Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.11, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272

j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

17 June 2020

COLLEGE NOTICE

PRESIDENT'S 2020 AWARDS AND MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Culture and Community, Education, Research or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Excellence in Research are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in early career research, research support, as part of a research team, and in research innovation.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH TEAM

The Award for Outstanding Research Team celebrates the achievements of research teams at Imperial, recognising outstanding research that delivers impact, a team's international standing and their beneficial contribution to Imperial.

<u>President's Medals for Outstanding Research Team are awarded to the following teams:</u>

Adaptive Emergent Systems Engineering Group led by Professor Julie McCann, Department of Computing

President's Awards for Outstanding Research Team are conferred on the following teams:

Mechatronics in Medicine Laboratory led by Professor Rodriguez Y Baena, Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR OUTSTANDING EARLY CAREER RESEARCHER

The Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher aims to celebrate the academic excellence and development of Imperial's early stage researchers.

President's Medals for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Firat Guder, Department of Bioengineering

President's Awards for Outstanding Early Career Researcher are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Myrsini Kaforou, Department of Infectious Disease 2019/20 14

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Dr Andy Tay Kah Ping, Department of Bioengineering Dr Huizhi Wang, Department of Mechanical Engineering

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS AND MEDALS FOR RESEARCH SUPPORT EXCELLENCE

The Award for Research Support Excellence aims to recognise the contribution of Research Support staff at Imperial, including the beneficial effects their support has given to Imperial research and the innovative approaches/good practice they bring to a project.

President's Medals for Research Support Excellence are awarded to the following staff:

Dr Richard Szydlo, Department of Immunology and Inflammation

President's Awards for Research Support Excellence are conferred on the following staff:

Patricia Carry, Department of Chemical Engineering Kenneth Keating, Department of Bioengineering Dr Akemi Nogiwa Valdez, Department of Materials

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

The Award for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship celebrates the achievements of academics at Imperial, recognising unique activities breaking new frontiers, the effective and appropriate exploitation of research, and realised or prospective economic or social impact.

President's Awards for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship are conferred on the following staff:

Dr Ivan Stoianov, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Jason Hallett, Department of Chemical Engineering

John Neilson

College Secretary