Banner bottom block

A joint Medical School by Imperial College London and Nanyang Technological University

On 5 August 2013 the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine (LKCMedicine), a joint initiative between Imperial College London and Nanyang Technological University (NTU), opened its doors to its inaugural cohort of 54 students.

The students will pursue an innovative curriculum developed by a team within the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial. The students will gain experience in a wide range of clinical settings from an early stage in the course and will use the very latest learning technology, including South East Asia's first Anatomage Table which displays life-sized 3D images of full body anatomy. Imperial developed course content is loaded onto students' iPads to enable them to prepare for their team-based learning sessions. On successful completion of the course, students will be awarded a Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) jointly between Imperial and NTU.

In time, annual recruitment will rise to 200+ new students and at full capacity, there will be around 1,000 students studying on the five-year undergraduate medicine course.

The Faculty Singapore Board, which comprises senior academics and administrators from the College and the Faculty of Medicine, oversees Imperial's responsibilities in relation to the collaboration.