Issue 67

22 September - 5 October 1998

IC Reporter


In Brief

Seeing is believing

The miracle of sight will be explored by Professor Igor Aleksander, head of neural systems engineering and pro rector (external relations), on 6 October at 18.30, performing experiments on the MAGNUS neural computer system. ‘The astonishing miracle of seeing’ takes place in the Clore Lecture Theatre, Huxley Building, South Kensington campus. See Diary.

Ken Weale service

A memorial service to commemorate the life of Dr Ken Weale, who died on 7 May this year takes place in the Holy Trinity with All Saints Church, Prince Consort Road at 12 noon on Thursday 8 October. All are welcome. Donations to the Ken Weale Memorial Fund may be sent to the Alumni Office, Level 3, Sherfield Building, Imperial College, London, SW7 2AZ. (Cheques payable to IC.)

MEU becomes UMO

The Medical Education Unit and Medical School Registries have combined to form the Undergraduate Medicine Office (UMO). A central office is located in the Sir Alexander Fleming Building at South Kensington.

Head in the clouds

Sir John Mason, who this year celebrates 50 years at Imperial, is to receive an honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of Reading. Sir John was appointed lecturer in meteorology in 1948, professor of cloud physics in 1961 and an IC Fellow in 1974.

Folders for sale

Imperial College folders are now available from Ofrex, product code 551537, price 50p each, with next day delivery. They hold anything from single sheets of paper to several A4 documents.

UMIST honour

Professor Geoff Hewitt, Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemical Technology, has been awarded an honorary DEng by the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST).

Swedish ecology

Professor John Lawton, Department of Biology, has received the Kempe Award for Distinguished Ecologists, bestowed by Umeå University and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Issue Index Previous Article Contents Page Next Article Feed Back

© Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, 1998
Last Revised: 3 October 1998