You can access support in your academic department from a number of different sources and you can choose the one that is right for you. Sometimes these roles might differ, depending on whether you are an undergraduate or postgraduate student. This page gives an overview of the different types of support available to you and lists some of the relevant staff contact details for your department.

Who's who?

Personal Tutors and Supervisors

All undergraduate students and some postgraduate (taught) students, dependant on department, are assigned a Personal Tutor for the duration of their studies.

Your Personal Tutor is an academic member of staff in your department who is there to help you develop academically, personally and professionally throughout your studies. Personal Tutors can offer you support and signpost you to one of the College’s specialist services if you are experiencing any difficulties.

All postgraduate (research) students and some postgraduate (taught) students are assigned a Supervisor who is there to provide academic guidance, and support with the transition into research-led work.

Your Supervisor is an academic member of staff in your department, who is there to support you during your studies and provide feedback on your work. Supervisors can offer you support and signpost you to one of the College’s specialist services if you are experiencing any personal difficulties.

Smiling female staff member

Senior Tutors

Your academic department will have one or more Senior Tutors, usually one for each different level of study.  Your Senior Tutor is an academic member of staff who has overall responsibility for the pastoral care of students in your department. They support Personal Tutors and Supervisors in fulfilling their roles and provide additional guidance and oversight in more complex situations.

If you’re not comfortable talking to your Personal Tutor about a problem you are facing, whether it’s academic or personal, you can speak to your Senior Tutor. You can find out who your Senior Tutor is below.

Who's who cont

Faculty Senior Tutors

Faculty Senior Tutors are responsible for ensuring the delivery of consistent, high quality support for students in the departments that sit within their faculty. They work closely with the College’s specialist support services and support Senior Tutors in fulfilling their roles. They also provide support directly to students who have more complex concerns or situations. The Faculty Senior Tutors are:

 
Students talking in lecture theatre

Student Representatives

Each degree course cohort elects student representatives who work with College staff to shape and improve the student experience. If you have feedback about your course, or another aspect of life in your department, make sure you talk to your student representative. They have regular opportunities to provide student feedback to departmental staff (anonymously where appropriate). Find out who your student representatives are.

Professional Services Staff

Each department has one or more members of staff in the professional services team who are able to provide information, signposting and support to students who are experiencing difficulty. This typically includes the following roles (although specific roles vary between departments):

  • Undergraduate/Postgraduate Administrators
  • Office Managers
  • Liaison Officers/Student Wellbeing Advisors

If you have any questions or concerns about your course, your department or just need some advice on where to get the right support, members of your departmental professional services team will be able to help you.

Your Senior Tutor contacts

Faculty of Engineering (undergraduate)

DepartmentNameEmail
Aeronautics  Dr Sylvain Laizet  aero.seniortutor@imperial.ac.uk
Bioengineering

 Dr Emm Drakakis

 Dr Claire Higgins (deputy senior tutor)

 e.drakakis@imperial.ac.uk

 c.higgins@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering  Dr Andreas Kogelbauer  a.kogelbauer@imperial.ac.uk 
Civil and Environmental Engineering  Dr Anderw Phillips  andrew.phillips@imperial.ac.uk 
Computing

 Dr Maria Valera-Espina

 Thomas Lancaster (deputy senior tutor)

 m.valera-espina@imperial.ac.uk

 t.lancaster@imperial.ac.uk

Dyson School of Engineering  Dr Mazdak Ghajari  m.ghajari@imperial.ac.uk 
Earth Science and Engineering

 Dr Emma Passmore

 Dr Elizabeth Day (deputy senior tutor)

 e.passmore@imperial.ac.uk 

 e.day@imperial.ac.uk

Electrical and Electronic Engineering  Mrs Esther Perea  e.perea@imperial.ac.uk 
Materials   Dr Paul J. Franklyn  p.franklyn@imperial.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering 

 Dr Andrew (Fred) Marquis

 Dr Julie Varley (deputy senior tutor)

 a.marquis@imperial.ac.uk

 j.varley@imperial.ac.uk

 
Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Engineering (postgraduate)

DepartmentNameEmail
 Aeronautics

 Dr Francesco Montomoli (PGT

 Dr Paul Bruce (PGR)

 f.montomoli@imperial.ac.uk

 p.bruce@imperial.ac.uk

 Bioengineering  Dr Tom Ellis (PGT and PGT  t.ellis@imperial.ac.uk 
 Chemical Engineering  Prof Paul Luckham (PGT and PGT)   p.luckham01@imperial.ac.uk
 Civil and Environmental Engineering  Dr Ana M Ruiz-Teran   a.ruiz-teran@imperial.ac.uk
 Computing

 Dr Fariba Sadri (PGT) 

 Prof Sophia Drossopolou (PGR)

 f.sadri@imperial.ac.uk

 s.drossopolou@imperial.ac.uk 

 Dyson School of Engineering

 Mr Andy Brand (PGT)

 Dr Pelin Demirel (PGR)

 andrew.brand@imperial.ac.uk 

 p.demirel@imperial.ac.uk

 Earth Science and Engineering

 Dr Peter Fitch (PGT)

