Stick people


This class covers information relating to the way the College is governed and how decisions are made. It includes information on the legal status of the College, information about the management structure of the College and the organisational structure, as well as a description of the work of each department and the names and responsibilities of key personnel. Faculty and department structures are included together with senior personnel being identified. It also includes terms of reference, membership and descriptions of boards and committees. In some instances information from committee minutes will be exempt from disclosure where it contains personal information, information that may damage the commercial interests of the College or that may compromise the safety of specific individuals.

Information block

Background to who we are

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine is one of the major research and teaching institutions in Europe. Founded in 1907, the College used to be part of the University of London but became an autonomous institution in July 2007. Responsibility for its educational strategy, policy and management is vested in the Council, which is the College’s governing body. The President, Professor Alice P. Gast, is the College’s academic head and chief executive.

The College’s three Faculties (Engineering, Natural Sciences and Medicine), together with its Business School, are based at the South Kensington Campus. Divisions of the Faculty of Medicine are also at campuses in Chelsea, Fulham, Hammersmith and Paddington, while the Faculty of Natural Sciences has some of its Departments at Silwood Park near Ascot in Berkshire. The College has some 15,000 students and 7,000 staff.

In its own right the College is one of the largest academic institutions in the UK as measured by turnover (some £556.2 million in 2006/07).

1.1 Legal Framework


The College endeavours to conduct its business in accordance with the seven Principles identified by the Committee on Standards in Public Life (selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership), and with the guidance to universities from the Committee of University Chairmen in its Guide for Members of HE Governing Bodies in the UK.

Imperial College is an independent corporation whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter granted under Letters Patent in 1907. In 2007 a Supplemental Charter and Statutes was granted by HM Queen Elizabeth II. This Supplemental Charter, which came into force on the date of the College's Centenary, 8th July 2007, established the College as a University with the name and style of "The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine".

InformationFormat and Charge
College Charter & Statutes  Central Secretariat - Charters, Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations - Free
The College is also subject to various Education Acts. The actual legislation is already publicly available, eg. on the HMSO (Her Majesty’s Stationery Office) website.  HMSO UK Leglisation website [external]
A table showing how to access different information

1.2 How the institution is organised

This section contains information relating to how the College’s management structure is organised and the function and purpose of each part of the management structure. It also contains information relating to how the individual units of the College are organised and where each unit fits in the overall structure.

The Charter and Statutes require the College to have three separate bodies, The Court, The Council and The Senate, each with clearly defined functions and responsibilities in relation to governance and management, to oversee and manage its activities.

InformationFormat and Charge
Information on the Court, which is a large, mainly formal body consisting of over 85 members appointed or elected by bodies representing educational, research, international, regional, local and staff constituencies.  Online - Free
Information on the Council, "the governing and executive body of the College"; which is responsible for the finance, property, investments and general business of the College, and for setting the general strategic direction of the institution. There are between 19 and 23 members of the Council, the majority of whom are lay members, including the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.  Online - Free
Information on the Senate, which is the academic authority of the College and draws its membership entirely from the staff and the students of the College. Its role is to direct and regulate the teaching and research work of the College.  Online - Free

Objectives on which the structure is based:

  • Strategic Plan
  • Faculty Plans

Strategic Plan page - Free

Faculty Plans page - Free


Organisational structure charts:

  • College Structure
  • Admin Divisions
  • Academic (via Faculty) Charts
  • Academic Support Services

Online - Free


Description of work and the responsibilities of units:

Departmental Web Pages

 Online - Free
A table with links to different resources

Information on the College’s mission statement, its quality assurance policies and procedures, and its learning and teaching strategy.

InformationFormat and Charge
The College’s mission statement Online - Planning (Free)
Relevant sections of the College’s corporate plan Online - Planning (Free)
Strategic Plan summary Strategic Plan Summary [pdf] - Planning (Free)
Statement of the College’s quality assurance policies and procedures Online - Registry (Free)
The College’s learning and teaching strategy and periodic reviews of progress Online - Centre for Educational Development (Free)
A table showing links to different resources

1.3 Location and contact details

Description: This Class contains information relating to the College's main organisational units and the roles of its principal officers.

InformationFormat and Charge
 About Imperial: Facts, figures and information about the College [Online] - About Imperial, Campus maps, term dates and events, facts and figures (Free)

The College’s main organisational units:

  • Faculties
  • Academic Support Services
  • Administrative Divisions
  • Departments and Divisions

[Online] - Faculties (Free)

[Online] - College Organisational Charts (Free)

[Online] - A-Z of Departments and Divisions (Free)

The roles of Senior Managers:

  • Rector & Principal Officers
  • HoDs
  • Heads of Admin

[Online] - Principal Officers (Free)

1.4 Organisations which the College has responsibility for, those it works in partnership with, those it sponsors and companies wholly owned by it

InformationFormat and Charge
ICON - a wholly-owned subsidiary of Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, established in 1990 to provide independent, confidential and authoritative consultancy advice and an analytical/testing service for industry, commerce and government agencies. [Online] - ICON (Free)
AHSC - Academic Health Sciences Centre [Online] - AHSC (Free)
Imperial Business Partners [Online] - Business Partners
A table showing links to different resources

1.5 Student activities

This section relates to information regarding the operation and activities of the Student Union and other clubs, associations and non-academic activities that are orgniased for or by the students.

InformationFormat and Charge
Student Union including clubs and societies and events [Online] - ICU (Free)