## Imperial College London

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 4.05, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ

Tel: +44 (020) 7594 7272 Fax: +44 (020) 7594 8802

> j.neilson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

John Neilson College Secretary

16 June 2021

#### **COLLEGE NOTICE**

# PRESIDENT'S 2021 AWARDS AND MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE IN CULTURE AND COMMUNITY

The President's Awards for Excellence are annual awards to recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Culture and Community, Education, Research, or Societal Engagement.

The President's Awards for Culture and Community recognise staff members who have made outstanding contributions in Leadership; Equality, Diversity and Inclusion; and Collaboration and Communication.

The President's Medal is in memory of Imperial's first Provost, Professor James Stirling, who sadly passed away in November 2018.

#### The Leadership Award for Culture and Community

For staff who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and management at all levels within the College.

Winners:

Professor Wendy Barclay, Department of Infectious Disease Dr Sarah Essilfie-Quaye, Faculty of Medicine Centre

Highly commended:

Sian Haynes, Department of Aeronautics Professor Oscar Ces, Department of Chemistry

#### The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award for Culture and Community

For staff who are committed to developing an environment which promotes equality of opportunity, values diversity, and where students and staff can work and study free from discrimination and harassment.

Individual winner: Dr Wayne Mitchell, Department of Immunology and Inflammation

2020/21 - 15

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Team winner: Imperial as One Committee Dr Sarah Essilfie-Quaye, Faculty of Medicine Centre Dr Wayne Mitchell, Department of Immunology and Inflammation Desmond Samuel, Faculty of Medicine Centre Moonlie Fong-Whittaker, Human Resources Margaret Lawrence, Enterprise Clarissa Gardner, Department of Surgery and Cancer Dr Manjula Silva, Department of Materials Omar Leon, Student Recruitment and Outreach Aline Kimonyo, Department of Physics Dr Ravindra Desai, Department of Physics

Highly commended: Joel McConnell, Business School

#### The Collaboration and Communication Award for Culture and Community

For individuals and teams who embody our spirit of community and collegiality. This involves teams and individuals working, planning, and delivering together towards the College's shared vision through effective networking, collaboration and communication.

Individual winner: Leigh Sims, College Headquarters

Team winner: Chemical Engineering Student Comms Group

Sara West Dr Andreas Kogelbauer Professor Jerry Heng Professor Serafim Kalliadasis Dionne Alexander Anusha Sri-Pathmanathan Margaret Gee Richard Dixon Susi Underwood

Faith Marsh

Dr Rongjun Chen

Highly commended: Dr Sabine van Elsland, School of Public Health

### The President's Medal for Excellence in Culture and Community

For the overall winner of the Culture and Community awards, recognising individuals or teams who have made exceptional contributions to culture and community.

Winner: Imperial as One Co-Chairs

Dr Sarah Essilfie-Quaye, Faculty of Medicine Centre

Dr Wayne Mitchell, Department of Immunology and Inflammation

Desmond Samuel, Faculty of Medicine Centre

#### John Neilson

College Secretary

2020/21 - 15