QTower

The Registry is based on Level 3 of the Sherfield Building at the South Kensington Campus and is responsible for the administration of all academic matters, from student registration through to examinations and timetabling.  

Academic Quality and Standards

Quality Assurance and Enhancement

The Quality Assurance and Enhancement Team is responsible for ensuring academic quality and standards in order to maintain the College's reputation of a strong academic standing. The team ensures that the College is compliant with the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) UK Quality Code for Higher Education. Their work consists of the approval of new programmes, reviewing and developing quality assurance policies and procedures, sharing good practice, QAA Higher Education Reviews, as well as managing student surveys.

The Quality Assurance and Enhancement Team is also responsible for the efficient operation of the College's academic governance arrangements.  Their remit includes responsibility for the College's Academic and Examinations Regulations, annual monitoring and periodic review of programmes and the management of the external examining system for undergraduate and Master's level programmes.

 The team service the following committees: 

  • Senate
  • Quality Assurance & Enhancement Committee
  • Postgraduate Research Quality Committee
  • Programmes Committee 
  • Learning and Teaching Committee

For more information, please see Academic Governance

For queries about the College's regulations, quality assurance policies and procedures, please contact the Quality Assurance and Enhancement team.

Contact:
RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Director of Academic Quality and Standards  Judith Webster  j.webster@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 9685
 Deputy Director of Academic Quality and Standards  Lucy Heming  l.heming@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8126
 Assistant Registrar (Quality Assurance &   Enhancement)  Men-Yeut Wong men-yeut.wong@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 7467
 Assistant Registrar (Monitoring & Review)  Scott Tucker  scott.tucker@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 5916
 Assistant Registrar (Academic Standards)  Kirstie Ward  kirstie.ward@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 5917
 Quality Assurance Administrator (External   Examiners)  Michelle Galloway  m.galloway@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8993
 Quality Assurance Administrator (Student   Satisfaction)  Alexis Hillier a.hillier@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8013
 Student Casework Administrator  Habiba Khanom  h.khanom@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 0737
Contact details for the Quality Assurance and Enhancement team
 
Student Surveys

The Quality Assurance and Enhancement Team are also responsible for internal and external College surveys such as UG and PG Student Online Evaluation (SOLE) module/lecturer evaluations, Postgraduate Research Experience survey (PRES) and Postgraduate Taught Experience survey (PTES) - but not for the National Student Survey (NSS). NSS is the responsibility of the Registry's HESA and Data Team. For more information, please see Student Records and Data.

 
TeamEmailExt.
Student Surveys surveys.registrysupport@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 8013

 

Student Placements and Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP)

The Placement team provide:

  • Co-ordination of placement learning policy, good practice and resources for the effective management of placements.
  • Advice and guidance to both staff and students on matters related to student placements managed by the College, specialising in providing (with academic departments) support for the undergraduate year abroad.
  • Co-ordination for Key Action 1 of the European Union’s Erasmus+ programme (student and staff mobility); includes liaising with the Student Financial Support Team on Erasmus mobility grants, and managing Erasmus staff teaching and training grants.
  • Central servicing of student exchange agreements (Erasmus and non-Erasmus) where the activity is curriculum-based (UG/PGT) or PhD-based; institutional contact for all student exchange partners.
  • Co-ordination for the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Programme (UROP).

The Assistant Registrar (Placements) is Institutional Contact for:

  • Placement Learning policy and management good practice
  • Erasmus+ Key Action 1
  • Student Exchange Agreements (Curriculum and PhD-based)
  • UROP
  • ASET (The Work Based and Placement Learning Association)
  • HEURO (The Association of UK Higher Education European Officers)

For more information, please see Placements.

If you are a student, currently studying for a degree elsewhere, who is interested in studying on a non-degree basis for a 3-12 month period (perhaps via an exchange programme) or undertaking a research period in one of our many world class research groups please read: Guidance for Undergraduates or Guidance for Postgraduates.

