Following Departmental heats, 11 students took part in Imperial's inaugural 3 Minute Thesis competition final on Wednesday 11 June 2014 at 14.00.

The eleven finalists were:

  • Ian Harrison (Medicine)
  • Paola Boscolo (Business School)
  • Anna Cocking (National Heart and Lung Institute)
  • Samuel Cooper (Materials)
  • Gordon Inggs (Electrical and Electronic Engineering)
  • Tina Khan (NHLI)
  • Tomaz Kostrzewski (Life Sciences)
  • Ruxandra Luca (Business School)
  • Hikmatali Shariff (Physics)
  • James Semple (Physics)
  • Jasmine Sze (Chemistry)

After careful consideration, the judges awarded the following prizes:

  • 1st Place - Anna Cocking, NHLI
  • 2nd Place - Samuel Cooper, Materials
  • 3rd Place - Hikmatali Shariff Physics

Anna Cocking went on to represent the College at the national UK final, held at the Vitae Researcher Development Conference on 9 September 2014.