Tube buckling

Explore the drop down lists below to find out more about current PhD opportunities for specific studentships, opportunities in research groups and Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs).

Groupings of different PhD opportunities

PhD studentships

‌We currently offer PhD studentships in the following areas: 

 
Project name SupervisorDeadline for applying 
EngD Studentship in the Simulation of Ultrasonic Methods for the Inspection of Safety Critical Nuclear Submarine Components 

Prof Mike Lowe

m.lowe@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
 PhD Studentship in Spine Biomechanics

Dr Nic Newell

n.newell09@imperial.ac.uk

4 February 2019
PhD Studentship in Mechanics of Materials 

Prof Maria Charalambides

m.charalambides@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
 Evolutionary Tribology: exploiting bio-lubrication mechanisms

Dr Marc Masen

m.masen@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Molecular Modelling of Friction at Lubricated Interfaces 

Prof Daniele Dini

d.dini@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Molecular Modelling of Friction at Lubricated Interfaces 

Dr Jun Jiang

jun.jiang@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Polymer Tribology (High Performance Polymers) 

Dr Janet Wong

j.wong@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in High Efficiency Concepts for Advanced Combustion Engines

Prof Pavlos Aleiferis

p.aleiferis@imperial.ac.uk

 until post filled
PhD Studentship in Computational Fluid Dynamics 

Prof Pavlos Aleiferis

p.aleiferis@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Exploiting High-Speed Finite Element Models 

Dr Peter Huthwaite

p.huthwaite@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
 4 PhD Studentships in Contact Fatigue Damage Mechanisms in Machine Elements

Dr Amir Kadiric

a.kadiric@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Tribology: developing fuels and lubricants that provide low f

Prof Daniele Dini

d.dini@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Lubricant-induced Low Speed Pre-Ignition (LSPI) Mechanism

Professor Yannis Hardalupas

y.hardalupas@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Additive Manufacturing – In-situ process monitoring

Dr Paul Hooper

paul.hooper@imperial.ac.uk

31 August 2017
4 PhD Studentships in Mechanics and Tribology of Interfaces

Dr Marc Masen

m.masen@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Polymer Tribology 

Dr Janet Wong

j.wong@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Tribology of Mechanical Transmissions 

Dr Amir Kadiric

a.kadiric@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Metal Forming and Materials Modelling

Dr Xiaoyu Xi

x.xi@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
PhD Studentship in Modelling Deformations and Solid/Fluid Interactions in Soft T

Dr Daniele Dini

d.dini@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
Tribology of PolyUrea Greases Sep 16

Dr Philippa Cann

p.cann@imperial.ac.uk

until post filled
 
Summary of the table's contents

Research groups

The following research groups have flexible funding, which may enable them to provide funding for outstanding PhD students at any time. Please visit the group websites for more information and to get in touch with a member of the group:

Centres for Doctoral Training

You may wish to explore the opportunities offered by the following Centres for Doctoral Training. You can find out more about what CDT’s are on the College’s CDT page.