Professor Sophia Yaliraki - Director

SophiaSophia Yaliraki is Professor of Theoretical Chemistry. Her group and collaborators develop multiscale techniques based on graph learning with applications in precision healthcare, digital chemistry, computational social science and online learning analytics. She teaches Data Analytics in Chemistry.

Professor Mimi Hii - Synthesis and Processes co-Pillar Lead

MimiProfessor Mimi Hii is Professor of Catalysis in the Department of Chemistry. Her research interests are in the area of sustainable catalysis and processes, particularly for the synthesis of high-value chemicals. As the founder and Director of the Centre for Rapid Online Analysis of Reactions (ROAR), she champions the adoption and development of data-enabling tools, to support quantitative, statistical and Machine-Learning approaches in chemical research. She is also the founding Director of the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Next Generation Synthesis & Reaction Technology (rEaCt), aiming to equip researchers with the relevant skills to tackle challenges pose by the data revolution. Her external appointments include: co-lead of the Dial-a-Molecule Grand Challenge Network, Associate Editor for ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering, and steering committee member of the UK Catalysis Hub.

Professor Klaus Hellgardt - Synthesis and Processes co-Pillar Lead

KlausKlaus Hellgardt is Professor of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College London (ICL). He has authored over 150 research articles (h-index = 32), 8 patents, various contributions to books and over 100 refereed conference proceedings. His research focuses on advanced reaction engineering and applied catalysis, with specific emphasis on flow chemistry related to solar (bio)fuels, smart petrofuels engineering, kinetics, (electro-) chemical and bioreactor modelling, design and application. He is the current co-director of the Next Generation Synthesis & Reaction Technology Centre of Doctoral Training (CDT) at ICL. Klaus was awarded the title EurIng by the FEANI in 2003.

Dr Becky Greenaway - Automation co-Pillar Lead

BeckyDr Becky Greenaway is a Royal Society University Research Fellow in the Department of Chemistry. Her group specialises in the design and synthesis of molecular organic materials, such as organic cages and self-sorted assemblies formed using dynamic covalent chemistries, and porous liquids. This involves the use of high-throughput robotic platforms to streamline the process, and the development of hybrid discovery workflows with collaborators, combining high-throughput automation with computational modelling, to both guide and accelerate discovery.

Dr Camille Petit - Automation co-Pillar Lead

CamilleDr Camille Petit is a Reader in Materials Engineering in the Department of Chemical Engineering. Her research focuses on elucidating the fundamentals of porous materials formation, structure, and chemistry to exploit them in interfacial applications, i.e. separation of molecules and solar fuel production. Her work also investigates the implications of using these materials at the large-scale. Dr Petit is PI on the EPSRC Strategic Equipment Grant ATLAS (Automated High Throughput Platform Suite for Molecular Systems Discovery). She is also part of the IMSE Research Board.

Dr Kim Jelfs - Data and Modelling co-Pillar Lead

KimKim is a Reader in Computational Materials Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry. Her group specialises in the use of computer simulations to assist in the discovery of supramolecular materials, particularly porous materials and organic electronics. This includes the development of software to automate the assembly and testing of materials, with the application of artificial intelligence techniques including an evolutionary algorithm.

Professor Claire Adjiman - Data and Modelling co-Pillar Lead

ClaireClaire Adjiman is Professor of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College London. She holds an MEng from Imperial College and a PhD from Princeton University, both in Chemical Engineering. Her research interests include integrated process and molecular/materials design, including the development of design methods, property prediction techniques and optimisation algorithms. She works extensively with industry, especially the oil and gas, pharmaceuticals and agrochemicals sectors and has licensed thermodynamic modelling software. She has received awards that include a RAEng-ICI Fellowship (1998-2003), the Philip Leverhulme Prize for Engineering (2009), the SCI Armstrong Lecture (2011), an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship (2012-2017), and the RSC Elizabeth Colbourn Memorial Lecture (2020). She is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institution of Chemical Engineers and the Royal Society of Chemistry. She co-edited a book on Molecular Systems Engineering published (Wiley-VCH). She is a member of the editorial boards of Molecular Systems Design and Engineering, Computers and Chemical Engineering and Fluid Phase Equilibria, and an associate editor of the Journal of Global Optimization. At Imperial, she was a Founding Co-Director of the Institute for Molecular Science and Engineering (2015-2020) and she is Director of the Centre for Process Systems Engineering. She is a Trustee of Future Innovation in Process Systems Engineering (FIPSE). She is a member of several advisory bodies, in the UK (EPSRC Strategic Advisory Network) and Singapore (CARES-C4T), and chairs the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems Magdeburg (Germany).

Dr Feng Li – Institute Manager

FengFeng has a wealth of experience in research, strategy and project management. She is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Institute, facilitate the delivery of DigiFAB objectives, events organisation, engaging internal and external stakeholders, and communications.