - Dr Harry Zheng
    Statistics Tutor - Dr Nicholas Heard
    Pure Tutor - Prof Boguslaw Zegarlinski
    AMMP Tutor - Dr Nick Jones

    PG Amin – Anderson Santos

    AMMP student rep – Marina Amado Ferreira
    Statistics student rep – Matt Price-Williams
    Pure student rep – Chiara Taranto
    Maths-Finance student rep – vacant
    Overall student rep – Luca Mingarelli

  • Staff/Student Advisory Committee

    Senior Tutor: Dr Chris Ford
    Director of Undergraduate Studies:  Professor David Evans
    Section Representatives:
    McCoy, Professor Emma J (Statistics)
    Buzzard, Professor Kevin (Pure) 
    Walton, Andrew G (AMMP)

    Infrastructure Committee Chair:  Professor Niall Adams
    Undergraduate Teaching Administrator:  Mrs Donna Pile-Grant
    Academic Administrator:  Ms Helen Haines
    Undergraduate Liaison Officer:  Mrs Inkeri Hibbins

    Year 1: Dr Ed Segal
    Year 2: Dr David Helm
    Year 3: Prof John Barrett
    Year 4: Dr Almut Veraart

    McCracken, Emma Dep Rep (Student)
    Liu, Xing; Patarapak, Krit 1st year student reps
    McGill, Michael; Zhu, Harrison H - 2nd year student reps
    Lutz, Wendelin; Mitenkova; Staniszewski, Mateusz; 3rd year student reps
    Chaudhary, Asad H; Wu, Jeremy S; 4th year student Reps
    Barton, Nicholas; Thorsteins, Thordis; MSc Reps (Student)
    Amado Ferreira, Marina; PGR & GTA Dep Rep
    Mekhtieva, Rakhilya; JMC Dep Rep

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Committee Members:

  • Chair & Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Champion: Professor Tom Coates
  • Secretary: Mr David Fong Whittaker
  • Admissions Tutor: Dr Lotte Kestner and Dr Daniel Mortlock
  • Deputy Head of Department: Professor Andy Parry
  • FoNS Diversity Champion: Dr Vahid Shahrezaei
  • Head of Department: Professor David van Dyk
  • Head of Postdoc and Fellows Development Centre: Dr Liz Elvidge
  • Junior Academic Staff Representative: Dr Heather Battey
  • PhD Student Representative: Mr Claudio Bellani
  • Postgraduate Administrator: Ms Lene Hyltoft
  • Postdoc Representative: Dr Isabel Muller
  • Postdoc Representative: Dr Adam Townsend
  • Senior Academic Staff Representative: Dr Colin Cotter 
  • Teaching Fellow Representative: Dr Marie-Amelie Lawn
  • Undergraduate Liaison Officer: Ms Inkeri Hibbins