Session dates for Core Surgical Trainees, 2018-19

All sessions are at Charing Cross Hospital, unless stated otherwise.

  • Morning sessions are 8.30am-12.30pm
  • Afternoon sessions are 1.30-5.30pm

Training dates

Induction day

Tuesday 2 October - 9.30am-12.30pm, 10th floor Lab Block Lecture Theatre (Charing Cross Hospital)

Train the Trainer

Monday 12 November - St Mary's Hospital, timings tbc

Thorax 1 - Breast, anterior thoracic wall muscles, heart, pericardium, great vessels

  • Tuesday 20 November – AM
  • Tuesday 20 November – PM
  • Wednesday 21 November – AM

Thorax 2 – Lungs, pleura, trachea, bronchi, diaphragm, secondary muscles of respiration

  • Wednesday 28 November – AM
  • Wednesday 28 November – PM
  • Thursday 29 November – AM

Thorax 3 – Mediastinum, concentrating on superior and posterior

  • Wednesday 5 December - AM
  • Wednesday 5 December - PM
  • Thursday 6 December - AM

Abdo. 1 – Abdominal wall, inguinal ligament, inguinal canal

  • Wednesday 12 December - PM
  • Thursday 13 December - AM
  • Thursday 13 December - PM

Abdo. 2 – GI tract – oesophagus to anus

  • Wednesday 19 December - PM
  • Thursday 20 December - AM
  • Thursday 20 December - PM

Abdo.3 – Hepatobiliary, pancreas, spleen, renal, adrenal

  • Wednesday 30 January - PM
  • Thursday 31 January - AM
  • Thursday 31 January - PM

Pelvis and perineum – male – bones of pelvis, joints and ligaments, pelvic contents, perineum

  • Wednesday 13 March - AM
  • Wednesday 13 March - PM
  • Thursday 14 March - AM

Pelvis and perineum – female – pelvic sexual dimorphism, pelvic contents, perineum

  • Wednesday 27 March - AM
  • Wednesday 27 March - PM
  • Thursday 28 March - AM

Limbs overview – plexuses, nerves, blood supply, lymph drainage

  • Monday 29 April - PM
  • Tuesday 30 April - AM
  • Tuesday 30 April - PM

Lower limb 1 – Buttock, hip joint, thigh

  • Wednesday 8 May - PM
  • Thursday 9 May - AM
  • Thursday 9 May - PM

Lower limb 2 – Knee, leg, ankle, foot

  • Wednesday 15 May - PM
  • Thursday 16 May - AM
  • Thursday 16 May - PM

Upper limb 1 – upper limb girdle, glenohumeral joint, arm

  • Wednesday 19 June - PM
  • Thursday 20 June - AM
  • Thursday 21 June - PM

Upper Limb 2- elbow joint, forearm wrist, hand

  • Wednesday 26 June - AM
  • Wednesday 26 June - PM
  • Thursday 27 June - AM

Back – Vertebrae, discs, ligaments, meninges, spinal cord, nerve roots, extensor muscles

  • Wednesday 3 July - AM
  • Wednesday 3 July - PM
  • Thursday 4 July - AM

Neck – Fascias, compartments and contents, levels

  • Wednesday 10 July - AM
  • Wednesday 10 July - PM
  • Thursday 11 July - AM

Head 1 – Bones of skull, skull base, dura, venous sinuses

  • Wednesday 17 July - AM
  • Wednesday 17 July - PM
  • Thursday 18 July - AM

Head 2 – Face, oral cavity, muscles of mastication, CN V and VII

  • Wednesday 24 July - AM
  • Wednesday 24 July - PM
  • Thursday 25 July - AM

Neuroanatomy – Divisions of brain, functional area, CSF ventricles, pia, arachnoid, blood supply

  • Wednesday 31 July - AM
  • Wednesday 31 July - PM
  • Thursday 1 August - AM

Final assessment and feedback

St Mary's Hospital - date & timings tbc