Seminars

In the Departmental Seminar series, we welcome speakers from other universities to share their research findings with the department to create a community of engagement and discussion. All research staff and PhD students are welcome to attend. Forthcoming seminars are below:

Autumn Term 2017

Date Time Venue Speaker/Title
Tue 03 Oct 16.30-17.45  LT2 Christian Leuz, Joseph Sondheimer Professor of International Economics, Finance and Accounting, Chicago Booth School of Business: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Wed 04 Oct 16.30-17.45  LT2 Albert Kyle, Charles E. Smith Chair Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 10 Oct 16.30-17.45  LT2 Joel Peress, The AXA Chaired Professor in Financial Market Risk: ‘Glued to the TV: Distracted Investors and Stock Market Liquidity’ (abstract)
Tue 17 Oct 16.30-17.45  LT2 Gary Gorton, Frederick Frank Class of 1954 Professor of Management & Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Wed 25 Oct 16.30-17.45  LT2 Andrew Caplin, Silver Professor of Economics: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 31 Oct 16.30-17.45 LT2 Carolin Pflueger, Assistant Professor of Finance: ‘Title’ (abstract
Tue 07 Nov 16.30-17.45 LT2 Nicolas Crouzet, Assistant Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 14 Nov 16.30-17.45  LTUG Jonathan Berk, A.P. Giannini Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 21 Nov 16.30-17.45  LTUG Vikrant Vig, Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 28 Nov 16.30-17.45 LTUG Johan Walden, Finance Group Chair, Associate Professor of Finance: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 05 Dec 16.30-17.45 LTUG Kelly Shue, Professor of Finance, Yale School of Management: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Tue 12 Dec 16.30-17.45 LTUG Nick Bloom, William D. Eberle Professor of Economics: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)
Wed 13 Dec 16.30-17.45 LTUG Ansgar Walther, Assistant Professor of Finance, University of Warwick: ‘Title TBC’ (abstract)

See previous seminars.

Spring & Summer Terms 2017

Date  Time Venue Speaker/Title
Tue 21 Feb 16.30-17.45 CANCELLED Tano Santos, David L. and Elsie M. Dodd Professor of Finance, Columbia Business School, New York
Tue 28 Feb 16.30-17.45 LTG Pierre Collin-Dufresne, Professor of Finance, Swiss Finance Institute: ‘Activism, Strategic Trading, and Liquidity’ (abstract)
Tue 07 Mar 16.30-17.45 LT2 Subra Subramanyan, Distinguished Professor of Finance, Goldyne and Irwin Hearsh Chair in Money and Banking, Anderson Graduate School of Management, UCLA: ‘Investor Behavior and Financial Innovation: Callable Bull/Bear Contracts’ (abstract)
Tue 14 Mar 16.30-17.45 LTUG Andrea Eisfeldt, Laurence D. and Lori W. Fink Endowed Chair in Finance and Professor of Finance, Anderson School of Management, UCLA: ‘Prepayment Risk and Expected MBS Returns’ (abstract)
Tue 21 Mar 16.30-17.45 LT2 Thomas Hellmann, Professor of Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford: ‘The trade-off be ownership and investment:  Evidence from equity crowdfunding campaigns’ (abstract)
Tue 02 May 16.30-17.45 LTUG Dirk Jenter, Associate Professor of Finance, LSE: ‘Good and Bad CEOs’ (abstract)
Fri 05 May 16.45-18.00 LT2 David Scharfstein, Edmund Cogswell Converse Professor of Finance and Banking, Harvard Business School: ‘Bank Risk-Taking and the Real Economy: Evidence from the Housing Boom and its Aftermath’ (abstract)
Tue 09 May 16.30-17.45 LTUG Francesca Cornelli, Professor of Finance and Director of Private Equity, LBS: ‘Team Stability and Performance: Evidence from Private Equity’ (abstract)
Tue 16 May 16.30-17.45 LTUG Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh, David S. Loeb Professor of Finance, NYU, Stern: ‘Are Mutual Fund Managers Paid for Investment Skill?’ (abstract)
Wed 17 May 15.30-16.45 LT1 Amir Sufi, Bruce Lindsay Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Chicago Booth: ‘How Do Credit Supply Shocks Affect the Real Economy? Evidence from the United States in the 1980s‘ (abstract)
Tue 23 May 16.30-17.45 LTUG Yacine Ait Sahalia, Otto A. Hack 1903 Professor of Finance and Economics, Princeton: ‘High Frequency Market Making: Optimal Quoting PLUS High Frequency Market Making: Implications for Liquidity’ (abstract)
Wed 24 May 12.15-13.15 LT2 Co-Pierre Georg, Senior Lecturer, African Institute of Financial Markets and Risk Management, and School of Economics: ‘Illiquidity Spirals in Coupled Over-the-Counter Markets’ (abstract)
Tue 30 May 16.30-17.45 LTUG Ian Martin, Professor of Finance, LSE: ‘The Quanto Theory of Exchange Rates’ (abstract)
Tue 06 Jun 16.30-17.45 LTUG Ricardo Reis, A. W. Phillips Professor of Economics, LSE: ‘Quantitative and Qualitative Easing with Yield Curve Control’ (abstract)
Tue 13 Jun 16.30-17.45 LGS Pierre – Olivier Weill, Professor of   Economics, UCLA: ‘Heterogeneity in Decentralized Asset Markets’ (abstract)
Tue 20 Jun 16.30-17.45 LT2 Laura Veldkamp, Professor of Economics, NYU Stern: ‘Long Run Growth of Financial Technology’ (abstract)