Imperial College London

Imperial College London - Faculty of Medicine Fellowships

Criteria for the award of Fellowships

The following criteria mirror the College's criteria for the election of Fellows.

- 1. Fellowships of the Imperial College Faculty of Medicine may be awarded:
 - to former members of staff or to former students of Imperial College Faculty of Medicine, who may be deemed eligible by reason of their outstanding achievements or of exceptional services rendered to the Faculty;
 - to other persons not members of the Faculty who are of outstanding distinction in appropriate fields and whom the Faculty wishes to honour.
- 2. In the above criteria
 - "achievement" should mean truly outstanding and "services" to the Faculty truly exceptional:
 - former staff (who are not former students) should be selected mainly from those who have retired as Professors of eminence in their fields and especially those who have rendered special service to the Faculty as Deans, Heads of Divisions, etc.
- 3. A person who on his/her retirement was a member of the staff of the Faculty should not be considered for election to Fellowship until one calendar year has elapsed since his/her retirement or since his/her appointment as Senior Research Fellow.

Fellows

At the 1999 Fellowship Ceremony, [awarded June 1999], the fellows of the former RPMS were converted to Fellows of ICSM.

Sir Christopher Booth, M Wohl, Esq Emeritus Professor Sir John Dacie, The Lord Wolfson, Mrs Kay Glendinning Selywn F Taylor, Esq, S M Mellinkoff Esq, Professor EGL Bywaters, Sir Godfrey Hounsfield, Professor DG Melrose, Malcolm Godfrey, Esq. Professor JG Scadding, Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith, James A Hartnett, Professor Leslie Le Quesne,

Professor Sir Keith Peters, Belding Scribner, Esq, Professor PJ Lachmann,

Professor Dame Sheila Sherlock, Professor RE Steiner VMP Shah, Esq. Professor Sir Colin Dollerv Sir Christopher Bland

The first new award of Fellow of ICSM was made at the same time to Sir Richard Sykes, [Chairman, GlaxoWellcome]

The 2000 Fellowships [awarded May 2000] were awarded to:

Professor Emeritus Sir Brian Jarman Professor Emeritus Abe Guz

The 2001 Fellowships [awarded June 2001] were awarded to: Professor Emeritus Murdoch George Elder Dr. Tadataka Yamada,

No Fellowships were awarded in 2002

The 2003 Fellowships [awarded April 2003] were awarded to:

Mr. Gavyn Davies Professor Sir Charles George Professor John Richard Batchelor The 2004 Fellowships [awarded October 2004] were awarded to:

Professor Adetokunbo O. Lucas Professor Hugh de Wardener Professor Mark Pepys

The 2005 Fellowships [awarded October 2005] were awarded to:

Professor Solomon R Benatar

Dr. Mark Walport

The 2006 Fellowships [awarded October 2006] were awarded to:

Professor N K Ganguly Professor John Savill Dr Patrick Vallance

The 2007 Fellowships [awarded October 2007] were awarded to:

Sir Richard Butler Sir Richard Cooksey

Professor Malegapuru William Makgoba

The 2008 Fellowships [awarded October 2008] were awarded to:

Sir John Bell Dr Edward Miller Dame Margaret Turner-Warwick

The 2009 Fellowships [awarded October 2009] were awarded to:

Prof Janet Darbyshire Professor Dame Sally Davies Professor Hans Clevers

The 2010 Fellowships [awarded January 2010] were awarded to:

Professor Pontiano Kaleebu Professor Christopher Higgins Professor Sir Nicholas Wright

The 2011 Fellowships [awarded January 2012] were awarded to:

Professor Averil Mansfield Professor Robert Souhami Dr Malcolm Skingle