ESE's Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Culture (EDIC) Committee

Get involved

If you’re interested in advancing equality, diversity, inclusion and culture within the Department and joining ESE's EDIC Committee, please email 

ESE's EDIC Committee is responsible for driving forward the equality, diversity, inclusion and culture agenda of the Department and providing support and guidance to all staff and students.

The Committee is representative of the whole Department and therefore includes a diverse representation from the academic and teaching staff, professional and technical staff, research staff, undergraduates, taught and research postgraduates.

The Committee is chaired by Prof. Joanna Morgan, with support from EDI Coordinator Sophia Quazi.

EDICC chairs

Prof Jo Morgan in hard hart, wearing red, on a boat

Prof. Joanna Morgan, EDIC Committee Chair

I am a Professor of Geophysics and currently Chair of the Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Culture (EDIC) Committee for ESE. Together with Sophia, I am collating ideas and implementing action to improve EDIC in the Department, and am keen to play a role in ensuring that everyone feels safe, supported and welcome.


Sophia Quazi, EDI Coordinator (ESE and MechEng)

I am the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Coordinator for the Departments of Earth Science and Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. I have 3+ years of experience delivering EDI initiatives, projects and events in higher education. I support Jo by facilitating meetings and delivering the Department's priorities for EDI. My main goal is to make sure everyone in the department feels heard and included.