Imperial Sports awards

Thursday 20 June 2019, Copthorne Tara Hotel from 18.30

Click here to buy your Sports Awards Ticket!Click here to download the Imperial Sports Awards 2019 Shortlist [PDF ]

Event details

Date: Thursday 20 June 2019

Venue: Copthorne Tara Hotel, Kensington 

Time: 18.30pm onwards 

The evening will consist of:

  • A drinks reception
  • 3 course meal with wine
  • Awards
  • Special guest speaker Q and A

On Thursday 20 June 2019, trainers were swapped for tuxedos and basketballs for ball gowns to celebrate Imperial Sports Awards in style! After last year's event being a sell out, we were joined by over 200 students and staff again this year, making it the highlight to finish the sporting year. The awards evening is an annual event we deliver to recognise and celebrate the student sporting achievements over the academic year.  We were joined by a special guest to host and a guest speaker to support the evening. 

This year we had over ten awards to present. The selection of awards are designed to look at not only the results on the surface, but also to recognise and reward the work put in behind the scenes. Nominations for the awards are now closed. 

Awards and Previous Winners

Outstanding Contribution

This award recognises an individual who has delivered above and beyond expectations within sport and physical activity within the College. 

Coach of the Year

This award recognised the contribution of a coach who has gone above and beyond what is expected of them and aided the development and success of the club.


Charlotte Barratt - Cross County and Athletics
Spencer Horsey - American Football
Blaine Landis - Basketball
Kieran McMorran - Women's Football
Edmund Jones - Triathlon

Winner: Spencer Horsey


Club of the Year

This award recognises a sports club’s contribution to sport at Imperial within the past academic year, acknowledging their dedication and commitment to raising the profile of the club and having a positive impact on its members and wider Imperial community.


ICSM Netball
IC Netball
IC Women's Club

Winner: Basketball

Participation Award

This award recognised an individual who has shown exemplary commitment and dedication to taking part in sport and physical activity programmes that have been delivered this year and taken the time to promote Move Imperial during the season.


Emily Mayne - ICSM Netball
Matthew Bennion - Lawn Tennis
Daniel Si Zhi Wen - Dodgeball
Martina Milighetti - Volleyball
Mark Pollock - Triathlon

Winner: Matthew Bennion


Sportsman of the Year

This award recognised an individual who has excelled within their sport performing at an elite level nationally and internationally over the past year.


Joaquin Bello - Volleyball
Liem Bui-Le - Weightlifting
Aaron Lee - Fencing
Olalekan Ogunlana - Men's Hockey
Dan Rowden - Cross Country & Athletes

Winner: Joaquin Bello

Sportswoman of the Year

This award recognised an individual who has excelled within their sport performing at an elite level nationally and internationally over the past year.


Dani Chattenton - Cross Country & Athletics
Yewande Adesida - Cycling
Abigail Dow - Women's Rugby
Sarah Grover - Triathlon

Winner: Dani Chattenton

Team of the Year

This award recognises a student sports team that has shown commitment and dedication throughout the season and have produced outstanding sporting performances.


Imperial Devils - Ice Hockey
IC Squash Men's 1st
Basketball Women's 1st
Ultimate Frisbee Women's 1st
Volleyball Men's 1st

Winner: Volleyball Men's 1st

Sports Club Member of the Year

A member of Club Sport who, over the past year, has shown exceptional dedication to their club(s), the University and sport as a whole. 


Emma Landry - Tennis
Ramon Fernandez Mir - Swim & Waterpolo
Lucia Cilloni - Volleyball
Livia Robic - Riding & Polo

Winner: Lucia Cilloni

Rising Star

This award recognised a student in their first year of membership to a club. They have shown outstanding dedication, enthusiasm and passion throughout and have shown themselves to be a promising member of the sporting community for the future. 


Amy Cheng - Fencing
Alvaro Portugal - IC Hockey
Sebastian Fortineau - IC Boat Club
Eshaya Lim - Fencing
Roberto Sarosi - Fencing

Winner: Sebastian Fortineau


The awards ready to go.

Smiling students

Students enjoying the champagne reception.

Matt Richardson

Our host, Matt Richardson welcoming the audience.

Carly Telford

Carly Telford, sporting guest taking questions from the audience and presenting the awards.

Club of the Year

ACC Lawn Tennis winning Club of the Year


Room set up ready for the awards at Copthorne Tara, Kensington