A young person speaks into a microphone

If you're looking to get involved with societal engagement and want to find out more, here are some key contacts for different areas of engagement.

If you'd like to be listed among the engagement contacts here, please get in touch.

Key engagement contacts

Want to find out about central College engagement activities, or how to support our work?

Get in touch with the central societal engagement team.

Public engagement with research

For enquiries regarding the Festival, Fringe and public engagement programmes, get in touch with the programmes team.

If you'd like to know more about our public engagement strategy, opportunities and initiatives, ask us.

Similarly, please contact us if you are considering applying for engagement funding, or are including engagement as part of a research proposal or pathways to impact statement. 

Schools outreach

Interested in how we work with schools and colleges, or would you like to support our work? Contact the Outreach team

You can also learn more about our schools outreach work.

Patient and public involvement/ engagement

Want to find more about patient and public involvement, how to get involved or collaborate with us? Contact the PPI team.


Community engagement

If you'd like to learn more about our work with the local community at White City or if you have ideas and suggestions, contact our community engagement team.

Societal Engagement Champions

Our Societal Engagement Champions Network runs across the College to stimulate and support collaborative working. The Network includes two representatives from each academic department – one from academia/research, and the other from professional services – as well as any departmental engagement practitioners. See who's your departmental representative below.

List of Societal Engagement Champions

Imperial College Business School

DepartmentAcademic Champion(s)Professional Champion(s)Engagement Practitioner(s)
 Business School  James Barlow Jon Tucker
 Julia McShane
Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Engineering

DepartmentAcademic Champion(s)Professional Champion(s)Engagement Practitioner(s)
 Aeronautics  Siti Ros Shamsuddin    

Aldo Faisal
Ian Radcliffe

 Lucy Foss  
 Chemical Engineering  Jerry Heng  Sara West  
 Civil Engineering  Ana Mijic

Ben Kidd

Sarah Willis

 Computing  Ben Glocker    Jackie Bell
 Design Engineering  Billy Wu  Sam McKenney  
 Department of Earth Science and Engineering  Becky Bell    Victoria Murphy
 Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering  Pantelis Georgiou    Kay Hancox
 Materials  Julian Jones    Eleonora D'Elia (mat. leave)
 Mechanical Engineering  Guillermo Rein  
 Institute for Molecular Science and Engineering    Steph Pendlebury
 Kieran Brophy 
Energy Futures Lab   Neasan O'Neill   
Data Science Institute      Anna Cupani 
Institute for Security Science and Technology      
Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Natural Sciences

DepartmentAcademic Champion(s)Professional Champion(s)Engagement Practitioner(s)
Faculty level    

Becky Middleton
Claudia Cannon

 Chemistry Claudia Contini   Sarah Al-Beidh (mat. leave) Mel Bottrill
 Life Sciences  

Roya Haghighat-Khah

 Richard Bowman

Anita Hall
Steve Connolly

 Mathematics Kevin Buzzard

Rusudan Svanidze
Thomas Brain
Anna Radomska

Sai Yoghananthan
Charlotte Kestner


Mark Richards
Simon Foster

 Centre for Environmental Policy  Audrey de Nazelle  Karen Lyle  
Grantham Institute  Andreas Kafizas  

Simon Levey
Abbie Stone

Summary of the table's contents

Faculty of Medicine

DepartmentAcademic Champion(s)Professional Champion(s)Engagement Practitioner(s)
 Institute of Clinical Sciences     Jenna Stevens-Smith
 Institute of Global Health Innovation  Matt Harris  Nicolette Davies

Anna Lawrence Jones
Justine Alford

 National Heart and Lung Institute  Sara Rankin    Ellen Dowell 
 School of Public Health

 Nathan Green
Mireille B. Toledano

Jenna Mollaney

Will Kendall
Sabine van Elsland

 Surgery and Cancer

Roger Kneebone
Toby Athersuch
Kelly Gleason
Venetia Wynter-Blyth

  Anna Lawrence Jones

Cross college champions

Postdoc and Fellows Development Centre Rachel Herries
Research Strategy   Mark Bambury
 Academic Partnerships  Emelia Gobbe