Session dates for Core Surgical Trainees, 2019-20

These training sessions are for CT1 surgical trainees only.

All sessions are at Charing Cross Hospital, unless stated otherwise.

  • Morning sessions are 8.30am-12.30pm
  • Afternoon sessions are 1.30-5.30pm

If you arrive late for your scheduled session (after 9am for the morning session or 2pm for the afternoon session) you will not be able to join your group until the next rotation.

There will be assessments on the following dates:

  • 10/11 December - Thorax
  • 10/11 March - Abdo and Pelvis & perineum
  • Date TBC - Lower limb and Upper limb
  • Final assessment - Back, Neck, Head and Neuroanatomy

Training dates

Train the Trainer

St Mary's Hospital - Thursday 9 January 2020 (half-day), 9am-12.30pm / 1.30-5pm

SECOND DATE ADDED: St Mary's Hospital - Thursday 9 July 2020 (half-day), 9am-12.30pm / 1.30-5pm

This workshop is primarily to help prepare you for your CT2 role of Anatomy Demonstrator, but it should also be invaluable in your approach to learning in the CT1 Anatomy sessions. A certificate will be provided for those who attend.

Thorax 1 - Breast, anterior thoracic wall muscles, heart, pericardium, great vessels

  • Monday 21 October – PM (1-5pm)
  • Tuesday 22 October – AM (8am-12pm)
  • Tuesday 22 October – PM (1-5pm)

Thorax 2 – Lungs, pleura, trachea, bronchi, diaphragm, secondary muscles of respiration

  • Monday 18 November – PM
  • Tuesday 19 November – AM
  • Tuesday 19 November – PM

Thorax 3 – Mediastinum, concentrating on superior and posterior

  • Tuesday 26 November - PM
  • Wednesday 27 November - AM
  • Wednesday 27 November - PM

Abdo. 1 – Abdominal wall, inguinal ligament, inguinal canal

  • Tuesday 10 December - PM
  • Wednesday 11 December - AM
  • Wednesday 11 December - PM

Abdo. 2 – GI tract – oesophagus to anus

  • Tuesday 17 December - PM
  • Wednesday 18 December - AM
  • Wednesday 18 December - PM

Abdo.3 – Hepatobiliary, pancreas, spleen, renal, adrenal

  • Monday 3 February PM
  • Tuesday 4 February AM
  • Tuesday 4 February PM

Pelvis and perineum – male – bones of pelvis, joints and ligaments, pelvic contents, perineum

  • Tuesday 18 February PM
  • Wednesday 19 February AM
  • Wednesday 19 February PM

Pelvis and perineum – female – pelvic sexual dimorphism, pelvic contents, perineum

  • Tuesday 25 February AM
  • Tuesday 25 February PM
  • Wednesday 26 February AM

Limbs overview – plexuses, nerves, blood supply, lymph drainage

  • Tuesday 10 March AM
  • Tuesday 10 March PM
  • Wednesday 11 March AM

Lower limb 1 – Buttock, hip joint, thigh

  • Webinar - Friday 1 May 2020 (5-6pm)

Lower limb 2 – Knee, leg, ankle, foot

  • Clinical scenario webinar - Thursday 7 May 2020 (5-6pm)
  • Knee webinar - Monday 11 May 2020 (9-10am)
  • Leg, ankle, foot webinar - Friday 15 May 2020 (6-7pm)

Upper limb 1 – upper limb girdle, glenohumeral joint, arm

  • Upper limb girdle webinar - Tuesday 26 May 2020 (11am-12pm)
  • Glenohumeral joint, arm webinar - TBC
  • Clinical scenario webinar - TBC

Upper Limb 2- elbow joint, forearm wrist, hand

Wednesday 12 August 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Back – Vertebrae, discs, ligaments, meninges, spinal cord, nerve roots, extensor muscles

Wednesday 19 August 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Neck – Fascias, compartments and contents, levels

Wednesday 26 August 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Head 1 – Bones of skull, skull base, dura, venous sinuses

Wednesday 2 September 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Head 2 – Face, oral cavity, muscles of mastication, CN V and VII

Wednesday 9 September 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Neuroanatomy – Divisions of brain, functional area, CSF ventricles, pia, arachnoid, blood supply

Wednesday 16 September 2020 - 10am-12.15pm

Trainees without MRCS only.

Final assessment and feedback

St Mary's Hospital - date tbc

Full details and timings tbc