 Contact:
TeamNameEmailTelephone

Placement opportunities enquiries
Assistant Registrar (Placements) 

Adrian Hawksworth   a.hawksworth@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8044

Receiving payments enquiries
Student Financial Support Team 

   student.funding@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 9014

Admissions and Student Support (International and Financial)

Admissions

The Admissions team are responsible for the receipt and processing of all applications to Imperial College. The teams within Admissions are split by faculties, whereby each team deals with admissions for each department. If you have submitted an application, have received an offer, are waiting for a decision on an application and you have a specific question relating to your application or offer, you should contact the appropriate Admissions team.

If you are sending hard copy documentation to an Admissions team, please mark it for the attention of the appropriate team and send to Registry, Imperial College London, Level 3 Sherfield Building, South Kensington Campus, London SW7 2AZ.

 

International Student Support

The International Student Support Team provides specialist immigration advice to prospective and current Imperial College students, with particular expertise in Tier 4 Student Visas, Student Visitor Visas and options to remain in the UK to work after study. This team also contributes to the College Welcome, running events for new international students, as well as other support activities throughout the year to enhance the international student experience. Please note that the team is not responsible for international student admissions. Therefore, we cannot provide course information or advice on entry requirements. If you have a query of this nature please contact the relevant Admissions Team.

You will receive a detailed response to immigration enquiries by completing the International Student Support Web Query Form.

 Contact:
TeamEmailTelephone
International Student Support  international@imperial.ac.uk    +44 (0)20 7594 8040

Student Financial Support

The Student Financial Support team is responsible for a advising and managing a variety of funding-related services available across the College to help support our students; these include:
 
·         Scholarships
·         Imperial Bursary
·         Government loans and grants for UK, US and Canadian students
·         NHS bursaries
·         Student Support Fund
·         Cost of Living in London estimations
·         Terms and conditions associated with receiving funding
 
For more information, please see Student Financial Support
 
Contact:
Job Title/RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Student Financial Support   online enquiry portal +44 (0)20 7594 9014
 Student Financial Support Manager  Thomas Pearson thomas.pearson@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 1339
 Student Financial Support Team Leader  Matthew Sheahan m.sheahan@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8122
Contact details for the Student Financial Support Team
 
 

Systems Configuration (Applications Management)

The Systems Configuration (Applications Management) team are responsible for the design and development of the College-wide new admissions software CRM Recruit. This includes training across the College and implementation of new functionality, testing monthly software upgrades and working with the supplier Ellucian to develop the product. 

Admissions Bulletins, guidance and training materials can be found here: Applications Management

Contact:
RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Systems Configuration (Applications Management)   ASK request (requires ICL log in)  +44 (0)20 7594 9000  (via ICT Service desk)
 Head of Systems Configuration   Cat Buckle c.buckle@imperial.ac.uk  
 Deputy Head of Systems Configuration  Gizel Keown g.keown@imperial.ac.uk  
Contact details for the Systems Configuration (Applications Management) team

Visa Compliance

The Visa Compliance Team is responsible for ensuring that the College maintains its Tier 4 Sponsor status with United Kingdom Visas and Immigration (UKVI). In order to achieve this the team is responsible for implementing and overseeing Tier 4 policy and procedures at the College. In addition, the team undertakes a number of visa compliance tasks including: visa checks at in- person registration, reporting changes of status to UKVI, ensuring the College meets UKVI record-keeping requirements and overseeing Tier 4 attendance monitoring.

Contact:
RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Visa Compliance    visacompliance@imperial.ac.uk  
 Visa Compliance Manager  Laura Brown  l.brown@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 0808
 Visa Compliance Officer  Jenny Patel  jenny.patel@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 8016
Contact details for the Visa Compliance team

Student Administration

Assessment Records

The Assessment Records team is responsible for key elements of the academic lifecycle related to examination and assessment results processing, PGR milestones (including processing examination entry for research degree students), as well as progression and award for undergraduate, postgraduate taught and postgraduate research students.

