We have two engagement networks at Imperial that exist to share learning and collaboration in engagement across the College:

Societal Engagement Champions Network

Our Societal Engagement Champions Network includes two or more representatives from each academic department or institute – one from academia/research, and the other from professional services – as well as any departmental engagement practitioners. The network meets quarterly to discuss issues, updates and themes relevant to societal engagement, ranging from grant applications to equality, diversity and inclusion. The group also shares updates on engagement activities and opportunities to get involved. Members of this network champion the value and benefits of societal engagement within the College. They also act as a conduit between the central engagement teams and their department or team, helping to maintain connections, develop collaborative working and realise fundraising potential for engagement initiatives.

Societal Engagement Champions

Societal Engagement Champions

DepartmentAcademic champion/sProfessional champion/sEngagement practitioner/s
Aeronautics Siti Ros Shamsuddin    
Bioengineering Ian Radcliff, Juan Alvaro Gallego Lucy Foss Jayne Shaw
Brain Sciences   Hannah Gowland, Jennifer Podesta, Lauren Troy  
Business School James Barlow Jon Tucker, Ross Clark Evie Burrows-Taylor, Michael Mills, Paulina Socha
Centre for Environmental Policy
Audrey de Nazelle    Gia Pendred 
Chemical Engineering
Anna Hankin  Sara West   
Chemistry Claudia Contini  Sarah Al-Beidh  
Civil Engineering Ana Mijic  Sarah Willis  
Computing Soteris Demetriou    Jackie Bell 
Data Science Institute      
Design Engineering Billy Wu     
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Pantelis Georgiou   Kay Hancox 
Energy Futures Lab   Conor McNally  
Earth Science and Engineering Mark Sephton, Kathryn Hadler   Victoria Murphy 
Faculty of Natural Sciences     Becky Middleton, Claudia Cannon 
Grantham Institute Andreas Kafizas   Simon Levey, Abbie Stone
Institute of Clinical Sciences     Jay Stone, Ellie Cawthera
Immunology and Inflammation Alice Denton Dania Grant-Serroukh  
Imperial As One and Enterprise Margaret Lawrence     
Infectious Disease      
Institute for Molecular Science and Engineering   Steph Pendlebury Leah Adamson
Institute for Security Science and Technology      
Institute of Global Health Innovation Matt Harris Nicolette Davies Justine Alford
Life Sciences Roya Haghighat-Khah  Richard Bowman Anita Hall
Materials Julian Jones    Eleanora D'Elia
Mathematics Kevin Buzzard  Rusudan Svanidze, Anna Radomska  Sai Yoghananthan, Ella Robson, Charlotte Kestner 
Mechanical Engineering Guillermo Rein     
Metabolism, Digestion and Reproduction      
National Heart and Lung Institute Sara Rankin   Ellen Dowell
Postdoc and Fellows Development Centre    Ines Perpetuo  
Physics Mark Richards, Martin Archer   Simon Foster
Research Strategy Mark Bambury     
School of Public Health Mireille B. Toledano Jenna Mollaney Katherine Baker, Sabine van Elsband, Tabassum Iqbal, Maria Piggin, Diana Varaden
Surgery and Cancer Roger Kneebone, Tony Athersuch and Kelly Gleason   Anna Lawrence-Jones
       
 
Engagement practitioners

The Engagement Practitioners Network

This network meets every two months and is made up of members of staff from across the College who have engagement as part or all of their role. The purpose of this network is to share updates and best practice, as well as calls for support/advice on engagement projects and potential collaborations.

Engagement Practitioners

Engagement Practitioners

As well as the members listed below, the Public Engagement team are also part of this network.

DepartmentNameJob titleEmail
Centre for Environmental Policy Poppy Lakeman-Fraser Senior Project Coordinator p.lakeman-fraser@imperial.ac.uk
Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication Alexandra Fitzsimmons Senior Teaching Fellow a.fitzsimmons@imperial.ac.uk
Bioengineering  Jayne Shaw Admissions & Outreach Manager jayne.shaw@imperial.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering Sara West Communications Officer s.west@imperial.ac.uk
Community Engagement      
Community Engagement      
Computing Jackie Bell Senior Teaching Fellow jaclyn.bell@imperial.ac.uk
Earth Science and Engineering Victoria Murphy Liaison and Communications Manager v.murphy@imperial.ac.uk
Grantham Institute Simon Levey Communications Manager s.levey@imperial.ac.uk
Grantham Institute  Abbie Stone Media and Outreach Officer a.stone@imperial.ac.uk 
Grantham Institute Lindsey Wynton Media and Outreach Officer l.wynton@imperial.ac.uk
Infectious Diseases Roshni Mehta Communications/Project Manager roshni.mehta@imperial.ac.uk
Infectious Diseases      
Institute of Clinical Sciences Jay Stone Head of Communication and Engagement j.stone@lms.mrc.ac.uk
Institute of Clinical Sciences Ellie Cawthera Events and Engagement Manager e.cawthera@lms.mrc.ac.uk
Institute of Global Health Innovation / The Helix Centre Catherine Kilkenny Public Involvement and Engagement Officer cat@helixcentre.com
Institute of Global Health Innovation Anna Lawrence-Jones Patient and Public Involvement and Engagement Lead a.lawrence-jones@imprial.ac.uk
Institute of Infection Melanie Bradnam Institute Manager m.bradnam@imperial.ac.uk
Materials      
National Heart and Lung Institute Ellen Dowell Public Engagement Officer e.dowell@imperial.ac.uk 
Outreach Annalisa Alexander    a.alexander@imperial.ac.uk 
Outreach  Silje Anderson  Interdisciplinary Programme Manager  silje.anderson@imperial.ac.uk 
Outreach Melanie Botrill    m.botrill@imperial.ac.uk 
Outreach  Rebecca Holloway  Schools Partnership Coordinator (Secondary)  r.holloway@imperial.ac.uk 
Physics Simon Foster  Outreach Officer  s.foster@imperial.ac.uk 
School of Public Health Anastasia Alden Visiting Researcher p.lakeman-fraser@imperial.ac.uk
School of Public Health Katherine Baker Public and Patient Involvement Officer k.baker@imperial.ac.uk
School of Public Health Lucy Brown Research Assistant in Public Involvement and Engagement lucy.brown@imperial.ac.uk
School of Public Health Maria Piggin Partnerships and Training Manager  m.piggin@imperial.ac.uk
School of Public Health Sabine van Elsland External Communications and Relationships Manager  s.van-elsland@imperial.ac.uk
School of Public Health Kabelo Murray Research Associate Research Associate
School of Public Health Diana Varaden Research Associate  diana.varaden@imperial.ac.uk 
School of Public Health Halle Johnson Public Involvement Officer halle.johnson@imperial.ac.uk 
School of Public Health Dorota Chapko  Research Fellow  d.chapko@imperial.ac.uk 
 
Engagement practitioners