Group members

Academic staff

Academic Staff
Davoud Cheraghi

Dr Davoud Cheraghi
Senior Lecturer

Moduli spaces of holomorphic maps and rigidity,
Small divisors and linearization in low dimensions,
Renormalization operators and complex dynamics
Martin Hairer

Prof. Martin Hairer

Stochastic partial differential equations,
Nonequlibrium statistical mechanics,
Stochastic processes with memory

Prof. Walter Hayman FRS
Emeritus Professor

Complex analysis

Dr Gustav Holzegel

Partial Differential Equations, General Relativity 

Dr Igor Krasovsky

Asymptotic analysis of orthogonal polynomials, determinants, multiple integrals. Spectral properties of quasiperiodic Schrödinger operators

Prof. Ari Laptev

Spectral Theory of Partial Differential Equations, in particular, Schrödinger operators. Polya conjecture. Lieb-Thirring inequalities. Trace formulae. Inverse problems. Gobal solutions of Wave Equations. Generalised Szegö Problems. Pseudo-differential Operators.

Prof. Michael Ruzhansky

Microlocal and harmonic analysis, Fourier integral operators, hyperbolic PDEs, evolution PDEs. Pseudo-differential operators on Lie groups and manifolds

Prof. Boguslaw Zegarlinski

Stochastic analysis, mathematical physics, coercive and isoperimetric inequalities, Markov semigroups

Research staff

Academic Staff
Fabrizio Bianchi

Dr Fabrizio Bianchi
Chapman Research Fellow

Several complex variables (currents and dynamics), meromorphic connections

Dr Julio Delgado
Research Associate

Harmonic Analysis and its interactions with Partial Differential Equations, Operator Theory and Functional Analysis. Pseudo-Differential Operators, Analysis of operators on Lie groups and manifolds

Dr Alexandre De Zotti
Research Associate

Holomorphic dynamical systems
Dr Martin Taylor 

Dr Martin Taylor
Research Associate

Partial differential equations, general relativity and relativistic kinetic theory

Research students

Rauan Akylzhanov Prof. M. Ruzhansky Analysis on manifolds
Tom Baker Prof. M. Ruzhansky  
Massimiliano Esposito Prof. M. Ruzhansky Analysis on manifolds
Thomas Johnson Dr G. Holzegel PDEs and GR
B. Khoi Nguyen Prof. M. Ruzhansky Analysis on manifolds
Mohammad Pedramfar Dr D. Cheraghi Renormalisation operators in analytic dynamics
Chiara Taranto Prof. M. Ruzhansky Analysis on manifolds
Yong Won Prof. B. Zegarlinski Functional analysis, probability theory, analysis in infinite dimensional spaces, Gibbs measures, stochastic dynamics
Nurgissa Yessirkegenov Prof. M. Ruzhansky  

Former academic/research staff

Former research students

  • Dr Frantisek Zak (PhD awarded in 2016, thesis: Long time behaviour of infinite dimensional stochastic processes, supervisor: Professor B. Zegarlinski)
  • Dr Xing Liu (PhD awarded in 2015, thesis: Kolmogorov Superposition  Theorem and its Applications, supervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski) 
  • Dr Lukas Schimmer  (PhD awarded in December 2013, thesis: Spectral Inequalities for Discrete and Continuous Differential Operators, supervisor: Prof. A. Laptev), went on a postdoctoral research position at Princeton University.
  • Dr David Rottensteiner (PhD awarded in 2014, thesis: Time-frequency analysis on the Heisenberg group, supervisor: Prof. M. Ruzhansky), went on a postdoctoral research position at Nuhag, Vienna.
  • Dr Donal Connolly  (PhD awarded in 2014, thesis: Pseudo-Differential Operators on Homogeneous Spaces, supervisor: Prof. M. Ruzhansky) 
  • Dr Arman Sahovic  (PhD awarded in 2013, supervisor: Prof. Ari Laptev)
  • Dr Usman Muhammad (PhD awarded in 2012, thesis: Trace formulae and spectral inequalities for a class of differential operators, supervisor: Prof. Ari Laptev)
  • Dr Vasilis Kontis  (PhD awarded in 2011, thesisFunctional and Isomperimetric Inequalities for Probability Measures on H-type Groups, supervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski)
  • Dr James Inglis  (PhD awarded in 2010, thesis: Coercive Inequalities for Generators of Hörmander Typesupervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski)
  • Dr Ioannis Papageorgious  (PhD awarded in 2009, thesis: The log-Sobolev Inequality in Infinite Dimensionssupervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski)
  • Dr Graeme Andrews (PhD awarded in 2009, thesisSG Fourier Integral Operators with Closure under Composition, supervisor: Prof. M. Ruzhansky)
  • Dr Lihu Xu  (PhD awarded in 2007, thesisNonlinear Problems in Infinite Interacting Particule Systemssupervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski)
  • Dr James G. Smith (PhD awarded in 2006, thesisGlobal Time Estimates for Solutions to Higher Order Strictly Hyperbolic Partial Differential Equations, supervisor: Prof. M. Ruzhansky)
  • Dr Maryam Alrashed  (PhD awarded in 2006supervisor: Prof. B. Zegarlinski)