 Prof Peter Allison (PGR

 p.fitch@imperial.ac.uk

 p.allison@imperial.ac.uk

 Electrical and Electronic Engineering  Dr Imad Jaimoukha  i.jaimoukha@imperial.ac.uk
 Materials

 Prof Alexandra Porter (PGT)

 Prof Aron Walsh (PGR)

 a.porter@imperial.ac.uk

 a.walsh@imperial.ac.uk

 Mechanical Engineering

 Dr Ulrich Hansen (PGT)

 Prof Ferdinando Rodriguez Y Baena (PGR)

 Dr Amir Kadiric (deputy PGR senior tutor)

 u.hansen@imperial.ac.uk

 f.rodriguez@imperial.ac.uk

 a.kadiric@imperial.ac.uk

PGT = Postgraduate Taught

PGR = Postgraduate Research

Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Medicine (undergraduate)


DepartmentNameEmail
 School of Medicine (Year 1)  Prof Mark Nelson  mark.nelson@imperial.ac.uk 
 School of Medicine (Year 2)  Prof Louise Donnelly  l.donnelly@imperial.ac.uk 
 School of Medicine (Year 3)  Prof Debbie Jarvis  d.jarvis@imperial.ac.uk
 School of Medicine (Year 4)  Dr Roshni Patel  roshni.patel@imperial.ac.uk 
 School of Medicine (Year 5)  Dr Graeme Wilson  g.wilson@imperial.ac.uk
 School of Medicine (Year 6)   Dr Mike Schachter   m.schachter@imperial.ac.uk 
 School of Medicine (Biomedical Sciences & Medical  Biosciences)  Dr Rebecca Salter  r.salter@imperial.ac.uk or rebecca.salter@nhs.net 
 School of Medicine (Director of Student Tutoring & Support)  Dr Julia Hillier  j.hillier@imperial.ac.uk
 National Heart and Lung Institute  Prof Uta Griesenbach  u.griesenbach@imperial.ac.uk
 School of Public Health  Dr Christina Atchison  christina.atchinson11@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Medicine (postgraduate)


Department(s)NameEmail
 Institute of Clinical Sciences

 Dr Simona Parrinello

 Dr Chris Speck

 simona.parrinello@imperial.ac.uk

 chris.speck@imperial.ac.uk

 Department of Brain Science

 Department if Metabolism

 Dr Wayne Mitchell (PGT)
 

 Dr Kevin Murphy (PGR)

 w.mitchell@imperial.ac.uk

 k.g.murphy@imperial.ac.uk

 Department of Infectious Disease

 Department of Immunology and Inflammation

 Dr Suzie Barr (PGT)

 Dr Kevin Murphy (PGR)

 s.barr@imperial.ac.uk

 k.g.murphy@imperial.ac.uk

 National Heart and Lung Institute  Dr Duncan Rogers  duncan.rogers@imperial.ac.uk 
 School of Public Health  Dr Christina Atchison  christina.atchinson11@imperial.ac.uk 
 Department of Surgey and Cancer

 Dr Alison Cambrey (PGT)

 Jennifer Simeon (PGR)

 a.cambrey@imperial.ac.uk

 j.simeon@imperial.ac.uk

PGT = Postgraduate Taught

PGR = Postgraduate Research

Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Natural Sciences (undergraduate)

DepartmentNameEmail
 Chemistry  Dr Rob Law  r.law@imperial.ac.uk
 Life Sciences

 Dr Stuart Haslam (Biochemistry)

 Prof Stephen Brickley (Biological Sciences)

 s.haslam@imperial.ac.uk

 s.brickley@imperial.ac.uk

 Mathematics  Dr Christopher Ford  c.ford@imperial.ac.uk 
 Physics  Dr Ingo Mueller-Wodarg  ph.stutor@imperial.ac.uk 
 
Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Natural Sciences (postgraduate)

DepartmentNameEmail
 Centre for Environmental Policy  Dr Ioannis Kountaris  i.kountouras@imperial.ac.uk 
 Chemsitry

 Dr Rob Davies

 Dr Keith Willison

 r.davies@imperial.ac.uk 

 keith.willison@imperial.ac.uk

 Life Sciences

 Dr Neil Fairweather (South Kensington)

 Dr Julia Schroeder (South Kensington)

 n.fairweather@imperial.ac.uk 

 julia.schroeder@imperial.ac.uk 

 Mathematics  Dr Anthony Bellotti  a.bellotti@imperial.ac.uk 
 Physics  Dr Arnaud Czaja  a.czaja@imperial.ac.uk 
Summary of the table's contents

Business School & Educational Development Unit

DepartmentNameEmail
 PG Research Tutor, Doctoral Programme & MRes   Dr Martin Haugh   m.haugh@imperial.ac.uk 
 Finance Suite  Prof Maurizio Zollo    m.zollo@imperial.ac.uk 
 Management Masters

 Dr Haveen Chugh 

 Mr Colin Love

 h.chugh@imperial.ac.uk 

 c.love@imperial.ac,uk

 Specialised Masters  Prof James Barlow    j.barlow@imperial.ac.uk 
 Professional Development and Careers Specialised Masters  Ms Marie-Jo Wilson   marie.wilson@imperial.ac.uk 
 Educational Development Unit  Ms Kate Ippolito   k.ippolito@imperial.ac.uk 
Summary of the table's contents