Equality and Diversity Committee

The Chemistry Department’s Equality and Diversity Committee is committed to supporting the College’s strategic aim to build a supportive, inclusive and highly motivated staff and student community by ensuring that the Department adheres to the principles of inclusiveness, widening participation, and openness.

What we do

Our main responsibilities and remit includes the following:

  • raise awareness of equality and diversity issues
  • identify obstacles and problem areas
  • identify equality and diversity priorities
  • take action to address these priorities
  • monitor the progress of actions taken

Committee Members

Professor Sue Gibson (Chair)
Dr James Wilton-Ely (Director of MRes) 
Professor Michael Bearpark (Disability Officer)
Dr Nick Brook (UG Teaching Committee Representative)
Emma Coakley (PG Staff-Student Committee Representative)
Dr Silvia Diez-Gonzales (Senior Lecturer Representative)
Tim Jefferson (Operational and Infrastructure Committee Representative)
Ms Azra Sabadosh (Human Resources)
Dr Ali Salehi-Reyhani (Early Career Researcher Representative)
Dr Lindsay Evans (Post Doc Representative)
Jeroen Sap (UG Staff-Student Representative)
Helen Sharman (Departmental Operations Manager)
Ms Althea Hartley-Forbes (Administrator)