CNE Management

Local Management Team

The CNE was initially set up by Professor Robin Grimes FREng in 2007. Professor Bill Lee FREng took over as Director in November 2012 while Professor Grimes FREng remains as Founding Director. From 1st July 2016, former Deputy-Director Dr Mike Bluck has take over as Director.

The local management team are:
Dr Michael Bluck Director
Prof Robin Grimes FREng Founding Director
Dr Ben Britton Director MSc in Advanced Nuclear Engineering / Deputy-Director
Prof Luc Vandeperre Director ICO CDT in Nuclear Energy
Dr Mark Wenman Director CDT in Nuclear Energy Futures
Dr Jonathan Tate Administrator

CNE Management Committee

The CNE Management Committee (CNEMC) meets monthly. The CNEMC covers the day-to-day issues of running the centre, hears reports of nuclear issues in each Department, national and international issues, teaching, proposals and seminars.

Committee members are:
Dr Michael Bluck Chair and Department of Mechanical Engineering Representative
Dr Ben Britton Teaching Representative
Prof Robin Grimes FREng CNE Founding Director
Prof Geoff Hewitt  Department of Chemical Engineering Representative
Dr Katerina Tsiampousi Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Representative
Dr Mark Wenman Department of Materials Representative
Dr Steve Garwood Rolls Royce University Technical Centre Representative
Dr Michael Rushton PDRA Representative
Miss Kathryn Yates PhD Representative
Dr Jonathan Tate Secretary

CNE Nuclear Advisory Committee (NAC)

The CNE Nuclear Advisory Committee (NAC) is made up of leading nuclear industry representatives and it provides advice on the structure and content of the Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses and on the CNE's research foci and strategy.

The NAC meets in London once a year. The meeting takes the format of a mini-conference, including a business plan, departmental research presentations and an industry feedback session. The meeting concludes with a networking meal.

Advisory Board Members are:
Tony Kelly Mott MacDonald 
Rob Harrison Rolls-Royce Plc
Bruce McKirdy Nuclear Decommissioning Authority
Simon Middleburgh Westinghouse 
Si Dilks DECC
Richard Stainsby National Nuclear Laboratory
Sarah Williamson Laing O'Rourke
Gavin Nicol Weir Group
Joseph Savage Horizon Nuclear Power
Norman Godfrey AWE
Neil Smart Sellafield Ltd
Keith Parker Nuclear Industry Association
Xavier Mamo EDF Energy
Martin O'Brien Culham Centre for Fusion Energy
Ben Lindley Amec Foster Wheeler
Tatsuro Ishizuka Hitachi