This includes the responsibility of accurate assessment results entry and management, and the production and delivery of degree award documentation. The team liaise with and support Faculty and Departmental Examination Boards. 

Contact and team information
RoleNameEmailTelephone
Degree Certificates   certificates@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 6087
Results   results@imperial.ac.uk  
Research Degrees  

research.degree@imperial.ac.uk

 
Head of Assessment Records Eleri Canning eleri.canning@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 6087
Senior Assessment Records Officer Claudia Minett c.minett@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 9711
Senior Assessment Records Officer Debbie Clarke d.clarke@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 9710
Research Degrees Assessment Officer Euan Roney e.roney@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 8037
Contact details for the Assessment Records Team

 

Business Development

The Business Development team are working with the Student Information Management Programme to deliver enhancements to operational processes and the user experience which will provide a more effective service to both staff and students at Imperial. The two areas are:

User Experience

This team leads on enhancing the student and staff experience through the development of the College student portal, My Imperial. They are also involved in the Student Administration Transformation Vision Group projects, which were established with the purpose of ensuring maximum benefit from the new student system.

Process Architecture

This team is responsible for developing comprehensive process documentation to support SIMP and the implementation of Banner® by Ellucian.

Contact and Team Information
Job TitleNameEmailTelephone
 Head of Business Development - User   Experience  James Hardy j.hardy@imperial.ac.uk  TBC
 Head of Business Development - Process   Architecture  Vanessa Gonzales v.gonzales@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 1400
Contact details for the Business Development team

Curriculum Data Management

The Curriculum Data Management team works with departments across College to capture, build and maintain programme and module data in the student system, Banner® by Ellucian.  The team also works closely with Quality Assurance, Student Records and Assessment Records teams within Registry to support the student academic lifecycle and ensure an accurate and up-to-date single source of truth is maintained.

 
Contact and team information
Job TitleNameEmailTelephone
 Head of Curriculum Data Management  Matt Sweeting m.sweeting@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8007
 Senior Curriculum Data Officer  Alice Dolan a.dolan@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 5912
 Curriculum Data Officer  Nathan Benson n.benson@imperial.ac.cuk  +44 (0)20 7594 5087
 Curriculum Data Officer  Moneth Lindayen m.lindayen@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 9276
 Curriculum Data Officer  Kemi Fadiya k.fadiya@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 5915
 Curriculum Data Officer  Steven Boyce s.boyce@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 5958
Summary of the table's contents

 

Student External Returns

The External Returns team is responsible for the external statutory reporting of Registry data. This includes preparing the annual submission to the Higher Education Statistics Agency of the largest external data return that institutions are required to make, the Student Record return - as well as the Aggregate Offshore student return and Unistats course data, which is displayed on the ‘Discover Uni‘ website. The team also liaise with Strategic Planning to ensure Registry student data is submitted accurately for the annual HESES return and the Medicine and Dentists return to the Office for Students.

The National Student Survey data, Freedom of Information requests involving Registry data, the annual College statistics, and ad-hoc departmental requests for Registry data are also prepared and managed by the Student External Returns team.

Contact and team information
RoleNameEmailTelephone
 External Returns Team    registrydata@imperial.ac.uk  
 Freedom of Information Requests    FOI@imperial.ac.uk  
 Head of Student External Returns  Mark Jones  mark.jones@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 0942
 Senior External Returns Officer  Linda Caine    
 Senior External Returns Officer  Seth Hartley    
 Senior External Returns Officer  Liz Maynard    
 Senior External Returns Officer  Sam Hesketh    
Summary of the table's contents

 

Student Records

The Student Records team is responsible for the administration and maintenance of student records for all students studying at the College, at all stages of the student lifecycle. This includes enrolments, programme transfers, interruptions of studies and withdrawals. The team also uses this information to fulfil reporting duties to the Student Loans Company, Transport for London and the UKVI, as well as other external bodies.

