Panopto is a flexible and easy-to-use video recording and hosting platform that allows Imperial College staff to record audio, video, lectures, presentations and capture multiple sources such as a screen, webcam and visualiser. It can be used to record lectures and other learning materials, edit video, add quizzes to video, embed on Blackboard and for student video assessments.

3 Column general content block

A lecturer at the front of a classroom teaching using a projector

Panopto in the lecture theatre

The Faculty of Engineering uses Celcat/Panopto integration for automatic scheduling of recordings based on the data in the Celcat timetabling system. Find out more about:

A teacher writing on a visualiser on a lectern in a classroom

Panopto from your personal device

You can pre-record Panopto from your desktop, laptop or web browser. See the guidance below:

Panopto logo (green shape and text 'Panopto')

Tips and tricks

Panopto has a simple editing tool to crop, trim and combine recordings. You can also add quizzes into videos to check student understanding, add Panopto videos in Blackboard and set up video assignment submissions using Panopto.

Department contacts

DepartmentContactEmail address
Aeronautics  Omar R Bacarreza Nogales o.bacarreza-nogales@imperial.ac.uk
Bioengineering Julie Hoang j.hoang@imperial.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering Andreas Kogelbauer a.kogelbauer@imperial.ac.uk
Civil Engineering Fionnuala Ni Dhonnabhain f.donovan@imperial.ac.uk
Computing Anandha Gopalan a.gopalan@imperial.ac.uk
Earth Science and Engineering Robert Lowther r.lowther@imperial.ac.uk
Electrical Engineering Thomas Clarke t.clarke@imperial.ac.uk
Materials Paul Franklyn p.franklyn@imperial.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering Julie Varley j.varley@imperial.ac.uk
Dyson School of Design Engineering Freddie Page freddie.page@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents