The Advisory Board comprises senior figures from the field of security and innovation, drawn internally and externally from both industry and academia. The Board provides guidance and advice relating to the strategic direction of the Institute, and provides feedback to the College leadership.

Sir Kevin Tebbit KCB CMG
Chair, Ascot Barclay Group and UK Executive Vice President, AECOM Corp

Sir Kevin’s career in Government spanned defence, intelligence and the diplomatic service. After 10 years in policy posts at the MOD, he transferred in 1979 to the Diplomatic Service, where he held senior positions at home and abroad, including in NATO, Turkey and the United States, and finally as Deputy Under Secretary for Defence and Intelligence.

After a short period as Director of GCHQ, he was the Permanent Secretary at the MOD from 1998, retiring in 2005. He is a visiting Professor at King's College London and a Senior Associate Fellow at RUSI. Kevin chairs the Ascot Barclay Group and is the UK executive vice president (defence and government) for AECOM Corporation. He is a governor of the Ditchley Foundation and a non-executive director of Smiths Group Plc,  and represents the defence and security sectors on various governmental bodies dealing with export promotion.

Professor Anthony Finkelstein CBE FREng
Chief Scientific Adviser for National Security to HM Government

Anthony Finkelstein was appointed Chief Scientific Adviser for National Security in December 2015.

His research is based at The Alan Turing Institute and he holds a Chair in Software Systems Engineering at University College London (UCL). He is a visiting professor at Imperial College London and at the National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng), an elected Member of Academia Europaea (MAE) and a Fellow of the City and Guilds of London Institute (FCGI). Prior to assuming his current role he was Dean of the UCL Faculty of Engineering Sciences and Head of UCL Computer Science.

His scientific work is in the broad area of systems engineering.

Paul Taylor FREng
Partner, UK Head of Cyber Security, KPMG LLP

Paul Taylor leads KPMG’s Information Protection and Business Resilience practice in the UK.

Prior to joining KPMG, Paul held positions as deputy Managing Director at AWE plc, responsible for providing the AWE Board and UK Ministry of Defence with assurance of delivery of the c. £1Bn pa nuclear warhead programme; Director General of Technology and Chief Information Officer (CIO) in a Central Government Department, where he was a member of both ExCo and the main board; Director General of Strategic Technologies and then Director General of Equipment in MOD; Senior Responsible Owner (SRO) for the UK’s Future Nuclear Deterrent.

Paul was the first Chief Executive of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl). The post carried responsibility for all elements of defence research and the 3000 staff that were retained within government following the split of MOD R&D activities into QinetiQ and Dstl. Prior to this, he was the Director of Chemical and Biological Defence at Porton Down, with operational and line responsibility for the site, its activities and people.

Sir Peter Knight FRS
Senior Research Investigator in the Department of Physics, Imperial College London and Chair of the Quantum Metrology Institute, NPL

Peter Knight retired in 2010 as Deputy Rector (Research) at Imperial College, becoming Professor Emeritus in Quantum Optics. He was knighted in 2005 for his work in optical physics. He was until 2008 Principal of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and previously Head of the Physics Department from 2001 to 2005. Sir Peter is a Past-President of the Optical Society of America and was for 7 years a member of their Board of Directors. He was Editor of the Journal of Modern Optics from 1987 to 2006 and is Editor of Contemporary Physics.

Sir Peter previously chaired the Defence Scientific Advisory Council at the UK MoD and served as Chief Scientific Advisor at the UK National Physical Laboratory until 2005.

He has won a number of prizes and awards including the Thomas Young Medal and the Glazebrook Medal of the Institute of Physics and the Ives Medal of the OSA. In 2010 Sir Peter was appointed the first Director of the Royal Society's Kavli International Centre at Chicheley Hall, Buckinghamshire.

Professor Washington Ochieng FREng
Head, Centre for Transport Studies, Imperial College London

Professor Washington Yotto Ochieng is the Head of the Centre for Transport Studies and Chair of Positioning and Navigation Systems in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Imperial College London. He is also the Director of the Imperial College Engineering Geomatics Group (ICEGG).

Professor Ochieng's research interests are in the design of positioning and navigation systems for land, sea and air applications; Air Traffic Management (ATM) and Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS). He has made significant contributions to major international projects including the design of the European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS) and GALILEO, GNSS measurement error modelling, specification of aircraft trajectory mangement tools for the Single European Sky's ATM Research (SESAR) programme, and integrated positioning and navigation systems for for many applications including ITS.

Auriol Stevens
Director, Restoration Partners Ltd and CEO VTC Group

Auriol Stevens was appointed CEO and Director of the Virtual Technology Cluster Group (VTC Group) in July 2015. The VTC Group, which launched in March 2016, is an organisation that brings together key elements of the UK’s technology ecosystem enabling tech start-ups and SMEs to scale up and gain access to the supply chains of multinational companies. Auriol currently manages the first application of the model, the Lockheed Martin Virtual Technology Cluster.

Since spinning out the VTC Group, Auriol remains a Director at Restoration Partners, the Technology Merchant Bank, that works alongside visionary entrepreneurs in the dynamic, high-value, technology sector. Working at executive and board level, Auriol supported entrepreneurial leaders in the identification, formulation and execution of an exit strategy.

Auriol graduated with an LLB (Hons) from Sussex University in 2005 and she is also an Associate Member of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment (ACSI).

Professor David Gann CBE
Vice President (Innovation), Imperial College London

Professor David Gann supports the President by shaping the vision, strategy and innovation agenda for Imperial, and the development of its new 25-acre White City Campus. David took up this post in April 2013. He was previously Deputy Principal for Research and Business Engagement, Imperial College Business School.

David holds the Chair in Innovation and Technology Management at Imperial College Business School and Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Imperial College London. David is the recipient of the 2014 Tjalling C. Koopmans Asset Award, for extraordinary contributions to the economic sciences. David was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2010 Queen's Birthday Honours for services to engineering.