In addition, Student Records produces a variety of standard document requests for both current and previous students including council tax letters, standard statements of attendance and confirmation of degree letters and confirms qualifications via the Higher Education Degree Datacheck service.

For further information please refer to https://www.imperial.ac.uk/student-records-and-data/for-current-students/

Contact and team information
Job TitleNameEmailTelephone
Student Records    student.records@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 7268
Head of Student Records Joanne Harlow joanne.harlow@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 1381
Student Records Manager Tanya Hunt t.hunt@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 5887
Student Records Officer Callie Ifill sroteam3@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 6094
Student Records Officer Chloe Gooders sroteam4@imperial.ac.uk      +44 (0)20 7594 0743
Student Records Officer Lauren Preston sroteam1@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 9144
Student Records Officer Sally James sroteam2@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 8006
Student Records Administrator Allison Barnett student.records@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 8017
Student Records Administrator Josie Howard student.records@imperial.ac.uk    TBC
Contact details for the Student Records team
 

 

Student Systems

The Registry Systems team is responsible for providing first line support for all Registry associated systems which includes the main student administrative system (OSS), student reporting (ICA) and related interfaces.  This includes to put forward and manage any development enhancements.
 
The team plays a key role in strengthening Registry's information technology capabilities and are heavily involved in the project currently being undertaken to replace the College’s applicant and student administration system.
 
Contact:
Job Title/RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Student Systems    registry.systems@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 6361
 Head of Student Systems  Eleanor Grant  eleanor.grant@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0) 20 7594 1314
Contact details for the Student Systems team
 

Registry Management

Senior Management Team

Registry Senior Management Team is headed by the Academic Registrar and provides operational and strategic leadership of the Registry. The Management Team meets formally once a week and the team consists of:

Contact: 
RoleNameKey responsibilitiesEmailTelephone
Academic Registrar  David Ashton

Registry Leadership

david.ashton1@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 8055
Deputy Academic Registrar James Balloch

Registry Office Management

Strategic Projects

j.balloch@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 8054
Director of Central Timetabling Helena Smith

Central Timetabling

h.smith@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 1061
Director of Academic Quality and Standards Judith Webster 

Quality Assurance

Senate

Placements

Academic Standards Framework

j.webster@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 9685
Director of Admissions & Student Support Mel Williams

Admissions

International Student Support 

Student Financial Support

Systems Configuration (Applications Management)

Visa Compliance

mel.williams@imperial.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7594 8057 
 Director of Student Administration  Dan Todhunter  

Business Development

Curriculum Data Management

External Returns

Student Assessment Records

Student Records 

Systems

 daniel.todhunter@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 8008

If you are not sure who to contact please email your query to:  academic.registrar@imperial.ac.uk

Registry Office Management

The Registry Office Management team deals with the internal management of the Registry division covering staff related HR and finance, logistics, soft and hard services support. 

Contact:
Job TitleNameEmailTelephone
 Office Manager  Sue Otterwell s.otterwell@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 8124
 Assistant Office Manager  Claire Bouse c.bouse@imperial.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7594 9713
Contact details for the Office Management team

Timetabling

Timetabling

The Central Timetabling Support Office (CTSO) is responsible for coordinating and supporting the College’s annual timetabling process and ensuring that departmental practices are aligned with College policy and standards. The CTSO provides user support and training and manages user access to the College timetabling system and related software.  With a strong customer focus, the CTSO provides a quality assurance service in order to facilitate data transfers and ensure that timetabling data and outputs achieve excellence for the student and staff end-user.

For more information, please see Timetabling.

Contact:
RoleNameEmailTelephone
 Timetabling    timetabling@imperial.ac.uk   +44 (0)20 7594 5890
Contact details for the Central Timetabling Support Office