NHLI committees

The NHLI Executive Committee

The NHLI Executive Meeting is chaired by the Head of Institute Professor Edwin Chilvers and meets ten times a year to discuss current issues affecting the Institute, such as strategy, performance and education.

Please contact Ms Dawn Burby d.burby@imperial.ac.uk for more information.

The NHLI Health and Safety Committee

The NHLI Health and Safety Committee – chaired by Professor Paul Cullinan – reports to the NHLI Executive Committee and meets termly to discuss health and safety issues. The committee members include academics and technical staff from all NHLI divisions. Please see the full membership list on NHLI's health and safety webpages.

For more information please contact Professor Paul Cullinan p.cullinan@imperial.ac.uk.

The NHLI Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

The NHLI Athena SAT is chaired by the Institute Lead for Equality Professor Sara Rankin and reports to the NHLI Executive Committee on all Athena issues related to the Institute. The SAT meets approximately every two months to discuss Athena issues, including the implementation of the NHLI Athena SWAN Action Plan and the development of new Athena initiatives. 

For more information please contact Alex Dawes alexandra.dawes@imperial.ac.uk.

Full list of our SAT members.

The NHLI Education Committee

The NHLI Education Committee is chaired by the NHLI Director of Education Professor Sue Smith and meets termly. The committee reports to the NHLI Executive Committee on undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses and students.

The committee is composed of:

  • Director of Education (Chair)
  • Deputy Director of Education
  • Head of the Institute
  • Education Manager
  • Education Co-ordinator
  • PGT programme directors and any (senior) teaching fellows
  • PGT Education Administrators
  • BSc Programme Directors and any (senior) teaching fellows
  • BSc Education Administrators

 

Please contact Professor Sue Smith sue.smith@imperial.ac.uk for more information.

The NHLI Higher Degrees Research Committee

The Higher Degrees Research Committee is chaired by the NHLI Director of Postgraduate Studies Professor Michael Lovett and meets termly. The committee reports to the NHLI Executive Committee on all issues relating to the Institute’s postgraduate research students.

The committee is composed of:

  • The Director of Postgraduate Research Studies (DPS) (Chair)
  • The Deputy DPS
  • MRes Course Director / Stream Leaders
  • NHLI Postgraduate Tutors
  • A representative from each Section within the Institute
  • A representative from the PGR Student Committee
  • Postgraduate Research Education Administrator

For more information please contact Professor Michael Lovett m.lovett@imperial.ac.uk.

The NHLI Postdoc Committee

The NHLI Postdoc Committee – chaired by the Institute Lead for Postdocs Professor Miriam Moffatt – meets quarterly to discuss issues affecting the postdocs in the department and reports to the NHLI Executive Committee on all issues related to postdocs. Please see the list of current members below.

For more information please contact Professor Miriam Moffatt m.moffatt@imperial.ac.uk.

POSTDOC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The NHLI Information Governance Committee

The NHLI Information Governance Committee is chaired by Dr Joseph Boyle.

For more information please contact Dr Joseph Boyle joseph.boyle@imperial.ac.uk.