Imperial College London


Faculty of MedicineNational Heart & Lung Institute

Interim Head of NHLI, Vice-Dean (institutional Affairs) FoM



+44 (0)20 7594 3102c.lloyd Website




Office 352Sir Alexander Fleming BuildingSouth Kensington Campus





  • 1994 - Tadeon Rideal Prize for Molecular Medicine, King's College
  • 2009, 2014- Athena Silver Swan Award, NHLI Academic Lead
  • 2014- Rectors Medal for Excellence in Research Supervision, Imperial College
  • 2019 Julia Higgins Award (In recognition of significant contribution to the support of academic women), Imperial College

External Positions

  • Panel member, Wellcome Trust Science Interview Panel, Wellcome Trust, 2015 - 2019
  • Panel Referee, European Research Council Fellowship Panel, European Research Council, 2009
  • Member, International Grants Panel, Royal Society, 2009
  • Member, Panel of Referees, European Research Council, 2009
  • Panel member, Royal Society’s International Travelling Fellowships panel, Royal Society, 2009
  • Committee member, Wellcome Trust Immunology and Infectious Disease Funding Committee, The Wellcome Trust, 2009 - 2011
  • MRC College of Experts, 2005
  • Member, Research Committee, British Lung Foundation, 2005 - 2008
  • Panel Member, Biochemistry and Immunology Research, Science Foundation Ireland, 2004
  • Member, Asthma UK Research Committee, National Asthma Campaign, 2002 - 2005
  • Member, Asthma Remodelling Panel for the consultation document: "Where next in basic asthma research?", Asthma UK
  • Council Member, Society for Mucosal Immunology, Society for Mucosal immunology

Membership of Professional Bodies

  • Elected Fellow, Academy of Medical Sciences, 2019
  • Council Member, Society for Mucosal Immunology, 2018 - 2022
  • Member, Society for Mucosal Immunology, Society for Mucosal Immunology, 2017
  • Fellow, Society of Biology, 2013
  • Member of the European Respiratory Society, European Respiratory Society, 2013
  • Member of the American Thoracic Society, American Thoracic Society, 2007
  • Member of the British Association for Lung Reseach, British Association for Lung Research, 2000
  • Member of the American Society for Nephrology, American Society for Nephrology, 1997 - 2000
  • Member of the British Society for Parasitology, British Society for Parasitology, 1988
  • Member of the British Society for Immunology, British Society for Immunology, 1987


  • Wellcome Trust Investigator Award - 'Sensing of environmental change via neuro-immune stromal interactions drives allergic airway inflammation and remodelling', Wellcome Trust, 2021 - 2026
  • Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellowship, Third Renewal - 'Epithelial-Alveolar Macrophage interactions underlying the regulation of allergic inflammation and remodelling', Wellcome Trust, 2015 - 2020
  • Wellcome Senior Research Fellow in Basic Biomedical Sciences. "Epithelial /immune interactions underlying development and resolution of allergic airway inflammation and remodelling- influence of genes and environment.", Wellcome Trust, 2010 - 2015
  • Wellcome Trust Intermediate Clinical Fellowship for Dr Sejal Saglani. "A neonatal mouse model of allergic asthma to investigate the influence of primary and secondary preventive therapeutic strategies on lung pathophysiology”, Wellcome Trust, 2008 - 2012
  • Wellcome Senior Research Fellowship in Basic Biomedical Sciences, Renewal - “Molecular and cellular pathways underlying development and resolution of airway remodeling”, Wellcome Trust, 2004
  • Wellcome Senior Research Fellowship in Basic Biomedical Sciences- “Interactions between infiltrating leukocytes and resident lung cells in mediating airway remodelling during allergic lung disease – roles of critical mediators”., 1999 - 2004

Editorial Boards

  • Mucosal Immunology, Deputy Editor
  • Science Immunology, Advisory Editor, 2016
  • Journal of Experimental Medicine, Advisory Editor, 2011
  • Thorax, Deputy Editor, 2010
  • Clinical and Experimental Allergy, Associate Editor, 2009
  • Journal of Allergy, Member of the Editorial Board, 2009
  • Fibrogenesis and Tissue Research, Member of the Editorial Board