Terms of reference

  • To oversee the development and implementation of the College’s Learning and Teaching Strategy, ensuring alignment with College Strategy, the Academic Regulations and the Academic Standards Framework (ASF).
  • To proactively identify, support and promote innovations in learning,teaching and assessment.
  • To consider the evaluation of various approaches to curriculum design, delivery and assessment, ensuring that the impact on different student groups is understood and that the results are used to inform future practice.
  • To communicate and promote the profile of learning and teaching and the student experience at Imperial College.
  • To engage with and recommend action as appropriate to address key themes emerging from internal and external surveys of students.
  • To advise on the College’s Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) submission and to support work to address issues arising from the TEF.
  • To consider responses to external consultations on matters relating to learning and teaching.
  • To identify best practice from across the sector that can inform enhancement within College.
  • To ensure alignment of the ASF with the Student Information Management Programme (SIMP) process, Specifically, but not limited to, the Academic Programme Lifecycle (APL) work stream.
  • To receive and consider reports from the Online Learning Innovation Group (OLIG) and the I-Explore Module Innovation Group (IMIG).


Reports to Senate

Constitution and membership


  • Vice-Provost (Education) as Chair;
  • Assistant Provost (Learning and Teaching);
  • Director of the Graduate School;
  • a senior representative with a responsibility for educational leadership from each faculty nominated by the Dean;
  • Director of Educational Development;
  • Director of the Graduate School;
  • Director of Strategic Planning;
  • Academic Registrar;
  • Head of Academic Services;
  • Head of Strategic Projects, Education Office;
  • Deputy President (Education) ICU;
  • Chair of QAEC
Membership (Academic year 2019/20)
Professor Simone Buitendijk Vice Provost (Education) (Chair)
Professor Alan Spivey Assistant Provost (Learning & Teaching)
Professor Xiao Yun Xu 
Director of the Graduate School
Professor Omar Matar Vice Dean (Education) for the Faculty of Engineering
Professor Emma McCoy Vice Dean (Education) for the Faculty of Natural Sciences
Mr Martin Lupton Vice Dean (Education) for the Faculty of Medicine
Dr Edgar Meyer Associate Dean UG Programmes and Education Quality for the Business School
Professor Martyn Kingsbury Director of Educational Development as CHERS/CLCC Representative
Ashley Brooks Deputy President (Education) for Imperial College Union
Emma Caseley Head of Strategic Projects, Education Office
Dr Malcolm Edwards Director of Strategic Planning
David Ashton Academic Registrar / Chair of QAEC
Judith Webster Head of Academic Services
Lucy Heming Senior Assistant Registrar (Quality Assurance & Enhancement) as Secretary


Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates (Academic year 2019/20)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2019/20)
12 September 2019 29 August 2019
07 November 2019 24 October 2019
12 December 2019 28 November 2019
23 January 2020 09 January 2020
05 March 2020 20 February 2020
02 April 2020 19 March 2020
14 May 2020 30 April 2020
04 June 2020 21 May 2020
30 July 2020 16 July 2020
Summary of the table's contents
Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. Items to be recommended to Senate cannot be considered at the final meeting of the academic year.


Academic year 2018/19

Academic year 2017/18

Academic year 2016/17