2019 Awards

Renatá Kosová and Marisa Miraldo are among this year’s recipients of the Julia Higgins Award. These awards are given out annually to recognise individuals, groups and departments that have made a significant contribution to the support of academic women at the College. Our school has made a commitment to promoting gender equality in business and education, and it is wonderful to see two of our academics recognised for their work in this way.

Esma Koca and Julia McShane were among the winners at the seventh annual Student Academic Choice Awards, where they won for Best Graduate Teaching Assistant and Best Support Staff respectively. The awards are run by Imperial College Union, with nominees, shortlists and winners chosen by students. They recognise excellence in teaching and support across the College, and this year received over 1,500 nominations including a number for members of the Business School.

Wolfram Wiesemann, meanwhile, has won a President’s Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher, part of the President’s Awards for Excellence in Research. He was recognised for his work on understanding how organisations take decisions based on uncertain or incomplete information; in this endeavour, he has worked closely with colleagues across College, including the Department of Chemical Engineering, Department of Computing and the Energy Futures Labs.

Mirabelle Muuls was awarded the President’s Medal for Excellence in Teaching at this year’s spring graduation ceremony on 8th May 2019.

The Centre for Process Systems Engineering, where Wolfram Wiesemann serves on the Management Team, was awarded the President’s Medal for Excellence in External Collaboration and Partnerships at this year’s spring graduation ceremony on 8th May 2019.

2018 Awards

Fritze, Martin P., Andreas B. Eisingerich, Martin Benkenstein, “Don’t Fight the Power: Employing Psychological Ownership to Increase Sharing Service Consumption,” Best Paper Awards American Marketing Association Summer Academic Conference 2018 for Services Marketing Track, Boston, MA Aug. 8th-Aug. 12th.

At the recent Academy of Management meetings, Nelson Phillips received the 2018 Joanne Martin Trailblazer award (jointly awarded with Cliff Oswick from Cass and Cynthia Hardy from Melbourne). The award is given out every two years to recognize “scholars who have taken a leadership role in the field of OMT by opening up new lines of thinking or inquiry”.

Gokhan Yildirim’s co-authored work entitled “Direct Mail to Prospects and Email to Current Customers? Managing Multichannel Marketing for L’Occitane” was selected as one of the four finalists for The 2018 ISMS/MSI/EMAC Gary Lilien Marketing Science Practice Prize. About the project: The project focuses on a multichannel resource allocation problem for an international beauty retailer, L’Occitane, present in 70 countries, with total annual revenues of €10.9 billion. Our work provides L’Occitane  with tools to assess marketing response across multiple channels  in order to understand which marketing actions produce the best sales returns, and to make budgeting decisions about which actions to invest in and which customers to target. The methodological approach of the project consists of descriptive (e.g. cluster analysis), predictive (e.g. multilevel econometric models) and prescriptive (e.g. optimization, field experiment) models. The financial impact of our work reflected in the optimal allocation of resources that would yield a sales lift of €415,000 during the period of study, 40% due to better allocation of emails and 60% due to better allocation of direct mail, which represents a 16.4% increase, overall.

2017 Awards

Find out more about our previous awards 2016-2015 and 2014-2012

Jonathan Haskel, our Chair in Economics, has been named as one of the winners of the Indigo Prize. This is a prestigious new prize that celebrates radical and creative thinking in how to measure the modern economy. Students, engineers, entrepreneurs and academics from around the world entered (including submissions from the UN Development Programme and Harvard) but its first and second prizes were awarded in an equal split between Diane Coyle, Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester, and Jonathan and his research team. This prestigious prize acknowledges Jonathan’s standing as one of the thought-leaders on economics research in the UK and the world. We are immensely proud of his contribution to our economics research and teaching mission at Imperial College Business School, and are very honoured to have Jonathan among our faculty.

Esther Boler

  • Won the following award, roughly translated as: “His Majesty the King’s Gold Medal is awarded annually to an outstanding young researcher for a research contribution evaluated by the University of Oslo. The work must be recognized as an effective contribution to the field of research.”
  • Won the Imperial 2017 Teaching Excellence Award for Undergraduate Teaching.

Elena Dalpiaz was awarded the ABC Award for Outstanding Reviewer at the Academy of Management (OMT Division), August 2017.

Eisingerich, Andreas

  • With coauthors Ana Wheelock, Gabriela B. Gomez, Geoffrey P. Garnett, Mark R. Dybul, & Peter K. Piot) (2012), “Attitudes and Acceptance of Oral and Parenteral HIV Preexposure Prophylaxis among Potential User Groups: A Multinational Study,” PLoS One – Top 10% most cited article of all PLoS One articles.
  • With coauthors Sigyoung Auh, & Omar Merlo (2014), “Acta non Verba? The Role of Customer Participation and Word-of-Mouth in the Relationship between Service Firms’ Customer Satisfaction and Sales Performance,” Journal of Service Research – Top 10% most cited article in Journal of Service Research in 2017.
  • With coauthors Park, C. Whan, Jason Whan Park’s) article “Attachment-Aversion (AA) Model of Customer-Brand Relationships” received Journal of Consumer Psychology “Highly Cited Research” award for being one of the 5 most highly cited papers during 2014-2016.
  • With coauthors Hae Eun Chun, Yeyi, Liu, Michael Jia, and Simon J. Bell’s “Why Recommend a Brand Face-to-Face But Not on Facebook? How Word-of-Mouth on Online Social Site Differs from Traditional Word-of-Mouth” was 2nd most cited article in Journal of Consumer Psychology in 2015-16.

Omar Merlo has been nominated for the 2017 Imperial College Union Student Academic Choice Award (SACA) for Best Teaching for Taught Postgraduates at Imperial College.

Carol Propper: Winner (with Martin Gaynor and Stephan Seiler) of 25th Arrow award for the best paper published worldwide in field of Health Economics (awarded annually by the International Health Economics Association). The paper is Gaynor M, Propper C, Seiler S, 2016, Free to Choose? Reform, Choice, and Consideration Sets in the English National Health Service, American Economic Review, Vol: 106, Pages: 3521-3557,

Tommaso Valletti’s paper “Net Neutrality and Innovation at the Core and at the Edge”, joint with Carlo Reggiani, published in the International Journal of Industrial Organization, won the 2017 IJIO Best Paper Award 2017 for the best theory paper published in the IJIO in 2016