Imperial College London

Professor Matthew J. Fuchter

Faculty of Natural SciencesDepartment of Chemistry

Professor of Chemistry



+44 (0)20 7594 5815m.fuchter




401CMolecular Sciences Research HubWhite City Campus





Matthew Fuchter is a Professor of Chemistry, co-Director of the Centre for Drug Discovery Science and co-Director of the MRes in Drug Discovery in the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London. He is also a member of the Organic Division Council of the Royal Society of Chemistry,  the UK representative to the EuCheMS Division of Organic Chemistry and an Associate Editor of the RSC journal MedChemComm. He is involved in multiple multidisciplinary centres of excellence at Imperial including the Institute of Chemical Biology, the Imperial College Network of Excellence in Malaria, the Cancer Research Centre of Excellence, the Antimicrobial Research Collaborative, the Centre for Plastic Electronics and the London Centre for Nanotechnology.

See his research group website.


Professor Matthew Fuchter obtained his first class honours degree (MSci in Chemistry) from the University of Bristol in 2002, where he was awarded the Richard N. Dixon prize as well as an undergraduate Scholarship and several faculty commendations.

In January 2006 he completed his PhD research entitled “Synthetic Studies on Porphyrazines: Biological Applications and New Preparative Methods” under the supervision of Professor Anthony G. M. Barrett, FRS FMedSci  (Imperial College London, UK) and in close collaboration with Professor Brian Hoffman (Northwestern University, USA). Following a short spell as a Research Associate at Imperial College, Professor Fuchter was appointed as a CSIRO Research Fellow at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia as well as a Visiting Fellow at the University of Melbourne, where he worked with Professor Andrew B Holmes, FRS.

He briefly took up an independent Fellowship position in 2007 at the School of Pharmacy (University of London), before being appointed as a Lecturer in Synthetic and Medicinal Chemistry at Imperial College London in July 2008. He was subsequently promoted to Senior Lecturer in July 2012, Reader in September 2015 and Professor in September 2018.  In 2014 he was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry's Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize, as well as being admitted to the Royal Society of Chemistry as a Fellow. In 2015, he was selected as a Thieme Chemistry Journal Awardee by the Editorial Board for the Thieme Chemistry journals and received a Diploma for being the 'most meritorious runner-up' of the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia (2015). In 2017, he won an Imperial College President’s Excellence in Research Award and a President’s Medal (together with Professors Tony Barrett, Charles Coombes and Simak Ali) for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship. In 2018 he was awarded the prestigious 2018 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award for Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry and a 5-year EPSRC Established Career Fellowship. In 2020, he was an honouree for the 2020 Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in the United Kingdom, conferred by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Sciences



Fuchter MJ, 2020, On the promise of photopharmacology using photoswitches: a medicinal chemist's perspective., Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, ISSN:0022-2623

Gerkman MA, Gibson RSL, Calbo J, et al., 2020, Arylazopyrazoles for long-term thermal energy storage and optically-triggered heat release below 0 °C, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Vol:142, ISSN:0002-7863, Pages:8688-8695

Rueda-Zubiaurre A, Yahiya S, Fischer O, et al., 2020, Structure-activity relationship studies of a novel class of transmission blocking antimalarials targeting male gametes., Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Vol:63, ISSN:0022-2623, Pages:2240-2262

Kurz W, Yetisen AK, Kaito MV, et al., 2020, UV-Sensitive Wearable Devices for Colorimetric Monitoring of UV Exposure, Advanced Optical Materials, Vol:8, ISSN:2195-1071

Calbo J, Thawani AR, Gibson RSL, et al., 2019, A combinatorial approach to improving the performance of azoarene photoswitches, Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, Vol:15, ISSN:1860-5397, Pages:2753-2764

More Publications