We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biological Sciences courses.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Website

 Stephen Brickley

Senior Tutor

Professor Stephen Brickley

Website

Dr Hugh Brady

Admissions Tutor

Professor Hugh Brady
Website

Martin Bidartondo

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Martin Bidartondo

Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow and Research Abroad Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Magda Charalambous

Senior Teaching Fellow and Second Year Covenor

Dr Magda Charalambous
Website

 Steve Cook

Senior Teaching Fellow and First Year Covenor

Dr Steve Cook
Website

 Dr Laurence Bugeon

Year in Industry/Research Coordinator

Dr Laurence Bugeon
Email

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Akrhat Abzhanov   a.abzhanov 2.15 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Cristina Banks-Leite   c.banks 2.2 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Michalis Barkoulas   m.barkoulas 607 SAFB
Professor Martin Bidartondo  Chair of the Board of Examiners m.bidartondo Kew Gardens
Dr Tolga Bozkurt   o.bozkurt 603 SAFB
Professor Hugh Brady Admissions Tutor h.brady 504 SAFB
Dr Martin D Brazeau   m.brazeau W2.2 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Professor Stephen Brickley Senior Tutor s.brickley 402A, Sir Ernst Chain Building
Professor Martin Buck   m.buck 448 SAFB
Dr Laurence Bugeon Year in Industry Co-ordinator l.bugeon 6th Floor SAFB
Professor Austin Burt   a.burt Kennedy, Silwood Pk
Dr Lauren J Cator   l.cator N.17 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Magda Charalambous Second Year Convenor m.charalambous 1.04 Hamilton, Silwood Park
Professor George Christophides   g.christophides 6167 SAFB
Dr Steve Cook First Year Convenor steven.cook 505 SAFB
Professor Andrea Crisanti   a.drcrisanti 549 SAFB
Professor Mustafa Djamgoz   m.djamgoz 548 SAFB
Professor Rob Ewers   r.ewers E2.8 Lees, Silwood Park
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks 401A SEC
Dr Richard J Gill   r.gill N2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Nadia Guerra   n.guerra SAFB
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Professor Mark Isalan   m.isalan 509 SAFB
Professor Armand Leroi   a.leroi South Block, Silwood Park
Professor Jon Lloyd   jonathan.lloyd Centre for Population Biology, Silwood Park
Professor Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAFB
Dr Samraat Pawar   s.pawar 2.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr James Rosindell   j.rosindell N2.6 Munro, Silwood Park
Professor Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAFB
Professor Vincent Savolainen   v.savolainen 1.6 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Julia Schroeder   julia.schroeder 2.13 Munro, Silwood Park
Dr Giovanni Sena   g.sena 450 SAFB
Dr Jie Song   j.song Level 6 SAFB
Professory Pietro Spanu   p.spanu 610 SAFB
Dr Joseph Tobias   j.tobias Kennedy, Silwood Park
Dr Mike Tristem   m.tristem 1.4 Kennedy, Silwood Park
Professor Colin Turnbull   c.turnbull 449 SAFB
Professor Alfried Vogler   a.vogler Natural History Museum
Dr Huw Williams Director of Undergraduate Studies h.d.williams 507 SAFB
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
Professor Guy Woodward   guy.woodward Munro, Silwood Park

SAFB: Sir Alexander Fleming Building

SEC: Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam Dates

First Year       
Biological Chemistry and Microbiology Monday 18-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Evolution and Diversity Wednesday 20-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Ecology and Evolution Tuesday 04-May-21 10.00-13.00
Cell Biology and Genetics Thursday 06-May-21 10.00-13.00
       
Second Year      
Applied Molecular Biology Tuesday 19-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Genetics Thursday 21-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Molecular Microbiology  Wednesday 05-May-21 10.00-13.00
Cell and Developmental Biology Wednesday 05-May-21 10.00-13.00
Essentials of Ecology Wednesday 05-May-21 10.00-13.00
Immunology Friday 07-May-21 10.00-13.00
Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience Friday 07-May-21 10.00-13.00
Behavioural Ecology Friday 07-May-21 10.00-13.00
       
Final Year       
Mechanisms of Gene Expression Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Structural Biology and Drug Design Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Metabolic and Network Engineering Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Medical Microbiology Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Plant Biotechnology and Development Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Principles of Development Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Evolutionary Applications Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
African Biology Field Course Monday 11-Jan-21 10.00-12.00
       
Cancer Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Advanced Bacterial and Eukaryotic Cell Biology Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Integrative Systems Biology Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Biodiversity and Conservation Biology Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
Vertebrate Form and Evolution Wednesday 13-Jan-21 10.00-13.00
       
Medical Glycobiology Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Boinformatics Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Synthetic Biology Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
The Microbiome Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Advanced Immunology Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Biodiversity Genomics Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
Global Change Biology Friday 05-Mar-21 10.00-13.00
       
Resit Examinations: Tues 31 Aug - Fri 03 Sept 2021 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July 2021)

Biological Chemistry and Microbiology
Evolution and Diversity
Ecology and Evolution
Cell Biology and Genetics