Terms of reference


(a) Initial vetting of the application for DSc to establish if it can proceed

(b) Placement of the application with the appropriate Faculty review panel

(c) Communication with the external referees (chosen by the Faculty panel)

(d) Discussion of the referees’ comments and final decision on the award of the degree 

Constitution and membership


  • Vice Provost (Education) as Chair
  • Director of the Graduate School
  • Four other senior members of academic staff (as nominated by the President)
  • Academic Registrar (or nominee) as Secretary
Membership (academic year 2019/20)
Mr David Ashton Academic Registrar as Secretary and Acting Chair
Professor Neil Alford Associate Provost (Academic Planning)
Professor Anne Dell Professor of Life Sciences
Professor Richard Kitney Professor of BioMedical Systems Engineering
Professor Myra McClure Professor of Retrovirology
Enter table footer here
Summary of the table's contents