Lighthill Lecture 2017

This annual high-profile lecture given by distinguished individuals in the area of Fluid Mechanics was launched in 2014 to celebrate the opening of our new CDT in Fluid Dynamics across Scales and the pioneering work in this area of Professor Sir James Lighthill FRS whilst at Imperial College.

The CDT welcomes Professor Raymond E Goldstein FRS to deliver the 2017 Lecture, which will take place on Thursday 25 May at 17:00 in Lecture Theatre 308, Huxley Building, South Kensington Campus.  Please contact the CDT Administrator to register.

Fluid Dynamics at the Scale of the Cell

The world of cellular biology provides us with many fascinating fluid dynamical phenomena that lie at the heart of physiology, development, evolution and ecology.
Advances in imaging, micromanipulation, and microfluidics over the past decade have made possible high-precision measurements of such flows, providing tests of microhydrodynamic theories and revealing a wealth of new phenomena calling out for explanation.
Here I summarize progress in several areas within the field of ‘active matter’, emphasizing open problems in which fluid dynamical methods are key ingredients in an interdisciplinary approach to the mysteries of life.

Speaker Biography

Ray Goldstein received undergraduate degrees in physics and chemistry from MIT, and a PhD in theoretical physics from Cornell University. Following postdoctoral work at the University of Chicago and faculty positions in physics and applied mathematics at Princeton University and the University of Arizona, he moved to Cambridge University as the Schlumberger Professor of Complex Physical Systems in 2006. His research interests span from statistical physics to nonlinear dynamics and geophysics, with particular emphasis on biological physics, both theoretical and experimental. His work has been recognized by the Stephanos Pnevmatikos Award in Nonlinear Science, an Ig Nobel Prize (with Patrick Warren and Robin Ball) for explaining the shape of ponytails, the G.K. Batchelor Prize in Fluid Mechanics and the Rosalind Franklin Medal of the Institute of Physics.  He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, and the Royal Society.