CATO Academic leadsAcademic Training Leads

Each specialty training scheme has a designated training lead to oversee the academic element of the programme. Clinical academic trainees are advised to make contact with their Academic Training Lead as soon as possible after joining the programme and to stay in regular touch during their time on the scheme. Academic Training Leads have responsibility for and can help with:

  • oversight of the academic element of ACF and ACL schemes and representing the schemes at committee level
  • ensuring and advising on the allocation of research project/academic supervisors to each academic trainee
  • negotiation and organisation of research blocks
  • helping academic trainees to resolve any difficulties that they may have with managing their programme
  • general communications and advice about the programme and encouraging ACF/ACLs to engage in CATO initiatives such as mentoring, courses and events
  • oversight of each ACF/ACL’s progress through the ARCP process
  • liaison with Clinical Training Leads on planning academic training programmes for trainees

Clinical Training Leads

Clinical Training Leads, also referred to as Training Programme Directors, have overall responsibility for the clinical specialty programme. Clinical Training Leads have responsibility for and can help with:

  • overall management of the recruitment of trainees
  • organisation of trainee clinical rotations
  • ensuring the delivery of the clinical curriculum within the training programme
  • management of the assessment process for trainees
  • liaison with Academic Training Leads on clinical training elements of academic training

Contact details

SpecialtyAcademic Training LeadsClinical Training Leads

Acute Medicine 

Dr Sonya Abraham 
s.abraham@imperial.ac.uk

Florian Wernig
florian.wernig@imperial.nhs.uk

Joanne Thompson
Joanne.Thompson2@imperial.nhs.uk

Anaesthetics Dr Anthony Gordon
anthony.gordon@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Michelle Hayes
michelle.hayes@chelwest.nhs.uk

Dr Peter Brooks
peter.brooks@chelwest.nhs.uk
Cardiology Prof Nicolas Peters
n.peters@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Lyon
a.lyon@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Darrel Francis

d.francis@imperial.ac.uk


Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dr Prakash Punjabi
p.punjabi@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Prakash Punjabi
p.punjabi@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Pathology

Prof Waljit Dhillo
w.dhillo@imperial.ac.uk
Prof Karim Meeran
k.meeran@imperial.ac.uk
Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics Prof Martin Wilkins
m.wilkins@imperial.ac.uk
Prof Martin Wilkins
m.wilkins@imperial.ac.uk
Clinical Radiology

Dr Nishat Bharwani
Nishat.Bharwani@imperial.nhs.uk

Dr Nishat Bharwani
Nishat.Bharwani@imperial.nhs.uk

Emergency Medicine (Paediatrics) Dr Ian Maconochie
i.maconochie@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Ian Maconochie
i.maconochie@imperial.ac.uk
Endocrinology and Diabetes Mellitus Prof Waljit Dhillo
w.dhillo@imperial.ac.uk
Prof Karim Meeran
k.meeran@imperial.ac.uk
Gastroenterology and Hepatology Prof Mark Thursz
m.thursz@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Simon Taylor-Robinson
s.taylor-robinson@imperial.ac.uk

Kevin Monahan
kevin.monahan@chelwest.nhs.uk

General Surgery

Prof George Hanna
g.hanna@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Daniel Leff
d.leff@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Tim Allen-Mersh
t.allenmersh@imperial.ac.uk
Genitourinary Medicine Prof Graham Taylor
g.p.taylor@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Graham Taylor
g.p.taylor@imperial.ac.uk
Haemotology Prof Mike Laffan
m.laffan@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Nina Salooja
nina.salooja@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Abdul Shlebak
a.shlebak@imperial.ac.uk
Histopathology Prof Kikkeri Naresh
k.naresh@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Rashpal Flora
rashpal.flora@imperial.nhs.uk
Infectious Diseases and Microbiology Prof John Friedland
j.friedland@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Kathy Bamford
k.bamford@imperial.ac.uk
Intensive Care Medicine Dr Anthony Gordon
anthony.gordon@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Rosalinde Tilley
rosalinde.tilley@gstt.nhs.uk
Medical Education

Prof Desmond Johnston
d.johnston@imperial.ac.uk

TBC
Medical Oncology Dr Jonathan Krell
j.krell@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Mark Bower
m.bower@imperial.ac.uk
Neurology Prof David Sharp
david.sharp@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Richard Perry
richard.perry@imperial.nhs.uk
Neurosurgery Mr Dipankar Nandi
d.nandi@imperial.ac.uk
Mr Ramesh Nair
ramesh.nair@imperial.ac.uk
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Prof Phillip Bennett
p.bennett@imperial.ac.uk
Ms Karen Joash
karen.joash@imperial.nhs.uk
Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery Prof Justin Cobb
j.cobb@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Chinmay Gupte
c.gupte00@imperial.ac.uk
Occupational Medicine Prof Paul Cullinan
p.culllinan@imperial.ac.uk
TBC
Ophthalmology

Dr Francesca Cordeiro
francesca.cordeiro@imperial.nhs.uk

TBC
Paediatric Immunology, Infectious Disease and Allergy Dr Gareth Tudor-Williams
g.tudor-williams@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Bob Klaber
r.klaber@imperial.ac.uk
Paediatrics and Child Public Health Dr Mitch Blair
m.blair@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Bob Klaber
r.klaber@imperial.ac.uk

Plastic Surgery

Mr Shehan Hettiaratchy
shehan.hettiaratchy@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Simmons 
jonathan.simmons@imperial.nhs.uk

General Practice and Primary Care Prof Azeem Majeed
a.majeed@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Martin Block
m.block@imperial.ac.uk
Psychiatry Prof Anne Lingford-Hughes
anne.lingford-hughes@imperial.ac.uk
Dr John Lowe
j.lowe@nhs.net
Public Health Medicine Prof Azeem Majeed
a.majeed@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Harris
m.harris@imperial.ac.uk 
Renal Medicine Prof Liz Lightstone
l.lightstone@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Megan Griffith
m.e.griffith@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Maria Loucaidou
marina.loucaidou@imperial.nhs.uk
Respiratory Medicine Prof Sebastian Johnston
s.johnston@imperial.ac.uk


Dr Rachel Davies
rachel.davies@imperial.nhs.uk

Rheumatology Prof Matthew Pickering
matthew.pickering@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Harry Penn 
henrypenn@nhs.net

Urology Prof Hashim Ahmed
hashim.ahmed@imperial.ac.uk


Mathias Winkler
Mathias.Winkler@imperial.nhs.uk

Vascular Surgery Prof Alun Davies
a.h.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Keith Jones
keith.jones4@nhs.net

Summary of the table's contents