  • Wagner Almeida De Moraes (University of Curitiba, Brazil), Sep 2017 - Mar 2018
  • Daulti Verma (Miranda House, University of Delhi, India), July 2017 - June 2018
  • Aparajita Dasgupta (India), Aug 2017 - July 2018
  • Dr Niyaz Tokmagambetov (Kazakh National University, Kazakhstan), 4 April 2016 - 3 April 2017
  • Dr Gulzat Nalzhupbayeva (Kazakh National University, Kazakhstan), 4 April 2016 - 3 April 2017
  • Prof. Marius Mantoiu (Chile), 4-20 April 2016
  • Dr Ville Turunen (Aalto, Finland), 3-20 April 2016
  • Prof. Alexander Cardona(U. de Los Andes, Colombia), 20-28 March 2016
  • Prof. Nicola Garofalo (Padova, Italy), 1-5 February 2016
  • Prof. Arnaud Cheritat (Toulouse, France), 11-16 January 2016
  • Prof. Mitsuru Sugimoto (Nagoya U., Japan), 26 October - 2 November 2015
  • Prof. Alexander Cardona(U. de Los Andes, Colombia), 11-17 October 2015
  • Prof. Tokio Matsuyama (Chuo U., Japan), 15-22 August 2015
  • Prof. Hua Luo (Dongbei U. of Finance and Economics, Dalian, Liaoning, China), 25 April 2015 - 25 April 2016
  • LMS Fellow, Prof. Elijah Liflyand, (Bar-Ilan U.), 13 March - 2 April 2015
  • Prof. Sergio Spagnolo (U. of Pisa, Italy), 21-26 March 2015
  • Dr Yasuo Chiba (Tokyo University of Technology), 16-24 March 2015
  • Prof. Vesselin Petkov (Bordeaux U., France), 16-20 March 2015
  • Prof. Marius Mantoiu (U. of Chile), 3-12 February 2015
  • Haihui Wang (Beihang U., China), 2-20 February 2015
  • Prof. Naoto Kumano-go (Kogakuin U., Japan), 12-17 January 2015
  • Carlos Andres Rodriguez (U. los Andes, Bogota, Columbia), 11-19 January 2015
  • Prof. Tomasz Szarek (U. of Gdansk, Poland), 10-19 November 2014
  • Dr Jens Wirth (Stuttgart U., Germany), 20-26 September 2014
  • Sino-UK fellow, Prof. Baoxiang Wang (Peking U.), August - September 2014
  • Mingjuan Chen (Peking U., CHina), July - December 2014
  • Nelder Fellow, Prof. Matania Ben-Artzi (Hebrew U. of Jerusalem), 15 February - 30 June 2014
  • Prof. Alexander Its (Indinianapolis U., US), 18 - 28 June 2014
  • Ilya Sevrygin (Kazakh National U.), 24 March - 22 June 2014
  • Prof. Tokio Matsuyama (Chuo U., Japan), 14 - 21 March 2014
  • Prof. Clotilde Fermanian Kammerer (U. Paris Est, France), 5 - 7 March 2014
  • Prof. Dominique Bakry (Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse, France), 2 - 21 March 2014
  • Prof. Paula Cerejeiras (Aveiro U., Portugal), 24 February - 9 March 2014
  • Prof. Uwe Kähler (Aveiro U., Portugal), 24 February - 9 March 2014
  • Dr Yasuo Chiba (Tokyo U. of technology, Japan), 22 February - 18 March 2014

For visitors before 2014, please see the group's seminars calendar.