Directors

Director of HPRU


Alison Holmes
alison.holmes@imperial.ac.uk


The principal areas of Professor Holmes' research are in hospital epidemiology and infection prevention and control, including the field of antibiotic stewardship to address the threat of antimicrobial resistance. Her work addresses infection management, patient safety and public health within acute healthcare and provides a clear example of applied research in healthcare delivery. In particular, Professor Holmes has demonstrated how patient-focused research can have a powerful and rapid impact on the health of the patients concerned, with wider implications for the NHS as a whole.

A further element of her work also involves investigating models of health care and methods of improving systems to ensure best practice and a reduction in healthcare associated infection.

Find out more about Professor Alison Holmes

Public Health England Lead


Susan Hopkins 
susan.hopkins@phe.gov.uk


Healthcare Epidemiologist, Public Health England. Professor Hopkins' main research interests are healthcare associated infections, antimicrobial stewardship and bone and joint infections.

Find out more about Professor Susan Hopkins

Accordion widget - People

Core support staff

Research staff

Raheelah Ahmad - Health Management Lead/NIHR Fellow in Knowledge Mobilisation

Gabriel Birgand - Research Associate / ARC Early Career Research Fellow

Oliver Blandy - Research Assistant

Sabine Bou-Antoun - PhD Student

Enrique Castro-Sanchez - Lead Research Nurse/ARC Early Career Research Fellow

Esmita Charani - Lead Research Pharmacist

Anuja Chatterjee - PhD Student

Ceire Costelloe - Lecturer

Eleanor Dyakova - Research Associate

Myriam Gharbi - Post-Doc Researcher

Michiyo Iwami - Research Associate

Elita Jauneikaite - Post-Doc Researcher

Gwen Knight - Career Development Fellow

Hannah Lishman - Researcher/PhD Student

Mia Mosavie - Biomedical Research Scientist

Nichola Naylor - PhD Student

Max Pearson - Research Assistant

Tim Rawson - Clinical Research Fellow

Emma Taylor - PhD Student

Rachael Troughton - PhD Student

Nina Zhu - PhD Student

Research theme leads

Applied Molecular Bacteriology Theme Leads
Shiranee Sriskandan (Imperial)
s.sriskandan@imperial.ac.uk

Neil Woodford (PHE)
neil.woodford@phe.gov.uk


Applied Data Linkage, Surveillance and Modelling Theme Leads
Paul Aylin (Imperial)
p.aylin@imperial.ac.uk

Susan Hopkins (PHE)
susan.hopkins@phe.gov.uk


Innovations in Behaviour Change Theme Leads
Bryony Dean Franklin (Imperial)
bryony.dean@imperial.nhs.uk

Susan Hopkins (PHE)
susan.hopkins@phe.gov.uk


Organisational Change Theme Leads
Rifat Atun (Imperial)
r.atun@imperial.ac.uk

Julie Robotham (PHE)
j.robotham@phe.gov.uk