Seminars

The Management Department Seminar Series welcomes speakers from other universities both national and international to share their research findings and create a community for knowledge exchange and discussion. The sessions are open to all faculty, research staff and PhD students.

2018/19 seminars

Thursday 13 December 2018. 16.00 – 17.30. LTUG (OPERATIONS & COMPUTING SEMINAR)

Angelos Tsoukalas (American University of Beirut in the Olayan School of Business). Robust Dual Dynamic Programming

Monday 14 January 2019. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (STRATEGY & OB SEMINAR)

Isabel Fernandez-Mateo (LBS). Rejection, competition, and gender diversity in talent pipelines

Monday 11 February 2019. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Thomas Mussweiler (LBS). Title TBC

Monday 18 March 2019. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (STRATEGY & OB SEMINAR)

Andrew Hafenbrack (Católica-Lisbon School of Business and Economics). Title TBC

Monday 25 March 2019. 11.30 – 12.15. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Martin Schreier (Vienna University). Title TBC

Tuesday 02 April 2019. 13.30 – 14.45. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Noam Yuchtman (Berkeley). Title TBC

Tuesday 09 April. 13.30 – 14.45. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Lorenzo Casaburi (University of Zurich). Title TBC

Monday 29 April 2019. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Marc Fischer (University of Cologne). Title TBC

Tuesday 30 April 2019. 13.30 – 14.45. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Giuseppe Moscelli(University of Surrey). Title TBC

Tuesday 04 June 2019. 13.30 – 14.45. LT2 (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Francesco Decarolis (University of Bocconi). Title TBC

Tuesday 18 June 2019. 11.30 – 12.45. LTUG (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Cem Ozturk (Scheller College of Business, Georgia Institute of Technology). Title TBC

 

Past seminars this academic year:

Tuesday 11 September. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19b seminar room. (HEALTH ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Laura Cornelsen (LSHTM). Framing and signalling effects of taxes on sugary drinks: a Discrete Choice Experiment among households in Great Britain

Monday 17 September 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room. (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Jacob Hornik (Coller School of Management, Tel Aviv University). To Make Them Laugh Or Sad? A Comparative Meta-Analysis of Advertising Appeals

Monday 01 October 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR)

Jacob Hornik (Coller School of Management, Tel Aviv University). Beyond Satisfaction – Creating Customer Delight.

Friday 12 October 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR – INTERNAL ONLY)

Alex Yao (Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California). Consumer Demand for Luxury Goods: The Prestige and Substitution Effects of Price

Thursday 18 October 2018. 14.00 – 15.15. LT2 (MARKETING SEMINAR – INTERNAL ONLY)

Jörn Boehnke (Harvard). Using Machine Learning to Predict Price Dispersion

Monday 22 October 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR – INTERNAL ONLY)

Ananya Sen (MIT). Advertising Spending and Media Bias: Evidence from News Coverage of Car Safety Recalls

Tuesday 30 October 2018. 11.00 – 12.15. LT3. (OPERATIONS SEMINAR)

Sumit Kunnumkal (Smith School of Business). New bounds for assortment optimization under the nested logit model

Tuesday 30 October 2018. 13.15 – 14.30. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Andrew Shephard (University of Pennsylvania). Marriage market dynamics, gender, and the age gap

Wednesday 07 November 2018. 13.15 – 14.30. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Robert MaCulloch (University of Aukland). Welfare: Savings not Taxation

Monday 12th November 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR – INTERNAL ONLY)

Minkyung Kim (Yale School of Management). A Structural Model of a Multi-tasking Salesforce with Private Information

Tuesday 13 November 2018. 13.15 – 14.30. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Valerie Karplus (MIT). Closing the energy efficiency gap in industrial firms: The role of management practices

Wednesday 14 November 2018. 13.15 – 14.30. LG19a seminar room (MARKETING SEMINAR – INTERNAL ONLY)

(Stijen Maesen, KU Leuven, Belgium) When Does Adding a Health Symbol Improve or Harm Product Performance?

Tuesday 20 November 2018. 13.15 – 14.30. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Tobias Klein (Tilberg). Does the framing of patient cost-sharing incentives matter? The effects of deductibles vs. no-claim refunds

Tuesday 27 November 2018. 13.30 – 14.45. LG19a seminar room (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Giorgia Barboni (University of Warwick). Knowing what’s good for you: Can a repayment flexibility option in microfinance contracts improve repayment rates and business outcomes?

Tuesday 04 December 2018. 13.30 – 14.45. LTUG (ECONOMICS SEMINAR)

Meredith Fowlie (Berkeley). Mitigating Emissions Leakage in Incomplete Carbon Markets

Monday 10 December 2018. 11.30 – 12.45. LT3 (STRATEGY & OB SEMINAR)

Celia Moore (Bocconi University). Reading Leaders: The Role of Literary Fiction in Leadership Effectiveness

 

For more information please contact Donna Sutherland-Smith at d.sutherlandsmith@imperial.ac.uk